Thread all abt ROLEX

lostboi

benqhoo said:
everyone start from noob...me too...
all you need is to read, read and read....
lotsa things to read..but i'm glad i made my choice on rolex inside of frank muller..:)

boobip

congrats to you lostboi!!! Welcome to the Rolex club. Excellent price u got there! your SD will grow on ya, and u'll be eyeing for MORE that's for sure! Hahahahaha.... I know, cos I'm eyeing a Daytona White Gold with black leather strap. Else if my budget does not permit by the end of the year, will get a Explorer II White Face or a Panerai Submersible. It doesn't matter whether your SD is F or D series, just look at the value of take-in by used watch dealers year after year. My 2.5 year old Sub-date can already sell for $5.3k easily at watch dealers' now. $300 profit since I bought it used at $5k 2 months ago. But no way I'm going to sell it, cos I like it so much. One thing u'd wanna try is to shower with it everyday, not only will it maintain the lustre and shine far longer, you'll see a brand new watch everytime u dry it.

I just went to Dickson's and a few other ADs. For the price of a Rolex Explorer I, it is $5.8k after discount, Explorer II white face is $6.5k and Explorer II black face is $6.7-6.8k. Go Hongkong buy explorer II's and GMT Masters II more worth it, cos demand is less. Heard from my friend who just returned that it's around $200-300 cheaper in price. Somemore the country code on the warranty card is '888' and the serial number confirm beautiful.

iNtEgRiTy_oWnZ

even i noe nth abt rolex...but jus to tell u...if u wanna find real rolex watches shops.....go to peoples'park of chinatown...there is a shop especially for rolex buyers only..

benqhoo

iNtEgRiTy_oWnZ said:
even i noe nth abt rolex...but jus to tell u...if u wanna find real rolex watches shops.....go to peoples'park of chinatown...there is a shop especially for rolex buyers only..
dont tell me the shop name is Peng KUi...that shop is not a Rolex AD...is a pre-own shop...

so far local Rolex AD i saw none of them sell Rolex only...they got other brands in shop too..
as long the watch not from Rolex AD you are taking your own risk...want safe/brand new just stick to AD...
see Rolex advertisement for their AD...

lostboi

mmm..my friend jus got another sea dweller his one serial number starts with D leh..from the same shop same price everything...
I check with the shop they say the alphabet doesn't mean the manufacturing date leh..anyone can clarify?

Nakedtoes

lostboi said:
mmm..my friend jus got another sea dweller his one serial number starts with D leh..from the same shop same price everything...
I check with the shop they say the alphabet doesn't mean the manufacturing date leh..anyone can clarify?

k still got that price??

benqhoo

lostboi said:
but D is 'Newer' than F....

benqhoo

boobip said:
just look at the value of take-in by used watch dealers year after year. My 2.5 year old Sub-date can already sell for $5.3k easily at watch dealers' now. $300 profit since I bought it used at $5k 2 months ago.

you bought 5K...
if now let go... watch dealer willing to take $5.3k...??? then how much they want to sell the watch again...???
pre-pre owned...???

Max_Control

have a question to ask u guys down here... i bought a rolex 6 years ago... but lost the "birth cert" when i shifted house... wanted to sell away but the shop request for the "cert" if not the pprice they offer is very low.. any idea if i can get the "cert"??

benqhoo

Max_Control said:
have a question to ask u guys down here... i bought a rolex 6 years ago... but lost the "birth cert" when i shifted house... wanted to sell away but the shop request for the "cert" if not the pprice they offer is very low.. any idea if i can get the "cert"??
go to Rolex center loh..ask for authentication..pay $75...if the watch ok/no problem...they will issue you a 'paper' to prove the watch...

dont think can get back the original cert...

lostboi

Nakedtoes said:
k still got that price??

got...let u know the shop...its lee chay from peninsula lah...find chris lor i deal with her..my friend always buy from her de...
anyway she told me this batch got F n D lor...and they all from the same batch no such things that D is newer than F ...i probably guess its a sales talk bah..anyway hack lah no choice since i'm already wearing it might as well let the matter rest lor...

if u wanna buy i think u can insist on D

lostboi

benqhoo said:
but D is 'Newer' than F....

ya i believe u lor...i think she jus wanna sales talk me out..but my friend got the D model today from her lor..think its realli a good deal cos many other friends also keen leh..

my that friend who bought from her sales that his corporate price from hour glass also cannot match wor..

Max_Control

benqhoo said:
go to Rolex center loh..ask for authentication..pay $75...if the watch ok/no problem...they will issue you a 'paper' to prove the watch...

dont think can get back the original cert...

oic... but will my resale be diff with or without that "paper"?? feel like trading for another one..

benqhoo

lostboi said:
ya i believe u lor...i think she jus wanna sales talk me out..but my friend got the D model today from her lor..think its realli a good deal cos many other friends also keen leh..

my that friend who bought from her sales that his corporate price from hour glass also cannot match wor..

1st watch with Letter D out around april/05 ba...

benqhoo

Max_Control said:
oic... but will my resale be diff with or without that "paper"?? feel like trading for another one..
go ask around with different shops/dealers loh...people said got cert can fetch better price...

but to me the cert not so important after the 2yrs warranty..
if the watch with cert but kana tainted...Rolex Center will reject for serving...so got cert also useless...

Max_Control

oic.... got any good place to recommend?? i tried some pawnshop and they willing to take in at 3.8k but i feel very low... :(

benqhoo

Max_Control said:
oic.... got any good place to recommend?? i tried some pawnshop and they willing to take in at 3.8k but i feel very low... :(
what model is the watch...???
how much you pay for it...??? the watch condition...how old...
check out the same model latest price loh...then compare the different...

you want try passions or monster-time and ask...

Max_Control

benqhoo said:
what model is the watch...???
how much you pay for it...??? the watch condition...how old...
check out the same model latest price loh...then compare the different...

you want try passions or monster-time and ask...

i cant recall the model coz now not at home.. watch condition is very very good 9.5/10 coz seldom wear... about 6 years old...

benqhoo

Max_Control said:
i cant recall the model coz now not at home.. watch condition is very very good 9.5/10 coz seldom wear... about 6 years old...
got to see the model and condition then can est. worth how much...
can see that 2 websites and compare their pre-own Rolex sellng price and est. the shop profit loh...then you decide worth to sell or not...

6yrs old about time to send for serving liao...heard say the serving fee went up to $300+...so the next owner most likely need to spend another few hundreds...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.