Thinning Hair problem

konkon

have already book an apt with a senior consultant at a much higher price exclude medication and treatments, any bros can advice on the costs of medication ?
i also consult some of my frens who said that not all consultants in NSC are good, i specifically ask for a hairloss specialist but there only one and her apts are book till end if jan...it seems quite a no. of patients are facing this problem

kebinu

5 to 10 strands i very little leh, when i style my hair using clay and wash my hair, can see so many strands on hairs.. so don't worry...
I have stopped using hair product since a long time ago. Just curious, how many hair dropped each time during shampoo?

For me, it's 10+ currently, but i am you know la, paranoid. my parting (that hole) seem more obvious. when out in the sun today, i look at my group mate, like same problem leh.

am i paranoid or?? but i am still pretty cool, even if i bald, i may not get so sad.

ANAN84

have already book an apt with a senior consultant at a much higher price exclude medication and treatments, any bros can advice on the costs of medication ?
i also consult some of my frens who said that not all consultants in NSC are good, i specifically ask for a hairloss specialist but there only one and her apts are book till end if jan...it seems quite a no. of patients are facing this problem

bro... i think u have to pay $60.40 if you are not referred by anybody...and u have to pay $10 deposit for next appointment. and most prob they will recommand you two types of treatment either by eating pills like Propecia which is (finasteride) which cost $94.70 per box or applying mindiol i dunno how to spell for that.. most prob they will recommand u to eat for 3 months ba.. for the pill as for the lotioni am not sure how much but should be cheaper ba but my docto advice me only take the pills lo.. as if i try two methods i may not know which methods works.....this is what she tell me ...BUT REMEMBER for PROPECIA ONCE U STARTED TO EAT IT U WILL HAVE TO EAT IT FOR WHOLE LIFE.... OR ELSE IT WON'T WORK...as for the side effects of PROPECIA is 2% of those people who eat it will loss manhood which is CANNOT STAND...however this is only medicine whihch is critically proven as 90%or 95% heals it.. but after all it just depend on ur own body ba...for my case my doctor perscribe me for 3 months of pills loh.... and over all cost is around$300 plus ....after that just come back to the parmancy over there with the prescribtion and take another set of medicine ba.. but REMEMBER IT WILL ONLY TAKE 3-6 months to takle effect for the pills some may lesser ba... it all depend on ur one choice....

kebinu

guys, i was reading this website.
http://www.hairlossadvisory.org/index.html

I think there's quite a lot of info, it will be very positive. it teaches me how to deal with it. i may not be balding currently.. but i may feel sad because my hair is not as thick as 10 years ago.

i did a little experiment by messing up my parting all over the head and it show a hole. this mean that if i "style" my hair properly, i look normal. it's just that when i wake up i may see an obvious spot.

i may not be balding afterall. but then again, i am going to spot a short and clean hairstyle when i return to singapore.

ps: during my last shampoo, i saw only 3 hair drop. before this wash was about 10+ everytime i shampoo. i hope it gets better.

cheer up guys, 1 thing that i learn, i will never laugh at balding people. self confidence is definitely important! i will be supporting this thread.

xiao_tai

hi kebinu, you sound like trying to tell us how confident you are and I think you are the most happy guy in this thread. Because you dont have MBP... What's 10+ hairs everytime shampoo, you got see before about 100 hairs during shampoo?? Do you know when hair gettin lesser, it wont look normal even you style your hair? :sad: You should thanks hard to your God that you are not the lucky one...

kebinu

i'm sorry if i hurt people in here. but always look on the bright side of life. i may or may not be suffering from mpb, i definitely hope that i'm not. no, i never see 100+ hair during shampoo, but i'm glad that you are telling me this because this can cancel off the fear of many others.

For a start, we know we drop at most 1 or 2 hair during shampoo when we are young (or may not even drop at all). when we started to see 10, we will start to fear. i am having this fear now. i am reading up also.

i been through a lot of bad things in my life that dent my self confidence too. i had very bad acne breakout that my friends thought that i suffered hornet attack at tekong. i am not saying who is bad, but i wish to encourage people to look on the bright side. i am standing together with you, not against you.

& once again, i am sorry if i hurt anyone here. If you request, i won't post here anymore. i am trying to help too yeah?

kain11sg

Anyone on propecia that has the medication work on them can pls give me some advise?
I currently on propecia for 2 mths liao but although shampooing and waking up cannot c much hair drop but still can observe thinning on head overall and receeding hairline... Anyone care to share their experience on how long properica's effect work on them? I very sian now....

looonie

copied this from earthclinic.com http://www.earthclinic.com/CURES/hair_loss.html

Ted replies, "Dear Allan: The single most difficult cures that I have ever witnessed is not the cure for deadly diseases, but cosmetic problems, especially alopecia due to male pattern baldness or baldness that occurred. in woman.

This is especially true of people who wants his hair to grow back and he looks Yul Brynner, Patrick Stewart or Kojak! Even Gurus from alternative medicine are almost bald such as Dr. Mercola. So I guess it is a difficult issue from them too!

In fact several readers from earthclinic actually contacted me directly on this issue. After doing research, I found that people who are faced with being bald have a pattern. They often have low zinc and manganese level, while at the same time their copper status is very high.

There is some debate on the tin deficiency issue, which can easily be resolved by just eating a can of lynchee from China or from Thailand. Most canned lynchees in Thailand are still tin-plated inside and does not use the plastic coating. As a result, tin gets dissolved in a can lynchee.

A hair can fall off for a number of causes, each will have a specific remedies depending on the cause. I make a short list of some cause that I have witnessed:

1. Hormone problems.
2. Mineral Deficiency.
3. Vitamin Deficiency
4. Immune Suppression
5. Fungus and Pathogens.
6. Buffer Deficiency

Hormone problems are either your body has too much adrenals, such as DHEA. When this happens the hair can fall of fairly rapidly. The other is the lack of certain growth hormones, which is known to have links to hair growth.

One such product, called minoxidil 5% with possible addition of azelaic acid, tretinoin, BHT, polysorbate 60 should get your hair back but it is going to take many months to a year.

The lack of stem cells is a possibility and therefore the possible use of colloidal silver, however remote, might increase the number of undifferentiated cells but of course, I think adding some DMSO will help their absorption to the skin.

For those who have read Dr. Robert O. Becker, in his book, The Body Electric, he mentions of stem cells which he referred to as dedifferentiated cells in the presence of colloidal silver. So perhaps such application might help.

Minoxidil was originally used to control blood pressure medicine, but it had an interesting side effect in causing hair growth. However, it is not the minoxidil itself. The active form is minoxidil sulfate, which is processed in the liver which causes hair growth. So the fact that you are spraying on the hair might not work as well since the body must somehow convert this to minoxidil sulfate. There is currently no minoxidil sulfate sold in the market as the price is currently prohibitive so most of the products are still marketing the minoxidil.

Researchers have found out that propylene glycol should not be added in a minoxidil compound as this might cause problems. However, the addition of polysorbate 90 or similar ones were seen as beneficial. The addition of azelaic acid 5% and tretinoin also helps. Some researcher mentioned that if you apply azelaic acid first before spraying on the minoxidil this will help.

There are also some conflicting research, but its conflict can easily be resolved. The addition of zinc pyrithione were not seen as beneficial. However some other hair products do add zinc, but in the form of zinc acetate to the minoxidil compound. Based on very few tests I have performed here, I found that zinc really do not help if applied on the head, despite a well known fact that people who have alopecia have zinc deficiency. While on the other hand the use of the so-called "copper peptide" is witnessing some success. Again this is my initial impression. In my opinion, minoxidil compound might not work together well with a zinc compound, but it might work together better with a copper compound.

So that you do not get confused what is a copper peptide. It is basically a copper chloride solution reacted with a protein or an amino acids. Copper is fairly reactive to most organic substances. I in fact applied a concentrated copper chloride fixated to my sandals to permanently kill the fungus locked up in the sandals and shoes. A strong solution can get some faint smoke, this is how strong the solution and therefore reactive to proteins.

The reason why a minoxidil works is that it acts like a pseudo growth hormone. The reason why I know this is a study of one person on overuse of minoxidil compound for a long time. It causes a condition called "pseudo acromegaly". Thus lack of hair growth might be due to lack of human growth hormone, of a certain kind of course, since the minoxidil compound also causes reduced blood pressure.

The problem about the use of minoxidil compound is that once you stop using it for 3 months, your hair will start falling off again. The best recommendation that I can make is if you want to go through this route, you will be using it for the rest of your life.

For me, if this happens, I might try a more speculative ways, such as taking some colloidal silver which will create some stem cells inside our body, in hopes of a remote possibility for hair re growth or perhaps try some growth hormone. Again since I have no feedback on this route, it is just a lot of trial and error in this area.

Have I seen any results from minoxidil use? Yes. But the statistics, at least from my side are dismal. One in four after three or four months of use bought results, but this was not purely from the use of minoxidil alone. They were also taking supplements.

Baldness is often the results of too much DHT, or dihydrotestosterone. It not that the body have too much testosterone, but the accumulation of DHT is too high in the hair.

This is actually a more practical route by suppressing DHT. Applying to your hair azelaic acid 20% can significantly reduce your DHT. There is a 90% inhibition with such use and this should stop the DHT.

One possible clue that the body has DHT is the prostrate enlargement. This is a good clue since it also breaks new grounds and implicate the use antioxidants to reduce DHT formation, as well as eating more scallions.

In one research they found a significant reduction in prostate gland, upon consumption of scallions, which indirectly implicate the possibility of scallions might also help reduce DHT, and might also be helpful with male pattern baldness.

I have also observed that by drinking antioxidant mix formula also helped reduce prostate enlargement too. The formula is simple: 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda, plus 1/4 teaspoon of ascorbic acid vitamin C, mixed in 1/2 glass of water taken twice a day, once in the morning and once before bedtime. 1/8 teaspoon of potassium bicarbonate should help also, if you can find the needed supplies. It also helps increase capillary circulation in your skin, thus also helping scalp circulations as well.

2. Mineral deficiency. Common mineral deficiency I have seen is zinc, manganese, silicon, and possibly boron. Research have shown that people who lost hairs are low in both zinc and manganese. You can easily tell if the person has low zinc indirectly. If you catch colds easily or used to catch colds very easily, you have zinc deficiency. The zinc I used is usually zinc acetate, zinc chloride, zinc citrate or zinc gluconate. I do not recommend the use of zinc sulfate, it causes you to throw up within three or four hours after consumption.

The other possible clue that your body is zinc deficient is excess sebum production, or oily hair. I have seen in many instances of people who are going bald are forced to shampoo their hair almost everyday. The culprit of excess sebum production is zinc deficiency. For some reason or another, if the sebum production is excessive, the hairs fall off.

I have a friend who for years have been loosing hair and have only this year told me about it. I first started her off with zinc acetate 50 mg. per day for 3-4 days. No results. Then I tried tea tree oil and lavender, some results, but not something you can use. Then finally, almost about to give up, I gave her manganese sulfate, only one dose 100 mg. It worked like miracles. The next day and over the course of two months now, she no longer lost her hair! Of course, taking manganese over the course of several weeks should be better, but at the time I was busy with other things and gave her only one single dose. 25-50 mg. should be more of an ideal dose then 100 mg., however. For those people who can't find manganese I required, you can try drinking soy milk. Soy milk is high in manganese. This is why Asians don't go bald as often as the people who drink cow's milk. The secret is in the manganese. Dr. Mercola is anti-soy, so it might not be surprising that he too, is somewhat bald, perhaps on low manganese. Silicon supplements is well know to help hair and skin growth too. The preferred form of silicon is silicic acid. Of course you can find oatmeal high in silicon also.

3. Vitamin Deficiency. Common vitamin Deficiencies are usually vitamin B5 (pantothenic acid or panthenol) and vitamin B8 (inositol) both of these vitamins helps with your hair and skin growth. You need to take this along with vitamin B complex. Taken in moderation, I believe is best of about 100 mg. -250 mg per day for B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, and B8, while 100 mcg for B12. The yellow urine color comes from the B2 riboflavin, in case you are wondering.

looonie

(continued)

4. Immune suppression. People start loosing their hair when they start to get colds very easily. This reflects immune problems. Zinc, Vitamin C, N-Acetyl Cysteine, selenium, kelp, should help raise your immune system. N-Acetyl Cysteine is also interesting, it helps hair and skin growth also. Oral EDTA chelation in removing heavy metals will also increase your body's immune system. But so well taking 1/4 teaspoon of citric acid plus 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda to 1/2 glass of water taken twice a day, one in the morning, and one before bedtime. By alkalizing your body, the body will have enough oxygen therefore raise your body's immune system. Normalizing your body's buffer is important so that the immune system can function properly.

5. Fungus and Pathogens. I have seen people going bald because of itchy scalp. If this is your problem, then this is the most easiest of all treatment to cure. The solution is 50% lavender oil plus 50% tea tree oil. One possibility is applying a 2% solution of copper chloride only once a week. But please rinse quickly, it tends to cause green scalp, but this is only temporary. I mention to you in case the lavender/tea tree oil doesn't work. To use it, please apply them liberally on your scalp until the itchiness is gone. If not, then use 100% vinegar solution to rinse your hair and keep their for a couple of minutes before rinse. If that doesn't work then add a saturated level of borax and do that again. If all remedies doesn't work, copper chloride always does but it creates green skin or scalp. The green color of the copper chloride tends to stay for a day or so. So if you wash it, most will go away.

The pathogen issue is a bit more difficult if that is the cause or you suspect it is so. You can tell if it is pathogens if the pattern looks strange, extremely itchy or you feel something crawling. For this you need to do what I did with the dog mange. Prepare a saturated saturated borax solution and add enough hydrogen peroxide to get you a 1% solution. Apply to the head. Most insects and related pathogens get killed by borax. But the real secret of this formula is the hydrogen peroxide. It acts as a super penetrant. This is also true of vinegar, but I have had more successes with the hydrogen peroxide idea.

6. Buffer deficiency. Buffer deficiency is the only area in medicine that have not recognized the fact that people get sick often is because the body's buffer is deficient. A simple remedy is simply the 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda and 1/4 teaspoon of citric acid plus 1/2 glass of water, taken twice a day, once in the evening and once in the morning. The other is similar, but it focuses on raising your body's antioxidant levels, which is 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda, plus 1/4 teaspoon of ascorbic acid in 1/2 glass of water also. Of course you can combine both formulas to get 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda plus 1/4 teaspoon of citric acid and 1/4 teaspoon of ascorbic acid. This is the buffer-antioxidant formula that I have tested and worked quite well with me.

I can't cover all the possible causes, but if you are loosing your hair, the most important thing to do is to take zinc acetate, manganese sulfate, and take plenty of buffer formula to increase your scalp circulation. And if the head is itchy, tea tree+ lavender oil will usually work in eliminating them. I haven't as yet found a cure for baldness, but I can certainly stop your hair from falling off!

And yes, I have found way to get some people's hair growing back again, but not everyone!

Here is one possible observation that might help you further your experiments. My dogs hair grew back overnight from mange, after applying hydrogen peroxide 1% solution with a saturated borax solution. Was it because the insects mange stopped the hair growth or was the borax/hydrogen peroxide not only kill the insects, but also encouraged the hair growth? Perhaps you can experiment yourself and give me this feedback! I can't do it on myself since I am not bald! And I have the lack of willing volunteers here in Bangkok to do the experiments!

Ted

magic84

hi guys
what kind of shampoo and lotions do u all use can list down?
these are a few i know of, can give some comments?

For oily scalph -

For hairloss - kanimoto hair lotion, biolyn shampo $15 waston or guardian

Stallone

for oily scalp, can use Rogaine shampoo

Kanimoto lotion gd meh?? i nv use b4

konkon

back from nsc

the doctor say i've 2 problems flaking and baldness due to genes from my uncles..but my parents hair are thick leh... :(

flaking causes temp hairloss and can be cured thus not a problem.

but the senior consultant say i show signs of balding at my young age with receeding hairline.. however he say still can be stop and prescribed 2 bottles of minoxidil 5% $47 each which can last 1.5mth, anybody knows where to get cheaper one minoxidil 5% ? he also mentions propeica which is taken orally is not good for me at this age and has numerous side effects.. haiz hope to see my hairloss problem gone in 6mth

moreover he also mentions that smoking, stresses, eating oily food has nothing to do with the baldness.. is that true huh ?

kebinu

back from nsc

the doctor say i've 2 problems flaking and baldness due to genes from my uncles..but my parents hair are thick leh... :(

but the senior consultant say i show signs of balding at my young age with receeding hairline.. however he say still can be stop and prescribed 2 bottles of minoxidil 5% $47 each which can last 1.5mth, anybody knows where to get cheaper one minoxidil 5% ? he also mentions propeica which is taken orally is not good for me at this age and has numerous side effects.. haiz hope to see my hairloss problem gone in 6mth

moreover he also mentions that smoking, stresses, eating oily food has nothing to do with the baldness.. is that true huh ?
maybe. http://www.hairlossadvisory.org/index.html
this website said so too.

Stallone

back from nsc

where do u live? if u live near eastern side, can go CGH take the minox cos it's less than $40 i think

the main factor is still hereditary i guess.. if only we can do genetic engineering now, our problem wud be solved

konkon

my scalp is shedding hair so fast for the last 1 month that i think i will be bald even before the effect of the minoxill treatment works.. will be taking a blood test to investigate the actual cause of balding.. quite depress now.. my sides and top are thinning real fast.. i dont even think it might be MBP. as sometimes i got the ocassional magraine when i my hair began to drop... :(

johnckj

Guys look at this website http://www.folligen.com/

It might be the solution to all your hair loss problems, great testi from all those who used Dr lorens products. I am personally using them as well. But using for my eyebrows and eyelashes instead, it indeeds work but the process is a slow one. But prob the results will be diff. for hair thou.

Anyway, if there is enough ppl int. in buying the folligen or any of the facial products stuff, I can conduct an MO for you guys/gals. Just PM me and I will consolidate the orders to see whether there is enough response to conduct one.

Lesbian_Behkan_

AnywaY if it is due to family geneS den lan lan loh~cos these sorta thinG cannoT alter, jus accept it nia.HoweveR I heard taking more zinC+nutritious fooD is good leh~

Anakin1982

Anyone looking for Rogaine Foam (Minoxidil 5%)... I'm selling quite cheap at $15 per bottle (original cost is around $20 plus per bottle including shipping).

It's really quite good cos u won't get the messy drip as with the minoxidil solution... the foam basically melts into ur scalp so the absorption is pretty good and neat.

I have 6-8 bottles to spare cos that time i kiasu ordered 18 bottles one shot... Cos at the rate i'm using (one bottle can last me almost 2 month cos my hair thinning spot is quite localized), think my supply can last me a few years, so though of selling off some bottles ...

Anakin1982

this product seems quite recommended according to a fren of mine... but quite ex...

Revivogen Bio Cleansing Shampoo (360ml) - $57

Revivogen Scalp Therapy (60ml) - $82

Revivogen Thickening Conditioner(360ml) - $57

Ya i'm quite keen to try too... cos if i use this in conjunction with Rogaine foam , hope i can keep my full hair for as long as possible

But all the price are quoted in USD... how do i order if i'm using credit card??

Is there any wher in S'pore i can buy Revivogen products?

Why are all the recommended products like Revivogen, Rogaine Foam, Tricodem NEVER seen in S'pore ??? Then when i go to Guardian Pharmacy recently, i saw a whole range of hair-loss products but none are those i read about before

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.