The Watch Thread - Part 8

nicjer

Yes indeed. You feel and hear everything!

There is a classic-car plate old English white/red interior MG Midget that I am on the verge of buying. I really need someone to talk me out of it!

I would try to talk you out of it with one word: Reality.

The magic of classic car ownership fades when you have to live with it, or when it does not work on the days you just wanna drive.

But on the other hand, you have two other daily drivers, so... I have failed in my mission.

I would hoot tudor BB if I were you. Actually I am in the same shoes as you. Want to hoot Tudor but no IHM. Thought of rollie but longer time :(

just a random.
if you have a skx007

would you pay 2-2.5k for a mm300 or fork out another 1-1.5k for a tudor black bay black?

or suck it up and buy everyone's fav sub? (of course a much longer waiting time)

Go for it. Somehow the Black Bay's proportions means it suits near as any wrist, including very slim ones. Plus finally with a black dial/bezel, falls into the category of "can wear daily".

As for the whole In-house debate, true, but Tudor has also priced it accordingly (in line with the other "nice Swiss divers"). It sits in the middle, between the Aquaracer (3 and all the zeroes) and the Seamaster with the 2500 movement (5 and all the zeroes), and near where another half-retro inspired diver (the Breitling Superocean Heritage) sits.

So value wise, it is about... fair lah, except with a dose of "added appeal".

chickenbackside

Wah no need so philosophical. See songs liao 就 buy. Go fish tank think so much, by the time you make decision, the ah pek behind ordered the number you want liao.
On the contrary, for me, the thought process of buying anything is where most of the joy is derived.

I discover how companies/artisans/musicians... started, how they evolved (or not), what forms their design language, what type of people buy them, do their values gel with mine, do they even inspire and educate me about something that I never thought about or knew...

Simply buying something based on "see songs liao 就 buy" tends to yield instant gratification, but regret later.

Or maybe, I'm just a weirdo who belongs in IMH...

Ed.YEO

...Simply buying something based on "see songs liao 就 buy" tends to yield instant gratification, but regret later.

Or maybe, I'm just a weirdo who belongs in IMH...
你这,不是失智,而是理智。
买表,买婊。。。两者虽然是不同物品,中文书写上也相差一边。但是,两者最终的正面效果是一样的,得个“爽”字。后果却是不同。多个边的,是一去不返,尤其是多了两只脚。没边的,是否会带来“回抱”,还要视乎周边人的反应。。。

chickenbackside

I would try to talk you out of it with one word: Reality.

The magic of classic car ownership fades when you have to live with it, or when it does not work on the days you just wanna drive.

But on the other hand, you have two other daily drivers, so... I have failed in my mission.
I do have 2 other daily drivers, hence my temptation :(

This one has just been rebuilt and is a real beaut. The low cost of ownership is a major draw. It costs around 2 steel rolexes, but it's a freaking car with a convertible roof. Parts are easy and cheap, I know a good mech... ARRGGHH.

My first 2 cars in my life were daily driver classic cars. NO WAY would I only have just one classic car. Been through the pains. Car interior flooded whenever it rains, overheating in traffic, fuel tank dropped onto the road cos the bracket rusted out, fire in engine from short circuit, not high pressure jet car wash cos will get sprayed in the face from bad seals, floor pan so rusted that I can see the road from inside the car...etc. Good ol days.

nicjer

I do have 2 other daily drivers, hence my temptation :(

This one has just been rebuilt and is a real beaut. The low cost of ownership is a major draw. It costs around 2 steel rolexes, but it's a freaking car with a convertible roof. Parts are easy and cheap, I know a good mech... ARRGGHH.

My first 2 cars in my life were daily driver classic cars. NO WAY would I only have just one classic car. Been through the pains. Car interior flooded whenever it rains, overheating in traffic, fuel tank dropped onto the road cos the bracket rusted out, fire in engine from short circuit, not high pressure jet car wash cos will get sprayed in the face from bad seals, floor pan so rusted that I can see the road from inside the car...etc. Good ol days.

Ah weekend toy. :)

Fellow car enthusiast here says resistance is futile.

likehotbutter

I only know one thing

You like you buy :)

Actually, more for people intending to start a meaningful collection or learn the finer points of horology. Not the usual see brand song song gao jurong goof enuff stuff :s12:

If buy everything then no head no tail.

Wah no need so philosophical. See songs liao 就 buy. Go fish tank think so much, by the time you make decision, the ah pek behind ordered the number you want liao.

Just ask boss to recommend and book in advance, problem solved :s12:

True Story

gaoxing84

I would hoot tudor BB if I were you. Actually I am in the same shoes as you. Want to hoot Tudor but no IHM. Thought of rollie but longer time :(

Haha another way is buy a pre owned bbb and lun. Then sell buy sub. Lol

If u buy the MM300, you will list one of the Seiko for sale shortly. Either one.

If you buy the BBB, you will still hunger for the Sub...

Get the sub.

Or to throw things into the mix.. get a titanium, ceramic, chronometer BLUE PELAGOS.

You dun have a blue face watch dio boh?

That's what I thought. End up selling either one seiko. 2 very similar watches. One cheap one expensive.
Tudor bbb hoot alr sure gian sub. Lol
Pelagos too square alr although titanium sounds good.

Black Bay blue nice but not vintage looking compared to the red and black but very clean look.

all 3 are worth getting. the skx007 is what it is, a cheap workhorse, cant compare a mm300 to it.

One of it gotta be a beater. Which is 007. Mm300 a upgraded 007? Haha

likehotbutter

Hey interesting topic

Classic cars only can drive a certain number of days in a year right? I for a time (maybe still am) considering to bring a willy's jeep in from either Thailand or Vietnam.

Man so much red-tape esp with the retarded emission requirements.

chickenbackside

Hey interesting topic

Classic cars only can drive a certain number of days in a year right? I for a time (maybe still am) considering to bring a willy's jeep in from either Thailand or Vietnam.

Man so much red-tape esp with the retarded emission requirements.
You have maximum 45 days a year to drive it.

Bringing in a vehicle from abroad is troublesome, but I know some people who have done it. Finding one locally would be the easiest route.

Henabi

Looking for dress watch. Below $3k. Haha..

Longines...
Tag Heuer...
Maurice Lacroix...
mont blanc...
oris...
Ball...
Raymond Weil...
Grand Seiko Quartz...
Rolex Precision 1960/1970...
Hamilton...
Steinhart...
Stowa...

Or... take a trip down to WOS or THG or Vincent Watch

PS: fellows... try not to drift too far away from watches ;)

xuan87

Longines...
Tag Heuer...
Maurice Lacroix...
mont blanc...
oris...
Ball...
Raymond Weil...
Grand Seiko Quartz...
Hamilton...
Steinhart...
Stowa...

Christopher Ward can consider too, although if you want to get one, you should wait for the 25% off + free international shipping promo.

Haha another way is buy a pre owned bbb and lun. Then sell buy sub. Lol

That's what I thought. End up selling either one seiko. 2 very similar watches. One cheap one expensive.
Tudor bbb hoot alr sure gian sub. Lol
Pelagos too square alr although titanium sounds good.

Black Bay blue nice but not vintage looking compared to the red and black but very clean look.

One of it gotta be a beater. Which is 007. Mm300 a upgraded 007? Haha

Of the 3.... I'll get the MM300. Even when I'm super loaded in the future, I'm not sure if I can justify spending more than 3k in the future on a single watch. I might make an exception for a Panerai but that's about it.

For some reason, everything about the MM300 just feels right to me. I'm actually considering getting a Sumo next year as a stop gap to a MM300. Maybe you can consider it too as a daily beater?

Lurker_13

.... Even when I'm super loaded in the future, I'm not sure if I can justify spending more than 3k in the future on a single watch. I might make an exception for a Panerai but that's about it.

Lol... You will never be able to stop at a PAM de lo... When you are super loaded there are alot more choices for you... :s13:

Ed.YEO

Longines...
Tag Heuer...
Maurice Lacroix...
mont blanc...
oris...
Ball...
Raymond Weil...
Grand Seiko Quartz...
Hamilton...
Steinhart...
Stowa...

让我加上一个。。。
KEMMNER
20151222_5c6657d6a981a2f16e72fYJCrRN6bgS9.jpg

Henabi

Lol... You will never be able to stop at a PAM de lo... When you are super loaded there are alot more choices for you... :s13:

especially when you are similar status as our dai dai gor, iceflight :s13: Urwerk, RM, MB&f are just the start...

chickenbackside

How much is the COE and road tax for such classic cars?

S$100 administrative fee

10% PQP of the appropriate month and quota category for a COE

$280 annual road tax

At least third-party risks insurance covering the entire road tax period.

Inspection once in 2 years

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.