The Watch Thread - Part 9

gaoxing84

I find that borderline offensive.

Including the speedmaster poor man Daytona lol.
Totally different watches.
Like tag heuer carerra is beggars Daytona? Hahaha
Ytd saw the cv201. Whopping $6k without discount. Omg. Last time I see. 3-4k only.

Thoughtexperiment

This bro makes complete sense, couldn't have said it better than myself.

QED

Like that say good meh?

If you are looking for a meaningful analogy. There is none, when buying a luxury good.

Why? Luxury is an appealing lifestyle. We can all talk about craftsmanship and quality the whole day but some people will not buy our reasoning, respectfully.

As I mentioned to someone else, the intrinsic true value of watch in terms of history or movement is highly personal (and subjective). I am fortunate (as my finances permit) to be able to afford one luxury watch during my lifetime, which I can hopefully hand down to my child – is it wrong (or right for that matter)?

I’m not defending anyone’s action, all I’m saying is…there’s no reason to be ashamed of pampering ourselves. Unless I'm using my son’s future tuition money or my mother’s retirement money (you get my drift right?)

We’re all genuine, sincere people lah…not watch snobs :)

gaoxing84

fake culture is a necessary evil of the luxury culture.

look it the other way, it there is no demand to fake it, it probably won't succeed as a luxury good anyway :D

I find what you say very true.
Even Nike or jordans have fakes. Haha

gaoxing84

Like that say good meh?

If you are looking for a meaningful analogy. There is none, when buying a luxury good.

Why? Luxury is an appealing lifestyle. We can all talk about craftsmanship and quality the whole day but some people will not buy our reasoning, respectfully.

As I mentioned to someone else, the intrinsic true value of watch in terms of history or movement is highly personal (and subjective). I am fortunate (as my finances permit) to be able to afford one luxury watch during my lifetime, which I can hopefully hand down to my child – is it wrong (or right for that matter)?

I’m not defending anyone’s action, all I’m saying is…there’s no reason to be ashamed of pampering ourselves. Unless I'm using my son’s future tuition money or my mother’s retirement money (you get my drift right?)

We’re all genuine, sincere people lah…not watch snobs :)

Second that. Haha. Watch snob must find askmen

Ed.YEO

Including the speedmaster poor man Daytona lol.
Totally different watches.
Like tag heuer carerra is beggars Daytona? Hahaha
Ytd saw the cv201. Whopping $6k without discount. Omg. Last time I see. 3-4k only.
这个,才是真正的“乞丐级”地托纳!
2192520695_58126f55ca_z.jpg

这是,“平民级”地托纳。
TNT-Silverstone-Racing-xl.jpg

gaoxing84

^that alpha. Haha can buy sia if cheap. Really look like the 6263

Shyn85

Quick question for all the people in this thread

What watch would you buy at these 5 price points?

SGD

to me this 5 price point...
250 - casio
500 - tissot or seiko (but i wont spend at this price point)
1k - longines
2k - oris (but i wont spend at this price point)
4k - seamaster, speedmaster, black bay

at 4k price point i rather slightly top up to get mark17, speedy or old pelagos

zXioNGz

to me this 5 price point...
250 - casio
500 - tissot or seiko (but i wont spend at this price point)
1k - longines
2k - oris (but i wont spend at this price point)
4k - seamaster, speedmaster, black bay

at 4k price point i rather slightly top up to get mark17, speedy or old pelagos

Hi, may I know what you mean by you won't spend at this price point? Isit not worth it by your definition?

Shyn85

Hi, may I know what you mean by you won't spend at this price point? Isit not worth it by your definition?

ya, like 2k price point... what kind of watch you can get? why spend 2k to get a watch? did you really love the brand and design? mostly people hope 2k can get a luxury watch, but.......

zXioNGz

ya, like 2k price point... what kind of watch you can get? why spend 2k to get a watch? did you really love the brand and design? mostly people hope 2k can get a luxury watch, but.......

Actually I'm thinking about settling for Oris or Tossot or Seiko now, but you just crash my Oris hahaah jk. 2k luxury brand ***** TAg F1 lor hehe

PS: I'm still indecisive for those 3 above :(

slow_mo

Originally Posted by lxsnipexl:
Quick question for all the people in this thread

SGD

My Watches
SGD
250 - G Shock
500 - Apple Watch
1K - Sinn
2K - FC (less than 3k)
4K - Grand Seiko (less than 5k)

Shyn85

Actually I'm thinking about settling for Oris or Tossot or Seiko now, but you just crash my Oris hahaah jk. 2k luxury brand ***** TAg F1 lor hehe

PS: I'm still indecisive for those 3 above :(

haha, paiseh paiseh...
if this 3 brand i will suggest you to get oris. pls try to get better discount like 25-30% for you oris

ps: I dont know whether i can put the discount here or not, if cannot pls ask me to remove

zXioNGz

haha, paiseh paiseh...
if this 3 brand i will suggest you to get oris. pls try to get better discount like 25-30% for you oris

ps: I dont know whether i can put the discount here or not, if cannot pls ask me to remove

Hehe no worries! Most likely going for Oris, the discount possible to get from Aorus Boutique? Or only at those big retailers?

zXioNGz

the oris diver 65 is nice

That one I checked out, the design abit vintage to my liking. I want something in steel strap and bold looking haha

You know which Oris model good on the bod design?

Panzerf

K

My second hand Watches
SGD
250 - ronda quartz maybe one of those microbrand
500 - seagull
1K - ml
2K - rolex 6694/speedy
4K- gs/ explorer

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.