THE WOLVERINE faces off Silver Samurai

croc1977

by chronology: First Class, Origins, X-Men trilogy, then Wolverine

but in First Class there is no appearance of Wolverine, so you can skip it if you want

actually I made it a point to watch Origins first before watching The Wolverine, but didn't know the film started off from X3 rather than Origins
Same here I tot start from when its end

Suddenly saw jean Gary stun

Jerry007

Even with fairly good reviews (68% fresh rating vs 38% rotten rating from X-Men Origins: Wolverine), Wolverine's soul-searching adventure in Japan whimpers with an estimated US$56m debut over the weekend, a drop from the massive US$85m first weekend gross from his first solo outing. Is this a case of audience fatigue for superhero action films? However, the movie is expected to do better in the international market.

christian2004

felt disappointed leaving the cinema as nuttin 2 shout abt n definitely dont deserve the premium pricing for the movie... recommend those who really wanna watch to wait for few weeks after the premium price goes down... was surprised this show wasnt a continuation of the 1st wolverine instead was continuation from x-men trilogy(esp the end credit scene)...

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
img-taookamotowolverine_104548884702.jpg

she is the only thing nice about this movie but i googled her other pics like all not very nice.. she only looks nice in the movie..

hosehbo?

but in First Class there is no appearance of Wolverine, so you can skip it if you want

actually I made it a point to watch Origins first before watching The Wolverine, but didn't know the film started off from X3 rather than Origins
eh iirc in first class when magneto and prof x was approaching some mutants there was a cameo by wolverine/logan.

trailblaze

Answers in spoiler

just caught it... the plot is abit weird... Tao Okamoto is chio, but shes like...not necessary
at all... but without her, the movie will be cut short by 1/2 hr...

i think whole movie is all abt showing jap culture aka 'pls come tour japan'...pachinko, bullet train, love hotel, temple,etc

until the end, i still dono why they wanna capture mariko to the tower?? when all they wanted was wolverine??
--U already answered it...its to lure wolv to the tower for his final sacrifice...

and also

why that ninja guy attack the yashida in the end? he changed sides?
-- again u answered the qn...it is not the jap way to kill others jus to save yr own arse...

lastly

wolverine can grow back his claws??
-- u din catch wolv origins did ya...

and also

jean gray hallucinations reminds of jennifer love hewitt in ghost whisperer lol
-- also, if u observe, jean actually gets younger n chio'er as movie progresses......photoshop to the max man...!!!

trailblaze

Caught last nite so a small writeup:

Following the trend started by Oz: the great n powderful, the Wolv throws 3 female leads (aka eye candies) at the audience....4 if u count in co-star Famke who only has one kinky attire in the whole movie.
To say tis movie is sponsored by the japanese tourism board will be selling it short but in all practical sense this is wat the movie portrays...
Action packed to the max w generous dosage of cgi, watch it for the wolv w his painful expressions n well-chiseled frame but dont expect great plot or excellent fighting sequence from it...

Kudos to the producers for NOT putting the stinger at the very end of end-credits...so we all need not sit for another 15min of name watching...
But as usual, why wait when stingers are always available on youtube...?

wackykid

until the end, i still dono why they wanna capture mariko to the tower?? when all they wanted was wolverine??
--U already answered it...its to lure wolv to the tower for his final sacrifice...

---- i don't get this explanation... i mean they ALREADY lured wolverine to come when yukio brought him to see the old man right...?? why do they have to go one big round and setup all that kidnapping and then luring wolverine back...?

-- also, if u observe, jean actually gets younger n chio'er as movie progresses......photoshop to the max man...!!!

---- anyway i think all that jean grey scenes are totally redundant and distracting... they could have do without her and talked more about the r/s between mariko and yukio in the past...

overall not bad lah... at least not another of those over-the-top special effects movie... better than the last wolverine movie... but not fantastic... anyway as i mentioned... i think it would have been much better if they elaborate the r/s between mariko and yukio in their childhood instead of all that jean grey scenes... the jean grey scenes smelt like a marketing tool to try to attract jean grey fans to watch the movie.... it's unnecessary and distracting to the story...

regards,
wacky

wackykid

actually wolverine got make cameo appearance right...? the part where prof x and magneto are recruiting mutants... they came to find wolverine and wolverine asked them to f off... :s13:

and also between origins and first class... i think either they happened in alternate timeline... or they happened in parallel (but with inconsistencies)... cos at the end of origins prof X is seen to be standing up (and bald) when he picked up the mutants escaped from prison... but in first class prof X wasn't bald when he kenna the bullet in spine that condemned him to the wheelchair...

regards,
wacky

kampong boi

eh iirc in first class when magneto and prof x was approaching some mutants there was a cameo by wolverine/logan.

thanks for the clarification, probably need to re-watch again

actually wolverine got make cameo appearance right...? the part where prof x and magneto are recruiting mutants... they came to find wolverine and wolverine asked them to f off... :s13:

and also between origins and first class... i think either they happened in alternate timeline... or they happened in parallel (but with inconsistencies)... cos at the end of origins prof X is seen to be standing up (and bald) when he picked up the mutants escaped from prison... but in first class prof X wasn't bald when he kenna the bullet in spine that condemned him to the wheelchair...

regards,
wacky

hmmm, now I might think Origins came first (in 1845, with Wolverine and Sabretooth fighting Civil Wars, WW I and II and Viet War) while Lensherr was found in 1944 during WWII

come to think of it Stryker, Sabretooth and Wolverine lived quite long :s22:

Providence

X-Men: First Class - The characters were young chaps during the 60's. So Professor X was not bald back then.

Logan and Sabertooth were considered as ancient people as they could not grow old and die like ordinary people. They are immortal mutants.

wackykid

actually i'm more inclined to think that x-men first class is a different time-line from the rest of the x-men... afterall the actors/actresses are different (apart from the wolverine cameo)... it's more like a reboot...

looking more into wiki... first class and origins are like overlapping chronologically...

X-Men: First Class - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
first class started in 1944 in WWII and then 1962 where the main events begin -- where by it was the year of the cuban missle crisis...

X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
origins on other hand started in 1845... went thru WW I+II and vietnam war... and the main events start in 1975... and then 6 yrs later the events at 3 mile island...

while it can explain the balding prof X... since he would be older at the end of origins... it still doesn't explain why he is standing and not in wheel chair...

regards,
wacky

kampong boi

reboot or not:

Days of Future Past acts as a sequel to 2006's X-Men: The Last Stand and 2011's X-Men: First Class, featuring cast members from both:

Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellen, Halle Berry, Anna Paquin, Shawn Ashmore, Ellen Page, and Daniel Cudmore return from X-Men: The Last Stand, while James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, Nicholas Hoult and Lucas Till return from X-Men: First Class.

Peter Dinklage, Omar Sy, Booboo Stewart, Fan Bingbing, Adan Canto, Evan Peters and Josh Helman round out the film's principal cast.

lets see how they merge/tie up the X3 and First Class story storylines

croc1977

Answers in spoiler

just caught it... the plot is abit weird... Tao Okamoto is chio, but shes like...not necessary
at all... but without her, the movie will be cut short by 1/2 hr...

i think whole movie is all abt showing jap culture aka 'pls come tour japan'...pachinko, bullet train, love hotel, temple,etc

and also

why that ninja guy attack the yashida in the end? he changed sides?
-- again u answered the qn...it is not the jap way to kill others jus to save yr own arse...

lastly

wolverine can grow back his claws??
-- u din catch wolv origins did ya...

and also

and she is 47....

enrell69

felt disappointed leaving the cinema as nuttin 2 shout abt n definitely dont deserve the premium pricing for the movie... recommend those who really wanna watch to wait for few weeks after the premium price goes down... was surprised this show wasnt a continuation of the 1st wolverine instead was continuation from x-men trilogy(esp the end credit scene)...
premium price?

xfiles_wolvie

sighed during the later half of the movie.

esp during the silver samurai.

Didnt even noe how the f did viper come along....untill i googled silver's history.

all along knew he is supposedly a human with mutant powers, but now become man in machine. think they follow the new wolverine story as stated in wiki. sickening plot.

since when yukio is good? she is shingen assassin. again, they reinvent the wheel. everything also reinvent. cant take it.

might as well reinvent his claws to be able to eject from any part of his body like porcupine? KNS...

cancer81

lol she is not even a mutant in the comics!!

okay... I am really not going to watch this movie :s13:

upslorry

sighed during the later half of the movie.

esp during the silver samurai.

Didnt even noe how the f did viper come along....untill i googled silver's history.

since when yukio is good? she is shingen assassin. again, they reinvent the wheel. everything also reinvent. cant take it.

might as well reinvent his claws to be able to eject from any part of his body like porcupine? KNS...

am not a marvel nor xmen story reader but i feel the movie is great for people like us who are not fans
Very interesting indeed. The silver samurai design is very cool

wackykid

am not a marvel nor xmen story reader but i feel the movie is great for people like us who are not fans
Very interesting indeed. The silver samurai design is very cool

yalor... i dunno and dun care about watever that comic says... don't tell me some day if comics also decide to change the characters and make them this way... then suddenly it is okay for the movie...?? :s22::s22:

regards,
wacky

cancer81

the problem is Marvel's side will tie it up by releasing another mini series title

IF they also had the movie rights to the series.

They sold the movie rights totally to Fox for X-Men and Sony for Spiderman.

Which probably meant all the ret-cons (mild word for plot *******izing) is not within their purview.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.