The Xiaomi Mi3 thread

lkinm

I've downloaded the Captain America 2 theme from miui forum but get an error when trying to install. Says something like themes from unauthorized source is not allowed.

Any way to installing the theme?

It is because Xiaomi introduce new policy for the New theme. You can read it from link below

Code:
Hey MIUIers,

As more and more themes become developed for MIUI, we need to further ensure the copyrights of the designers to continue an environment conducive to both MIUI and the designers. MIUI has decided to change some of the theme policies to protect the designer's design and instigate more quality themes.

Please note, as of January 1st, 2014, the following policy will be fully enforced: All MIUI themes and the components, in mtz file format, will need to be uploaded onto the MIUI Themes Store via designer.xiaomi.com. Any MIUI theme and theme components (i.e. download from forums, websites or other sources) that does not get uploaded into the MIUI Themes Store, can no longer be applied onto the MIUI ROM. To specify, components in an mtz file format can include:

-       Theme
-       Lockscreen
-       Icon
-       Font
-       Boot animation

If you are a designer and have current themes you want to share after January 1st, 2014, please sign up for a designer.xiaomi.com account and upload your themes to MIUI Themes Store.

shichuanhua

received both of my ear piece today with the free gift.. lucky it's fedex system error lol .
the ear piece looks premium with such affordable price, yet to try out the quality. still waiting for my existing one to break down... not cursing lol

shichuanhua

GG Liao.

They send to wrong address I highly suspect. But agar same unit number or block number

In the end is their system mess up sia, scared me zzz went to find xiaomi cs and Fedex one, Fedex say my item will delivered on 16 apr, but they deliver to me today lol

beng035

In the end is their system mess up sia, scared me zzz went to find xiaomi cs and Fedex one, Fedex say my item will delivered on 16 apr, but they deliver to me today lol

Nothing beats a small panic attack for a otherwise, dull day:D

s7460597

It is because Xiaomi introduce new policy for the New theme. You can read it from link below

Code:
Hey MIUIers,

As more and more themes become developed for MIUI, we need to further ensure the copyrights of the designers to continue an environment conducive to both MIUI and the designers. MIUI has decided to change some of the theme policies to protect the designer's design and instigate more quality themes.

Please note, as of January 1st, 2014, the following policy will be fully enforced: All MIUI themes and the components, in mtz file format, will need to be uploaded onto the MIUI Themes Store via designer.xiaomi.com. Any MIUI theme and theme components (i.e. download from forums, websites or other sources) that does not get uploaded into the MIUI Themes Store, can no longer be applied onto the MIUI ROM. To specify, components in an mtz file format can include:

-       Theme
-       Lockscreen
-       Icon
-       Font
-       Boot animation

If you are a designer and have current themes you want to share after January 1st, 2014, please sign up for a designer.xiaomi.com account and upload your themes to MIUI Themes Store.

Very troublesome process to sign up just to install a theme.

Thanks

Chrisky

i have a new yellow Mi3 case, sealed and unopened, willing to let go at original price, can pm me if interest, thanks.

evilmtv

Right after getting in a few hours ago I did some basic reading and plunged straight into flashing the weekly release for the updates as well as root access.
Here's the basic steps i used for the geekier crowd:

-Download latest ROM here: MIUI ROM for Xiaomi Mi3 - MIUI Downloads - MIUI Official Community (Get the Mi3-WCDMA/CDMA Version)
-Flash via stock recovery then do full wipe (just for neatness sake). Guide found here MIUI ROM Flashing Guide for Xiaomi Mi3 - Xiaomi Mi3 - MIUI Official Community (Follow 2. Updating zip file in Recovery)
-For root access, go Security->Permission->Root permission
-For Google apps and sync, follow this guide [Beta Team] How To Install Google Apps - App - MIUI Official Community (I used the 2nd method, Google Installer app found in Mi Market app)

Useful links to read:
[MI3 WCDMA] CWM Recovery Released: [MI3 WCDMA] CWM Recovery Released - Xiaomi Mi3 - MIUI Official Community
[Changelog] MIUI ROM 4.4.11 Full Changelog (Released) MIUI ROM 4.4.11 Full Changelog (Released) - General Chat - MIUI Official Community

Just flashed it so no idea what bugs there are etc. Will update here as I use if I find any.
DON'T BOTHER WITH THESE IF YOU DON'T UNDERSTAND ANYTHING I SAID.

To use weekly release need rom from MULTI - 4.4.4 | Unofficial International MIUI / Xiaomi Phone Support

we need to use WCDMA version if i'm not wrong.

the problem with SG version is there's no way to "revert stock recovery" atm after u flash it. i have not play with stock recovery able to support rom or not...

BlitzStryker

does Anyone knows when will MI3 LTE / 4G version be out in SG? I saw online that they will release it in april but now alrdy mid-april liao leh..

source. Xiaomi Mi3S to ship in April with 4G LTE support, along with Xiaomi M3S | Gizchina.com

That is rumour also no confirmed date. But surely will come out. Ima guessing May releasing in China and July reaching Singapore. Cos the supposed spec of Mi3S is to fight with the next era phone coming out in August, like G3, Note4, Iphone6, Nexus6 and etc.

catseatfish

Does anyone know how I can kill background apps? I long pressed the home button but it just brings me to google search.

merlot6230

how to transfer Samsung s4 phone data to mi-3 if phone contacts exceed the sim card storage.

catseatfish

Thanks TUV2008 and s7460597! The left most menu button works. One other problem I am facing is with Video playback. What do you guys use? The default player I'm using seems to be stuttering with video playback. I am not playing 1080p. Maybe 720p. And mp4 format. I have also tried mkv. Does not seem to be a format issue. But playback regularly stutters and the audio also stutters with the video.

fyeebiyd

Thanks TUV2008 and s7460597! The left most menu button works. One other problem I am facing is with Video playback. What do you guys use? The default player I'm using seems to be stuttering with video playback. I am not playing 1080p. Maybe 720p. And mp4 format. I have also tried mkv. Does not seem to be a format issue. But playback regularly stutters and the audio also stutters with the video.

Try using MX video player. Works for me.

Got a question for those who use the DND function. Does it applies to notifications from your apps?

I tried it and seems like Whatsapp still will make the notification sound.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.