Thinning Hair problem

Isopropyl

Botak_gan said:
Hope new hair will gorw from those fall out spots.... Emmm,... During shower will drop around 20-30 strands. Every morning ard 15-20 stands, During the day to evening ard 15-20 strands. So add up to abt 60-70 strands hair drop per day.... Although is within the normal range...i never experience so much hairloss before ever seen my schooling time. As my hair is thnning fast, 60+ per day is no more normal to me..... Hope the Alpecin shampoo work for you and update us on the results...:). By the way, is your problem very serious or just started not long??? Or is already very obvious...???

haha.. how to compare with schooling days. during those time, i can style my hair anyway i want. nowaday i have to keep my hair as short as possible.

my hair loss is bad enough for friends to comment that i am losing hair, make a joke out of my hair, ask me to go for beijing101 or yun nun etc. yeah, i think it pretty bad:(

Botak_gan

Isopropyl said:
haha.. how to compare with schooling days. during those time, i can style my hair anyway i want. nowaday i have to keep my hair as short as possible.

my hair loss is bad enough for friends to comment that i am losing hair, make a joke out of my hair, ask me to go for beijing101 or yun nun etc. yeah, i think it pretty bad:(
So even with your short hair it is not obvious that ppl can tell that u got hairloss rite....??? Much better than me lo.....Me began in my regime for abt a mth and shedding become quite serious since last week....If only i have start treatment i-2 yrs ago...most of my hair could have been save. So you got family history of hair loss or only u suffering from that???. My family got history of hairloss but the funny things is for my 3 cousins (same Dad), only 1 is balding while the other 2 have head full of hairs...Think he and i are the unlucky ones.....

Isopropyl

Botak_gan said:
So even with your short hair it is not obvious that ppl can tell that u got hairloss rite....??? Much better than me lo.....Me began in my regime for abt a mth and shedding become quite serious since last week....If only i have start treatment i-2 yrs ago...most of my hair could have been save. So you got family history of hair loss or only u suffering from that???. My family got history of hairloss but the funny things is for my 3 cousins (same Dad), only 1 is balding while the other 2 have head full of hairs...Think he and i are the unlucky ones.....
my short hair is nearly NS style. so not very obvious to non-train eyes. but people that have experience with hair loss can tell. it took me lots of gut to cut it that short. now i am quite comfortable with it. further more, i should be younger then you so i guess if i didn't do anything it will get alot worst later.

late is better then never. just do your best. seriously, i suggest that you try the Alpecin shampoo too. it not very expensive and could provide some benefit in slowing your hair loss. just don't get the after shampoo lotion as you are using minoxidil. maybe you are in a better position in testing this product due to your condition. also, my hair is so short to notice anything :s13: i will update you if it is useful.

some of my uncles from my father side have serious hair loss to the extend of completely bald. my dad condition is not that bad in his younger days. for my dad hair loss is mostly at the temple when he is younger. mine is a bit on the temple and serious on the crown. my elder brother have full thick head of hair. for my second brother, he have some hair loss at the temple but none at the crown so i guess he is something like my dad which is not very serious.

like you, i am the unlucky one. but i got stronger in my character when i got back from the depression i am suffering from in the beginning. not saying that it does not affect me at all now, but i taking it much better.

Asymtope

Isopropyl said:
a uncle from another forums got my attention for Alpecin shampoo. it a caffeine shampoo that suppose to help hairloss. the uncle claim that it stopped his hairloss while proscar and minoxidil did nothing. i did a search and there are quite a number of positive review on this shampoo. further more, i found out they have a distro in singapore which make it easier to buy. i called them up and they direct me to a shop near my place. this is the number to call if you are interested. 67463688. i am going to give it a try. it should cost around $13.80 for the shampoo. not sure how much is the ASL (after shampoo lotion)
http://www.alpecin.de/en/index.php
ultimatesg, what your take on this product?

disclaimer: just to add on that i am in no way related to this company. i am not advertising for any company. just sharing something that might be helpful to those who suffer from hairloss. Mod, feel free to edit if you think i am advertising.

The uncle u mentioned ,did he experience any hair growth?
there's study abt caffeine can helps to reduce hair loss

Botak_gan

It really take alot courage to go for NS style haircut again..... Sometimes it depend on individual character...Some guys dun even care about their hair loss....For me, good hair give me alot more confident. I am trying to get back from depression slowly..... So currently are u attached??? Believe good head of hairs play a part in attract gals har......I wonder how effective is this shampoo or any side effect..???

Isopropyl

Asymtope said:
The uncle u mentioned ,did he experience any hair growth?
there's study abt caffeine can helps to reduce hair loss

here the full story. i was reading some hair loss forums and notice that a guy is selling his left over proscar at a cheap price as he is giving up due to side effect and it not working for him. he happen to be living in singapore so i contacted him. to keep the long story short, he started with Alpecin shampoo and notice that his hair loss stopped. not sure whether is there any regrowth. i have not met up with him and discuss in detail yet. later on he added super zix routine but that another story.

Botak_gan

Isopropyl said:
here the full story. i was reading some hair loss forums and notice that a guy is selling his left over proscar at a cheap price as he is giving up due to side effect and it not working for him. he happen to be living in singapore so i contacted him. to keep the long story short, he started with Alpecin shampoo and notice that his hair loss stopped. not sure whether is there any regrowth. i have not met up with him and discuss in detail yet. later on he added super zix routine but that another story.
So far do u suffer any major side effect while using proscar?? So u decidde to ditch nizoral shampoo and start using alpecin shsmpoo...??? Seen the website regarding alpecin....seem promising...

Isopropyl

Botak_gan said:
It really take alot courage to go for NS style haircut again..... Sometimes it depend on individual character...Some guys dun even care about their hair loss....For me, good hair give me alot more confident. I am trying to get back from depression slowly..... So currently are u attached??? Believe good head of hairs play a part in attract gals har......I wonder how effective is this shampoo or any side effect..???

yeah. tell me about it. the first time i going for NS style, i walked around the shop for a long time before mastering up enough courage to go in. haha...

take it easy. you can learn to be happy again in any situation. also be positive on your treatment.

i am not attached as i don't really believe in long term relationship. so i just go out with different girls :s13: without a mate, i can do what i like and what i want so i don't not want to lose that freedom as i having so much fun. of course, i try not to harm anyone. making it clear that it is just for the sake of fun to others in the beginning is important.

i don't think there is much side effect as the concentration of the caffeine is low. if you leave the shampoo on your scalp for 2mins, the caffeine absorbed into your scalp is roughly 1/5 of a cup of coffee. many people have been drinking more than 1cup of coffee daily without any problem. further more, we are only using the shampoo tropically.
most people in some forums that is using this shampoo reported slowing down of hair loss. personally, i won't bother about anything that does not even have any basic evident which show it might be working and most important, users review. that why i stay away from stuffs like Biolyn.

Asymtope

hi Isopropyl, can tell which shop did u buy frm?
how much does the After Shampoo cost too?
the auntie quite bad , charge u higher than usual leh.

btw, I read studies on drinking coffee tt negligible amt of caffeine can reach ur scalp. So directly applying them on the scalp is better

Isopropyl

Botak_gan said:
So far do u suffer any major side effect while using proscar?? So u decidde to ditch nizoral shampoo and start using alpecin shsmpoo...??? Seen the website regarding alpecin....seem promising...

i have not experience anything major from proscar. maybe only drier skin and increase in acne.

i will still use Nizoral as it still have it own benefit different from Alpecin. but might be changing to 1% version after my 2% bottle finish as study show both work equally well for hair loss. the reason i use 2% is because it reduce itch better which is very common when i just started on minoxidil. now my scalp is able to take minoxidil better so no point carry on using 2% version which is harsh to the hair.

give Alpecin a try. it not expensive compare to nizoral. who know what can it do for you :)

Botak_gan

Isopropyl said:
i have not experience anything major from proscar. maybe only drier skin and increase in acne.

i will still use Nizoral as it still have it own benefit different from Alpecin. but might be changing to 1% version after my 2% bottle finish as study show both work equally well for hair loss. the reason i use 2% is because it reduce itch better which is very common when i just started on minoxidil. now my scalp is able to take minoxidil better so no point carry on using 2% version which is harsh to the hair.

give Alpecin a try. it not expensive compare to nizoral. who know what can it do for you :)
Yap, me also experience increase in acne.....So where you get this alpecin shampoo from? do you have the exact location??? Think shld be able to get it at the same price as u right??($13.80). Heard that aunty charge u $18 initially

Isopropyl

Asymtope said:
hi Isopropyl, can tell which shop did u buy frm?
how much does the After Shampoo cost too?
the auntie quite bad , charge u higher than usual leh.

btw, I read studies on drinking coffee tt negligible amt of caffeine can reach ur scalp. So directly applying them on the scalp is better

below is their email reply to me on the price. i got mine from Yishun blk293. you can call the number i posted eariler to find one shop that is nearer to your house. the shop in yishun does not seem to have the after shampoo lotion. anyway, do call the shop up before going down to double check. the uncle i talk about got it somewhere in chinatown. his price is $13.50. i can live with $0.30 more but not $18!!!

you are right. even if you drink 50cups of coffee won't provide enough coffeine to your scalp. the best way is to apply it right to your scalp.
Thank you for the enquiry.

The price for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo is S$13.80.

The range of after shampoo lotion available in Singapore currently are as follow:
Alpecin Fresh - vitalizing scalp and hair care for normal hair - S$20.80.
Alpecin Forte - for dandruff and oily hair - S$20.80
Alpecin Special - for hair loss due to sensitive scalp - S$25.80

Please advise your address so that we can arrange for the retailer near you to be in contact with you.

Best regards.

Botak_gan

Botak_gan said:
Yap, me also experience increase in acne.....So where you get this alpecin shampoo from? do you have the exact location??? Think shld be able to get it at the same price as u right??($13.80). Heard that aunty charge u $18 initially
ok thank...;) Hope to hear good results using alpecin shampoo from you soon

Isopropyl

if you happen to live near yishun. Blk 293 #01-233. Telephone number:62579073

if not just call the distro for some place nearer.

call the aunty before going down the yishun salon. maybe they have the after shampoo lotion. i didn't check what type of hair tonic she show me and maybe those are the one as it the same brand.

just tell the aunty you are being quoted at $13.80. she should sell you at that price.

ultimatesg

Isopropyl said:
a uncle from another forums got my attention for Alpecin shampoo. it a caffeine shampoo that suppose to help hairloss. the uncle claim that it stopped his hairloss while proscar and minoxidil did nothing. i did a search and there are quite a number of positive review on this shampoo. further more, i found out they have a distro in singapore which make it easier to buy. i called them up and they direct me to a shop near my place. this is the number to call if you are interested. 67463688. i am going to give it a try. it should cost around $13.80 for the shampoo. not sure how much is the ASL (after shampoo lotion)
http://www.alpecin.de/en/index.php
ultimatesg, what your take on this product?

disclaimer: just to add on that i am in no way related to this company. i am not advertising for any company. just sharing something that might be helpful to those who suffer from hairloss. Mod, feel free to edit if you think i am advertising.

To be frank, I am not sure about the application of caffeine to scalp. If you have any links of the research, I would like to take a look. Caffeine probably constrict blood vessels unless it is some what a DHT blocker (which is just a wild speculation, perhaps green tea phenol shampoo with a delivery system will work much better, my speculation). But bear it in mind that whatever that is a lotion that are supposed to penetrate the skin need a delivery system. Personally I am not a big fan of application type of product. They are inconvenient IMO and if contain alcohol will "dry" up the hair made them ridiculously hard to comb. Heard of Thymuskin?
By far the best bet is finasteride. I went off it for 6 months and my hair deteriorate visibly. When I went back on it again, the oily and ichy scalp symptoms disappear overnight. If oily scalp symptom disappear, this is a sure sign that a product work. This symptom has its roots firm in the TCM hair loss theory and I think is linked to reduce DHT. I am also sure that high sodium intake somewhat trigger the hair loss mechanism, but there are no research on this at all. Have you seen any?

ultimatesg

Isopropyl said:
some update. went to get the Alpecin caffeine shampoo just now. that place is loaded with salon so took sometime to find that shop. once i reached, the aunty keep asking me to do scalp treatment, buy hair tonic, other shampoo etc which i rejected. in the end, she quoted me $18 for the shampoo!!! i told her the person that recommended me told me it only $13.80. in the end, she agree to sell me at $13.80 but keep asking me who told me about this shampoo. i just told her i got to know it online.

anyway, back to the shampoo. for $13.80, you will get 250ml worth of shampoo which should last 2-3months if using once daily. my first impression is it don't smell anything like coffee. infact, it smell like man's body spray. the smell is pretty good. at least i won't end up smelling like breakfast. the shampoo is a clear blue solution which should counter the pink nizoral 2% that is turning me into gay :s13: the shampoo lather up pretty well and my scalp felt cool as it contain menthol. the recommendation is to leave it on for 2mins before raising off. after washing off the shampoo, my scalp felt quite good due to the menthol.

ketco2ye.jpg

Where is the actual study? Scary siah!

Isopropyl

ultimatesg, here is the link. if i not wrong, there should be more study but i don't have the link.

i don't have much impression on Thymuskin. but from the little that i read, most likely it just a scam. at most it might help in other hair loss but not MPB. if i not wrong, you should be able to buy it in singapore. you tried before?

i have not read of any study that link hair loss with sodium. but like you, i do believe modern diet does play a part in increasing hair loss. it could be due to sodium, fats, MSG, suger, processed food, chemical etc. maybe it due to several factors rather than just a single component. who know, increasing radio wave in our enviroment could also be a cause.

errr... the nizoral truning man into gay is just a joke. haha...

a short update. today i met up with the uncle. i was a bit shock that he is a cacussion from NZ. after trading with him on the proscar, we talked quite a bit on hair loss. he is quite confidence that the Alpecin shampoo is stopping his hair loss. from what he told me, he daily hair loss have reduced by more than 100%. he guessed that before using the shampoo 4months ago, he is dropping about 150-200 hair daily. now he is guessing that he drop about 50-70 hair daily. this come from a guy that have treated his hair with those hairloss centre for 8months which cost more than $3000(another scum like BJ101), proscar, minoxidil, HairMax laser comb(which is consider a medical device in singapore and cost $650 USD), natural supplement etc etc.

anyway, if anyone happen to have any lobang on where to get ethyl alcohol around 70% volume(drinking alcohol), pls let me know. not denatured alcohol that you can buy in pharmacy.

Botak_gan

So for the uncle, beside using Alpecin shampoo, what are treatment is he on since he already sold you his proscar. HOw old is tha uncle and what was his condition??.. For what he say...that proscar, minoxidil didnt really work well for him make me abit low morale..liao.....So how long hs he been on alpecin shampoo and did he experience any hair growth???

Botak_gan

Isopropyl said:
ultimatesg, here is the link. if i not wrong, there should be more study but i don't have the link.

i don't have much impression on Thymuskin. but from the little that i read, most likely it just a scam. at most it might help in other hair loss but not MPH. if i not wrong, you should be able to buy it in singapore. you tried before?

i have not read of any study that link hair loss with sodium. but like you, i do believe modern diet does play a part in increasing hair loss. it could be due to sodium, fats, MSG, suger, processed food, chemical etc. maybe it due to several factors rather than just a single component. who know, increasing radio wave in our enviroment could also be a cause.

errr... the nizoral truning man into gay is just a joke. haha...

a short update. today i met up with the uncle. i was a bit shock that he is a cacussion from NZ. after trading with him on the proscar, we talked quite a bit on hair loss. he is quite confidence that the Alpecin shampoo is stopping his hair loss. from what he told me, he daily hair loss have reduced by more than 100%. he guessed that before using the shampoo 4months ago, he is dropping about 150-200 hair daily. now he is guessing that he drop about 50-70 hair daily. this come from a guy that have treated his hair with those hairloss centre for 8months which cost more than $3000(another scum like BJ101), proscar, minoxidil, HairMax laser comb(which is consider a medical device in singapore and cost $650 USD), natural supplement etc etc.

anyway, if anyone happen to have any lobang on where to get ethyl alcohol around 70% volume(drinking alcohol), pls let me know. not denatured alcohol that you can buy in pharmacy.
So for the uncle, beside using Alpecin shampoo, what are treatment is he on since he already sold you his proscar. HOw old is tha uncle and what was his condition??.. For what he say...that proscar, minoxidil didnt really work well for him make me abit low morale..liao.....So how long hs he been on alpecin shampoo and did he experience any hair growth???

Isopropyl

Botak_gan said:
he started Alpecin shampoo about 4 months ago and "super zix" routine 2months ago. that all he is doing now. he is not sure whether there is any regrow. but trust me, any product that can slow down hair loss so much is already a working one. any regrow is a bonus. most people got a wrong impression that the product must regrow hair before it can be consider useful so they give it up after sometime. it only when they stopped the treatment and their hair started to get worse then they realise it is actually working great.

he is in his mid 30s and he condition is not very bad as he only started thinning 3years ago. let just say he is in the state of noticable thinning where you can see his scalp. but as he is tall, his thinning spot cannot be notice easily. but bad enough for his mother to keep asking him to do something about it.

don't feel so bad. minoxidil and proscar work for most people. he just happen to be those that does not response well to it and experience some pretty bad side effect. the most important thing for treating hair loss is not to lose hope and get into depression where you put too much attention to it. this make you doubt your treatment and if you do go to some hairloss forums, you can notice how crazy people can get over it. so try to relax my friend.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.