The Watch Thread - Part 8

pwillie

Edited again for you :s13:

Provenance defines. It is essentially a proven track record of what to expect. A resume of achievements and milestones set in stone. Its is continuity of identity.

Without a steady provenance, what are things but mere memories to be lost? Tears in the rain. A passing fad against the monolith of time? :s12:

P.S Of course taste is subjective but this is with regards to the established cultural perceptions of good aesthetic judgement or appropriate behaviour. The swoon of a well cut suit vs the shock of one loud with bold colours and design.

Of course if you're counter culture then its a different story

Provenance I feel is just a part of consideration... Sometimes must give new brands a chance

coern

Don't have to try to justify a brand over another,
you are a brand *****... Truth.
Nothing wrong being one, you don't need to justify, buy if you really like it.

If you know about technomarine watches years ago... My ang mo ex-colleague unapologetically loves it cos it was hip at that time.
It was a piece of pink plastic with diamond crusted bezel that costs more than 5k iirc

My eyes.... I shouldn't have googled "technomarine watches"!

pwillie

Seiko is a good and value for money brand. In fact, Seiko, Orient and Citizen are all good.

Last time used to lust after Royal Orient and Citizen Grand Signature but couldn't afford it. Could only afford the cheapo Seiko 007 and Monster. Once I started working, slowly moved to Sumo, Shogun, Tuna Quartz. Now my final collection consist only of: Spring Drive 600m Tuna, 1000m Auto Emperor Tuna, MarineMaster 300m, and the latest Grail, Grand Seiko 42mm watch. My collection is not complete without the Hi-Beat I know. :s13: Waiting for it to be release in regular JDM watch like the spring drive tuna.

I thought there are a few hi-beat models out... Those are regular non-LE models.

kiosai

My eyes.... I shouldn't have googled "technomarine watches"!

DTCP07C_FXA.jpg

Looks like a dastardly love child from a ONS between a loud obiang diamond encrusted luxury watch and a cheapo pasar malam pink plastic watch..

Ewww...

trd2970

Yeah but also a lot of lowballers on sgroc
Eventually sold to a shop and another to a part time dealer
Prices offered are much more decent and transaction fuss free

Dun sell at Carousell.
Go SGROC. It's a watch forum. At least pple there knows the average selling price.

trd2970

Yeah but they keep coming back lol

I started putting up the highest offer that I rejected on my listings, hopefully that will prevent the lowballers from offering on my items.

But watches alot more expensive than audio.... For one Panerai, I can get my dream ideal desktop and portable rigs and still have leftover change...

Plus I feel that audio is easier to avoid poisoning than watches...

patryn33

Quite funny, Tudor compare to IWC?

Have planning to get next week, but I think I need to consider again. should I top-up for the 42mm explorer 2? Or sub no date?

looking for the 3777 is becoz of the price and she like the design, pilot watch unisex design so she can wear also.
Price, 5xxx for a brand new IWC chronograph where to get?
Movement, yes! It's ETA7750, if ETA7750 selling 5k+ consider over price then how about Hublot?
Brand, please dun tell me Tudor can compare to IWC, if buy Tudor I rather buy omega PO.

hublot changing since 2011
http://www.hautetime.com/hublot-transforms-as-a-true-watch-manufacture/3621/?market=san-francisco

http://forums.watchuseek.com/f381/what-so-wrong-about-hublot-968487-2.html#/forumsite/20758/topics/968487?page=2

pwillie

Which model? Not referring to Grand Seiko hor... As well as vintage models.

Not GS then which seiko range?
Cos Hi-beat is meant for the high end models... Doesn't make sense to put a hi-beat into the lower range when it's inherently more expensive to manufacture and maintain.
The other brand would be zenith for its 36000vph movement

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.