The Watch Thread - Part 8

nicjer

Later help you take pic... Now back at hotel room to stew over the speedy decision. (hahaha)

VISA have additional discount at BIC, but not for Rolex. Explorer around $8,300 for black face, $200 more for white face I think. Rolex is about same as grey pricing in SG or slightly worse. I was looking at the Batman and it worked out to around $12k.

Actually a quick heads up, if it helps.

If paying by card, depend on which one you use, cause some will convert any other forex to USD at the MasterCard/Visa rate, then back into SGD, making the savings a lot smaller than expected.

Doing some quick man maths for you, your speedy might come to around 4590 (after GST when it comes to SG). Credit card always got that MasterCard exchange, not so swee, plus the whole 2.5% levy.

gaoxing84

If paying by card, depend on which one you use, cause some will convert any other forex to USD at the MasterCard/Visa rate, then back into SGD, making the savings a lot smaller than expected.

Doing some quick man maths for you, your speedy might come to around 4590 (after GST when it comes to SG). Credit card always got that MasterCard exchange, not so swee, plus the whole 2.5% levy.

screw the GST. lol wear it. bring empty box back. they can't do shiat. hahahaha

pay card, around 4.5k also good price.
if its BNIB grey
if 2nd hand but very solid cond and undated warranty. also a good deal.

iV3RsOn

haha if me I sure hoot alr.
like that I need go japan hunt liao. going in Jan 15
haha help me see sub and batman leh haha

wah, not solid.
maybe go there bio seamaster.. or mm300.. see see rook rook
mai tu liao. its cheaper than mine. the condition is BNIB?

15 Jan 2016 sir. haha go there hunt ah hunt
I tiagong people found old sub for 3k sgd haha like buay pai cond

if its BNIB grey

rich and elite... pls dun kp say no money

coern

Yes, I think that's because of DCC, when retailers ask if you want to pay in your "home currency". You get hit twice by exchange rate profiteering.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_currency_conversion

I'll see what's available at BIC Camera, this morning only made some small purchases with cash.

And Gaoxing is right, if I buy, plan to just wear the watch in...

nicjer

if its BNIB grey

If no GST, then definitely less than 4300.

Yes, I think that's because of DCC, when retailers ask if you want to pay in your "home currency". You get hit twice by exchange rate profiteering.

I'll see what's available at BIC Camera, this morning only made some small purchases with cash.

Paying the home currency is the worst decision ever Not only currency rate more jialat (cause is retailer decide), but once read the fine print of DBS (not sure if that applies to other cards though), and they will levy a 1% charge on the SGD, because "end result is still forex".

Even last time that Ball Promo, I still chose to pay EUR, than SGD, although they give the option of SGD, cause of that added 1%, which became a significant difference on top of Ball's idea of "exchange rate".

bencheongcm

During June it was even cheaper due to the weaker yen. The price surprisingly still the same when I saw this as well

gaoxing84

If no GST, then definitely less than 4300.

Paying the home currency is the worst decision ever Not only currency rate more jialat (cause is retailer decide), but once read the fine print of DBS (not sure if that applies to other cards though), and they will levy a 1% charge on the SGD, because "end result is still forex".

Even last time that Ball Promo, I still chose to pay EUR, than SGD, although they give the option of SGD, cause of that added 1%, which became a significant difference on top of Ball's idea of "exchange rate".

so should we pay in SGD?
now shopping overseas also stress.
bank eating us like mad. foreign exchange eat 1 time, levy eat another time.
the points they give now don't see to mean anything now. hahaha

gaoxing84

BIC camera like got a lot of goot stuff.
go bio bio when I am there
see can get audio stuff also

lampano

Change more to avoid paying using CC.
CC rates are seriously blood sucking.

Not all items in Jeepun are cheaper.

nicjer

so should we pay in SGD?
now shopping overseas also stress.
bank eating us like mad. foreign exchange eat 1 time, levy eat another time.
the points they give now don't see to mean anything now. hahaha

Sorry. Must clarify that home currency means SGD. Singapore our home mah.

Here's the breakdown I checked before for DBS (maybe apply to other bank):

If paying forex that's not USD: first convert to USD at mastercard/visa rate (below average) > convert to SGD at that MasterCard rate > impose final levy of 2.5%

If paying USD: convert to SGD at that rate > impose levy of 2.5%

If paying in SGD in foreign land (will become forex): impose levy of 0.8% for Visa or 1% for MasterCard on top of whatever sum they quote (usually the retailer in house chui rate)

Hope that helps.

As for your question, depends on if chui retailer exchange rate is better than the levy. More often than not, no.

gaoxing84

Sorry. Must clarify that home currency means SGD. Singapore our home mah.

Here's the breakdown I checked before for DBS (maybe apply to other bank):

If paying forex that's not USD: first convert to USD at mastercard/visa rate (below average) > convert to SGD at that MasterCard rate > impose final levy of 2.5%

If paying USD: convert to SGD at that rate > impose levy of 2.5%

If paying in SGD in foreign land (will become forex): impose levy of 0.8% for Visa or 1% for MasterCard on top of whatever sum they quote (usually the retailer in house chui rate)

Hope that helps.

haha so best pay in the currency of the country that you're visiting?
standard la. I do that all the time.
even in sg, shop in amazon also pay in USD.
always wanna trick us to pay in SGD one.
go US, the machine will say would you like to pay in SGD?
HELL NO hahaha

coern

EctgKiV.jpg

Reflections make it hard to take a good pic. But most prices should be visible.

gaoxing84

^ that price is fixed ah? bo discount liao?
if that's the case, the batman pretty ex

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.