The Watch Thread - Part 9

Thai_Rak_Thai

F-f-f-fake it till you m-m-m-make it... :s13::s13::s13:

9FuW4iv.jpg

Genuinely fake. Fake watches for fake people. This is directed at those who further claim they are genuine pieces. I make no apologies for being judgmental :s8:

Shyn85

Oh so only the powermatic 80 arh... sad I don't really like the design, classy but too plain for me. Got other automatic quite nice tho.

How about Oris? I heard they are quite reputable brand, maybe even higher than Seiko and Tissot, they do all in house movements?

Oris is not using in house movements... Most of the models are using eta movements.

Oris now almost using sellita, some chronograph still using ETA but all diver or classic already change to sellita, if u get the ETA means u get the NOS...

a562140

Quick question for all the people in this thread

What watch would you buy at these 5 price points?

SGD

its all relative on how much cash you perceive you have to burn in your lifetime.

also it depends on how many watches you have - just search out pwillie's posts from this and earlier threads.

Ed.YEO

Can agree with what you said. Who can brand better nowadays, come out with some historical stories about the brand even when the brand was already finished way back then can ironically command a following.

Most important dun be chop carrot. If a watch cost is x amount, dun pay more than necessary.

LACO为例,现在在卖的就是品牌与历史。二战时代的造表工艺,如从欧洲国家引进部件,再造表。。。已经渐渐的被日本机芯平价成本,高回报的目标取代。。。小厂如此,大厂更是不用说。“戴好野”就是广告打得最响,但是实在价值低,卖的高,的钟表业品牌典范。

如果师兄您看看我几个回应,以机芯型号说明我会以哪个价格买表,就看得出我的菜头没有那么容易砍了。。。:s13:

a562140

8frFywx.jpg

russian cosmonauts still wearing speedy in space?

cosmonauts - there are many - wear all kinds in space. even the US astronauts during all those missions in the 60's - 70's. just that the speedy made it first to the moon, but nasa approved for use several others - cheap seiko included.

Panzerf

and seamaster is a poor man sub??

If you are bond fan the orignal was a sub because the director worn one and lend bond to wear it.

Then change to seamaster.

Whether poor man sub i dunno. After all, the word "poor man" daytona come from other watch forums predominately wus.

a562140

9FuW4iv.jpg

fake culture is a necessary evil of the luxury culture.

look it the other way, it there is no demand to fake it, it probably won't succeed as a luxury good anyway :D

a562140

Oris now almost using sellita, some chronograph still using ETA but all diver or classic already change to sellita, if u get the ETA means u get the NOS...

sellita is the new ETA. and everyone accepts ETA in high end watches. so maybe time to get over it.

Panzerf

LACO为例,现在在卖的就是品牌与历史。二战时代的造表工艺,如从欧洲国家引进部件,再造表。。。已经渐渐的被日本机芯平价成本,高回报的目标取代。。。小厂如此,大厂更是不用说。“戴好野”就是广告打得最响,但是实在价值低,卖的高,的钟表业品牌典范。

如果师兄您看看我几个回应,以机芯型号说明我会以哪个价格买表,就看得出我的菜头没有那么容易砍了。。。:s13:

But the world need suckers. Just dun be the last sucker can liao.

Ed.YEO

9FuW4iv.jpg
从另一个角度来看,假表买者可能是在试试运气。。。骗得过一次,或者可以再骗多一次。。。
本地二手市场的辨别机制还是很差的。。。一方面,大家都在讲时间,讲效率,来得快,去也要快。本地消费者最脆弱的也就没有防范意识,往往就是这群人栽在卖者手里。

a562140

I find that borderline offensive.

i don't find that offensive but perhaps ignorant.
seamaster remained a tool watch far longer than rolex, who was first to dive into the deep end of the luxury watch segment in search of higher profits and bigger markets. rolex had the biggest global marketing and advertising budgets for decades . Especially through the 70's and 80's when it was tough for the swiss watch industry. given that it has a lot more international marketing success story during that period compared to real innovations in movements - you could say they they owed their success during that critical period to marketing more than swiss engineering.

a562140

But the world need suckers. Just dun be the last sucker can liao.

its the food chain. not just watches. clothes, even food too.

sustainable industry = every sustainable product at every sustainable price for every sustainable customer segment.

Thai_Rak_Thai

many people in this thread speaking out against "brand whoring" somehow just reeks of hypocrisy to me, especially when the same people are sporting AP, PP and minimally rolex/omega watches.

affordability is one thing but IMO one wouldn't really spend 20-30k on a watch if he is not a brand ***** to a certain extent

also in before "love for horology"

Like that say good meh?

If you are looking for a meaningful analogy. There is none, when buying a luxury good.

Why? Luxury is an appealing lifestyle. We can all talk about craftsmanship and quality the whole day but some people will not buy our reasoning, respectfully.

As I mentioned to someone else, the intrinsic true value of watch in terms of history or movement is highly personal (and subjective). I am fortunate (as my finances permit) to be able to afford one luxury watch during my lifetime, which I can hopefully hand down to my child – is it wrong (or right for that matter)?

I’m not defending anyone’s action, all I’m saying is…there’s no reason to be ashamed of pampering ourselves. Unless I'm using my son’s future tuition money or my mother’s retirement money (you get my drift right?)

We’re all genuine, sincere people lah…not watch snobs :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.