This is why Singaporeans are losing jobs

smoking.goblin

TS, it's not surprising...even at my workplace, ever since the manager of a certain department has been changed to a Myanmar fellow...the newly hired has been from myanmar ever since he took office...call it favouristism, but it's surprisingly legal in terms of singapore law...

therat

If the hiring manager is from India Indian. All the ppl he bring in, will be from the same home town.
Even they presently not working in singapore.

Gamerz8

There are a lot of employers who hire foreigners as they are the more economical choice. Hiring them for 5k salary is something new to me. However, I agree that having a FT doing the recruitment does make a difference. I've seen Malaysians pulling in more Malaysians all the time. (I'm not specifically targeting Malaysians. It's just an observation of mine. I guess other FTs may also do the same.)

The previous guy is a local drawing about the same amount. Funny thing is the old chap who left has got more IT certifications than this FT (only has a CCNA), they are about the same age of 3x as well. I must agree $5K for doing simple administration and user support is really overpaid but look, FT is not cheap too but yet, he's hired.

Inix

Ah, the point is they are welcomed almost anywhere with open arms ;) If locally there's trouble, well, off I go in my private jet and settle elsewhere. The place where they stay is always green.

Even an uneducated person can get into another country with luck or circumstance... They are usually called illegal immigrant or asylum seeker or refugee :s22:
heheheh.. There's rich, and then there are the uber rich. Private Jet are for uber rich lah :D

osirisis

i think this is sensitive issue as it will lead to racial disharmony. you know those i only hire my own race thingy.
personally i observe it at hawkers food stall. sometimes the whole stall is run by China workers, i wonder where are the sporeans? low pay dun wan to work there?

Sat Tan

This is so true. Look no further than those ahbunei body shop IT consultancies you see around. They like to hire from their ahbunei country and they think that these ahbuneis got more talent than locals. But what I know is clients complain many times the ahbuneis can't communicate and have poor experience. Tat's why the big MNCs don't want ahbuneis if you try to contract out the ahbuneis to them.

If the hiring manager is from India Indian. All the ppl he bring in, will be from the same home town.
Even they presently not working in singapore.

tequila_powered

Tat's why the big MNCs don't want ahbuneis if you try to contract out the ahbuneis to them.

You gotta be kidding us. Wipro, Satyam, Infosys etc. Paid billions every year by MNCs worldwide. What exactly is your business experience?

windwaver

This is so true. Look no further than those ahbunei body shop IT consultancies you see around. They like to hire from their ahbunei country and they think that these ahbuneis got more talent than locals. But what I know is clients complain many times the ahbuneis can't communicate and have poor experience. Tat's why the big MNCs don't want ahbuneis if you try to contract out the ahbuneis to them.

I personally know 1 from my ex-colleague which was his room-mate. His room-mate graduated from an Indian university (everybody is a grad there anyway), worked in a local small firm for 6 months in SAP (taught crash course by another friend in india). Came to S'pore draw $2.5K work in a govt board. Jumped to IBM $4K, jumped to HP in 2yrs to $5K, now jump back to IBM in another 2yrs drawing $6K.

Not bad right.....but I forgot getting SAP certified without experience in S'pore is USELESS and it'll cost SGD 5 figure :s13:. Somehow, engineering is also affected. Seriously, with all the education, do Singaporeans perform that poorly?

Inix

I personally know 1 from my ex-colleague which was his room-mate. His room-mate graduated from an Indian university (everybody is a grad there anyway), worked in a local small firm for 6 months in SAP (taught crash course by another friend in india). Came to S'pore draw $2.5K work in a govt board. Jumped to IBM $4K, jumped to HP in 2yrs to $5K, now jump back to IBM in another 2yrs drawing $6K.

Not bad right.....but I forgot getting SAP certified without experience in S'pore is USELESS and it'll cost SGD 5 figure :s13:. Somehow, engineering is also affected. Seriously, with all the education, do Singaporeans perform that poorly?
In a similar note, Singaporeans can also do this. And $5K for SAP is considered quite low actually, probably he is doing on the development / deployment end. Consultants can easily hit 10K.

tequila_powered

I am getting confused here. We have been hearing that foreign talents (and I do not meant laborers) are stealing jobs from qualified locals by undercutting them, that most of such locals are getting pittance, with numbers frequently quoted as being around $2k or less for IT-related. But this is about the second or third time in recent CAL threads that I am hearing complaints of highly paid IT-related foreign talents getting $6k tho underqualified. ??? We locals can now undercut them with lower pay and higher qualification? Of course, unless we are saying that for example above, the bosses at IBM, HP and gov board mentioned above are all foreign "abuneis" happy with underperforming employees?

* but otherwise, your $ numbers are quite on the ball *

In a similar note, Singaporeans can also do this. And $5K for SAP is considered quite low actually, probably he is doing on the development / deployment end. Consultants can easily hit 10K.

Aye, CONsultants. =:p OT, imho a lot of consultants here (be it FT or locals) are overpaid CONs. Unfortunately, the people with authority to sign big expensive projects can't see through that. But hell yeah, good money. Was one before (but qualified one, hor) :look:

Inix

tequila_powered said:
Aye, CONsultants. OT, imho a lot of consultants here (be it FT or locals) are overpaid CONs. Unfortunately, the people with authority to sign big expensive projects can't see through that. But hell yeah, good money. Was one before (but qualified one, hor)

Well, don't you know what does consultant mean? To CON and INSULT you :D. I'm at present a consultant, and I'll be 1st to admit that I don't know everything. But still, we're hired for our supposed domain knowledge, so die die need to act the part :D

tequila_powered

Small wonder you are looking for new home; swimming in consultancy moni and all :). But the INSULT part is new to me, thanks. I should refer to them as Coninsultant henceforth. :)

Tuakong

it's pretty obvious actually....Say what you like but immigrants/FT/FW....they are like viruses and they just multiply.
It's part & parcel of life and comes as a package whether you like it or not....all in the name of globalization.

we would have done the same if we were them, living & working in a foreign land to earn $$$ to provide our families with a better future....

Inix

Small wonder you are looking for new home; swimming in consultancy moni and all :). But the INSULT part is new to me, thanks. I should refer to them as Coninsultant henceforth. :)
hey hey, not SAP consultant mind ya. I'm just a nobody trying to make a living out of this big bad world :D

windwaver

The point is the time taken to hit $6K, not $6K itself ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.