Thinning Hair problem

Rushifaa

I also cut to the brink of skinhead, but not totally. Using the shaver set to '0' I think. But like all Chinese, don't really look as good and natural as thiery henry or andre agassi kind. This is because most Chinese or Asian do not have a smooth rounded scalp. My hairsytlist say that generally 2 guidelines if a person is suitable for skindhead/botak:
1. Scalp is smooth and not bumpy. Run your hand over your scalp and you can feel if it is totally smooth or got some road humps. If totally smooth then ok.
2. head/skull breadth to depth ratio. According to my stylist, he say that most ang mo the depth of the head (sideview of head) is larger than the breadth, while asian with broad face the breadth is larger than the depth. Skinhead more suitable for those sideview bigger than frontview he say, dun know how true.

Anyway, if you maintain skinhead do you DIY or visit salon every few days to shave?

DIY with electric shaver.

kbcbnb

dunno leh. i went to guardians. maybe there need prescription. which pharmacy u went to?

hyperamos

I got a bottle of Regro by DHA. My friend got it from the doctor, but had allergic reaction from 1st use, so stop using. Not sure if it is Minoxidil 3% or 5%, just wanna sell it off to someone who can make better use of it. Let me know if you are interested.

Isopropyl

Hi Isopropyl

Have been using propecia for 2 years now, lately noticed crown thinning getting worse. I know you have switched to dutasteride in your regimen.

In your opinion, did switching to dutas help? How long has it been since you have been taking dutas and is it normal for propecia users to switch to dutas some time down the road?

Thanks

2years on propecia? wow... you could have save alot if you are on proscar:(

i use dut for about 2 years before switching back to fin. not much different for me. both help me to keep what i have. but it not really a fair for me to say that as i only use it 3times per week for dut. maybe daily would be better.

yes. alot of users jump from fin to dut. you could try. but i suggest you take it 5-7times weekly will be a better bet. since you are using propecia already as well get something stronger for more or less the same amount of money.

good luck.

Isopropyl

I shave skinhead before.

My suggestion is.
It depends.
If your skull has a nice shape you might look good botak.

If your balding very jialat, you might look better botak too.
So, the choice is up to you.
Personally, it looks more natural for someone balding with botak hairstyle than someone balding very jialat with little hair.

one might look good having a buzz haircut. for me i look rather ok shaved yet i choose not to as long as possible.

like it or not having a shaved look does affect your carrer more or less no matter how good you look. more so if the job require a clean image. shaved look is often associate with bad boys image while full head of head is the good guys. think superman and lex luthor. movie often reflect our prospective on image. even if the good guys is bald in a movie, they are often of bad attidue, tough and rebellion. eg Jason statham, vin diesel, bruce willis.

unfair? but that the hard cold fact although no one like to admit. your looks does affect your carrer like it or not. although sallow, we do judge people by thier looks. bald people are often being tab with negative characteristics. inbuilt in us. nature selection.

i choose to treat my hairloss and maintain it as long as possible. but there will be a time when shaving will be a better option. till then, i do what i can.

Spartanz.

one might look good having a buzz haircut. for me i look rather ok shaved yet i choose not to as long as possible.

like it or not having a shaved look does affect your carrer more or less no matter how good you look. more so if the job require a clean image. shaved look is often associate with bad boys image while full head of head is the good guys. think superman and lex luthor. movie often reflect our prospective on image. even if the good guys is bald in a movie, they are often of bad attidue, tough and rebellion. eg Jason statham, vin diesel, bruce willis.

unfair? but that the hard cold fact although no one like to admit. your looks does affect your carrer like it or not. although sallow, we do judge people by thier looks. bald people are often being tab with negative characteristics. inbuilt in us. nature selection.

i choose to treat my hairloss and maintain it as long as possible. but there will be a time when shaving will be a better option. till then, i do what i can.

true..but for hair loss sufferers , other than taking medications, thats the only way to go.

a balding guy is much uglier than a bald guy. of course u can compliment yr botak look by being tan and fit.

for me my opinion is even if i take drug n it does improve my condn, it desnt stop my worries.

i will still have worries "how long can this drug sustain my hairloss?","Is this drug affecting me?" "wad if 1 day i lose everything?" " wad if 1 day my hair start droping? do i increase the dosage?"

being bald, all these worries are gone, u can focus on other areas which i think is much better mentally. of course it takes time to get used to it, stares u get at 1st, comments by ppl.

being bald means being in control of yr hairloss n not letting hairloss control u.

Spartanz.

honestly i m sick n tired of my hair, being obsessed with it, finding a good hairstyle, avoiding sun avoiding swimming for dono how many yrs

i think u guys know swimming isnt very good for yr hair. last week for the 1st time after donkey yrs i leapt into a swimming pool n get a tan , feels really invigorating.

i realised how much i m missing out, the water the sun everything.

right now i m having a very short hairstyle n i believe i m going to shave soon. i got this urge to shave n this urge gets more n more into me as time goes by.:(:o

its yr choice ppl ,

u can take drugs. if u want let drugs control yr life then do it. u may solve the prob temporary but yr hairloss may come back again. u will still be worried about yr hair, preventing u from doing activites that can potentially harm yr hair

or u can shave it, lead a life with no worries, nothing to stop u from doing activities that u can once do when u had the hair initally.

Spartanz.

the reason why bald ppl are often being tab with negative characteristics is because they themselves feel that way. tey feel inferior compared to guys with hair, tey feel ppl r judging them based on their hair.

its when ppl feel inferior, depressed or wadever negetive thoughts, they give a negative aura that others can feel it

if u embrace yr baldness, be confident, concentrate on yr other areas to improve yr facial features, i think balding shouldnt affect yr every day like including work.

why not take action now instead of delaying the inevitable with drugs?

Isopropyl

true..but for hair loss sufferers , other than taking medications, thats the only way to go.

a balding guy is much uglier than a bald guy. of course u can compliment yr botak look by being tan and fit.

for me my opinion is even if i take drug n it does improve my condn, it desnt stop my worries.

i will still have worries "how long can this drug sustain my hairloss?","Is this drug affecting me?" "wad if 1 day i lose everything?" " wad if 1 day my hair start droping? do i increase the dosage?"

being bald, all these worries are gone, u can focus on other areas which i think is much better mentally. of course it takes time to get used to it, stares u get at 1st, comments by ppl.

being bald means being in control of yr hairloss n not letting hairloss control u.

i will say look better for what? bald look and full head of hair will display their magic in different context. just that full head of hair is better in alot most situation:s7:

not really true. personally i am on treatment but way past those time that i am constantly worry about hairloss. infact the whole hairloss thing have make me a better person learning to accept things as it come along. different people response in a differet way to a same situation. some simply get better:o hairloss treatment have become more of a past time to me now.

as much as you can overcome your hairloss by buzzing it, you can never overcome the negative effect of it. you can have all the self-confidence in the world yet it still will affect your life. sad but true. when is the last time an US president is bald:s8: in the real world, it all about image.

well... there is always wig which we can consider. with current advance, they look pretty real and almost undecteatable. i find nothing wrong with going that step. it like a woman using make-up or hair-extension in a way. even if people know you are using a wig it fine. we all know bruce willis is using a wig in "six sense" isn't it. can you imagine him having the bald look of "die hard" in that movie? of course as everything there is no prefect solution. you still worry about it felling off:s13:

Isopropyl

honestly i m sick n tired of my hair, being obsessed with it, finding a good hairstyle, avoiding sun avoiding swimming for dono how many yrs

i think u guys know swimming isnt very good for yr hair. last week for the 1st time after donkey yrs i leapt into a swimming pool n get a tan , feels really invigorating.

i realised how much i m missing out, the water the sun everything.

right now i m having a very short hairstyle n i believe i m going to shave soon. i got this urge to shave n this urge gets more n more into me as time goes by.:(:o

its yr choice ppl ,

u can take drugs. if u want let drugs control yr life then do it. u may solve the prob temporary but yr hairloss may come back again. u will still be worried about yr hair, preventing u from doing activites that can potentially harm yr hair

or u can shave it, lead a life with no worries, nothing to stop u from doing activities that u can once do when u had the hair initally.

again, it up to one personal prospective of life. i have pretty much overcome the fear of people telling me i have hairloss. i can easily make fun of myself about it. i think that the end goal. be cool about it. i don't have to stand-up when someone come over to my desk. i don't need to avoid the sun fearing it make me look bad. still, i use concealer for some event like wedding. just like lady using make-up, we just want to look better in certain occasion and photoshoot. nothing wrong to be a little vain at time.

in a way buzzing it down is also a way to manage hairloss like treatment isn't it? you got to shave or you look your worst. different technique but it all about managment of hairloss in the end. still you are not free from it totally. just like treatment, you are using alternative way to look and feel better. it just a method more acceptable to you then treatment after considering pros and cons. that all. no different. don't take shaving as a indication that we don't care about it anymore. just simply another method to look better. in a way, just like patient accepting and deal with side effect of treatment, you are forcing yourself to accept the 2nd best option just like everyone.

just my point of view.

Isopropyl

the reason why bald ppl are often being tab with negative characteristics is because they themselves feel that way. tey feel inferior compared to guys with hair, tey feel ppl r judging them based on their hair.

its when ppl feel inferior, depressed or wadever negetive thoughts, they give a negative aura that others can feel it

if u embrace yr baldness, be confident, concentrate on yr other areas to improve yr facial features, i think balding shouldnt affect yr every day like including work.

why not take action now instead of delaying the inevitable with drugs?

that only partly true. again, nature selection is at work here. full head of hair is been associate with youth while bald is link to been mature(old). nothing to do with self-confidence. just like having a lean and mean body is much more attractive then someone who is overweight as it indicate health. it in our DNA mate.

my question is why not? it give you many more years of better hair which is especially important in your prime either for carrer or finding a mate. your reasoning is like telling ladies not to bother with skin care since growing old and developing wrinkle is inevitable. that a deadly sin:s13:

seriously i fine with anyway people use to manage hairloss. shaving, comb over, transplant, treatment, wig etc. any method that is effective for you is a good method. i find that you are a bit extreme in your propesctive. whatever you choose always have it pros and cons. i not defending treatment is the best. but i sure it a way that have minimum invasive and suit lots of people. one day i quite sure i will go for the shave look. my dad is doing that and i think he look pretty cool. during NSF time, my wing commader is using a wig which all of us know. we do make fun of it but i think he look great!!! it just another way of acomplish the same goal:s7:

Spartanz.

that only partly true. again, nature selection is at work here. full head of hair is been associate with youth while bald is link to been mature(old). nothing to do with self-confidence. just like having a lean and mean body is much more attractive then someone who is overweight as it indicate health. it in our DNA mate.

my question is why not? it give you many more years of better hair which is especially important in your prime either for carrer or finding a mate. your reasoning is like telling ladies not to bother with skin care since growing old and developing wrinkle is inevitable. that a deadly sin:s13:

seriously i fine with anyway people use to manage hairloss. shaving, comb over, transplant, treatment, wig etc. any method that is effective for you is a good method. i find that you are a bit extreme in your propesctive. whatever you choose always have it pros and cons. i not defending treatment is the best. but i sure it a way that have minimum invasive and suit lots of people. one day i quite sure i will go for the shave look. my dad is doing that and i think he look pretty cool. during NSF time, my wing commader is using a wig which all of us know. we do make fun of it but i think he look great!!! it just another way of acomplish the same goal:s7:

hmmm u r right , hair is associated with youth but being bald doesnt mean u cant be attractive.

the reason many ppl think bald ppl r unattractive is because they neglect other areas other than their hair. for e.g face, physique, dress sense, posture.

very often u see bald ppl who r very thin/ plump/ slouching/being afraid to look up/feeling inferior. being bald is bad enough, having all these additonal negative attributes will worsen it.

if one is bald, one really have to make a effort in other aspects. u will be surprised how a good body shape, skin can compliment a botak look.

i do agree i extreme. but after i tahan for 2-3 yrs ,finding save solns, avoiding activities that can expose my hairloss or worsen it, being constantly worried, i think i m depriving myself of so much things.

i figure even if i take drug, i will still be worried. my main priorty is to get rid of this worried feeling rather than saving my hair

u cant blame a 23 yr old who want look good :s13: n feel good..

btw how old r u? n when did u started to have visible hairloss

Isopropyl

hmmm u r right , hair is associated with youth but being bald doesnt mean u cant be attractive.

the reason many ppl think bald ppl r unattractive is because they neglect other areas other than their hair. for e.g face, physique, dress sense, posture.

very often u see bald ppl who r very thin/ plump/ slouching/being afraid to look up/feeling inferior. being bald is bad enough, having all these additonal negative attributes will worsen it.

if one is bald, one really have to make a effort in other aspects. u will be surprised how a good body shape, skin can compliment a botak look.

i do agree i extreme. but after i tahan for 2-3 yrs ,finding save solns, avoiding activities that can expose my hairloss or worsen it, being constantly worried, i think i m depriving myself of so much things.

i figure even if i take drug, i will still be worried. my main priorty is to get rid of this worried feeling rather than saving my hair

u cant blame a 23 yr old who want look good :s13: n feel good..

btw how old r u? n when did u started to have visible hairloss

again, i never say bald can't be attractive. to quote what i have mention above, i said in most context, having a full head of hair is in no doubt a better situation.

it quite a classic case of comparing apple to orange. a lean and mean bald guy will have no doubt look better then a out of shape bald guy. but we are comparing hair VS shaved here. so it will only be fair if you compare people with similar physical condition with and without hair. with that, an overweight person with full head of hair will almost always look better then someone overweight yet shaved in most context. again, you have enforce the point that a bald guy need to have the face, physique, dress sense, posture, good skin, positve attributes etc only to be attractive. i sure most people will be more forgiving towards the same person with full head of hair.

now imagine a person with full head of hair making the effort you mention:s7:get the point?

i understand your point that why i trying to point out "getting rid of the worry" have nothing to do with what you are trying for your hairloss. whether it is treatment or shaving is just ways trying to improve your image. believe me, i tried the same approach as you before. i shaved for a number of times. that how i conclude a shaved look does affect how people preceive you. i even try not to comb my hair thinking people will judge me less on outer apperance. of course, it didn't work out:s13: "getting rid of your worry" come from within you know:)

i around 30 now. friends start commenting my hairloss around 17years old. i pretty much been through what you have. avoiding friends, give excuse to avoid gathering and event. all those beijing101 and yunan jokes i have gone through too:o it does hurt badly during those days. but now, i just join in the fun:s13:

sadly not everyone grow out of it. i have friends having a sour relationship with their other half due to hairloss. less on hairloss but more on lack of self-confidence.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.