Tips on my FIRST PC?

colonel701

pcpartpicker(dot)com/user/colonel701/saved/PkLdnQ

What do you guys think of this? 2200SGD including operating systems from googoo.com.sg as i have absolutely no idea how to assemble my PC and i don't want to mess up. I'm also way too lazy to collect and assemble all the PC parts.

I'm a frequent gamer,i play at 1080p and i'm hoping for this computer to last me for the next 3-4 years on all different genre of games(FPS, MOBA, RPG etc) at ultra and sometimes high on future games with decent FPS (around 45-60 consistently).

Would the R9 280X be enough? Or do i have to go for the R9 290? I'm currently saving up and i'm on quite a tight budget, which is why i would prefer to opt for the R9 280X instead of the R9 290 or any of the intel series.

I'm quite worried that the R9 280X will make my room very warm as my room has no air conditioning. However, my desktop is right beside the window, will that eliminate the problem of my room getting too warm?

Another thing that worries me is whether my desktop case, the NZXT phantom 410, which is a mid-tower case, would have heating and noise issues.

I'm very inexperienced in PC hardware and customizations. Therefore, any help would be appreciated.

pcpartpicker(dot)com/user/colonel701/saved/PkLdnQ

What do you guys think of this? 2200SGD including operating systems from googoo.com.sg as i have absolutely no idea how to assemble my PC and i don't want to mess up. I'm also way too lazy to collect and assemble all the PC parts.

I'm a frequent gamer,i play at 1080p and i'm hoping for this computer to last me for the next 3-4 years on all different genre of games(FPS, MOBA, RPG etc) at ultra and sometimes high on future games with decent FPS (around 45-60 consistently).

Would the R9 280X be enough? Or do i have to go for the R9 290? I'm currently saving up and i'm on quite a tight budget, which is why i would prefer to opt for the R9 280X instead of the R9 290 or any of the intel series.

I'm quite worried that the R9 280X will make my room very warm as my room has no air conditioning. However, my desktop is right beside the window, will that eliminate the problem of my room getting too warm?

Another thing that worries me is whether my desktop case, the NZXT phantom 410, which is a mid-tower case, would have heating and noise issues.

I'm very inexperienced in PC hardware and customizations. Therefore, any help would be appreciated.

If your budget is tight then you can find other recommendations for lower budgets in this forum.

for me roughly 1.4k budget, the bros here suggested 280x also but with less powerful MOBO (B85 chipset) CPU (4460) PSU (650w) and RAM.

so your system seems a bit unbalanced, i.e. either get a better GPU or get cheaper alternatives for other components like CPU etc.

i am trying to apply what i learned on the forums here so please correct me if i am wrong.

colonel701

CPU: Intel Core i5 4690K 3.5GHz
MOBO: Asus Z97-A
RAM: Kingston DDR3 1600 CL 11 KVR16N11/8 8GB
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA3
SDD: ADATA SP900 128GB 2.5" SSD SATA III
GPU: MSI Radeon R9 280X GAMING 3G
OPTICAL DRIVE: Redundant i guess
CASE: NZXT PHANTOM 410
PSU: Seasonic X-750 750W
CPU cooler: Coolermaster Hyper 212X
TOTAL: 2.2k
prices can be found on gooogoo

colonel701

So, my system is unbalanced because my GPU is too weak compared to my CPU and PSU? I might be upgrading my GPU in the far future as it's harder to upgrade CPU, mobos etc. The reason i opted for a decent CPU and PSU is to ensure that i'm open for more upgrades. Please correct me if my concept is wrong.

yea bro, that's my reason for thinking that your system is unbalanced.

so with Z97 mobo and 750psu you are preparing to sli/xfire in future?

shadow84

Tbh, if u r lazy and nt willing to learn abt DIY, u r better off getting branded pcs. After ur purchase and if anything goes wrong, its all up to you to rectify liao. We can only do so much. At least with branded pc, u can bring whole system to them and ask them to rectify.

colonel701

I might SLI maybe 3-4 years from now when my GPU is really outdated and when the price for R9 280X has already dropped like crazy, in order to keep up with the latest games.

daniel798

WD black is kinda a waste for gaming. If you need fast storage, get a larger ssd. For mass storage, a red will do just fine.

colonel701

Tbh, if u r lazy and nt willing to learn abt DIY, u r better off getting branded pcs. After ur purchase and if anything goes wrong, its all up to you to rectify liao. We can only do so much. At least with branded pc, u can bring whole system to them and ask them to rectify.

googoo offers 3 year warranty and servicing.

shadow84

Sli/xfire in 3/4 yrs is redundant as single gpu may outperform it by then. Also, the card will not have warranty by then.

Just go for b85 mobo, i5-4460, 600-650w psu will do.

colonel701

WD black is kinda a waste for gaming. If you need fast storage, get a larger ssd. For mass storage, a red will do just fine.

The price difference for red and black is fairly low, so i opted for black. However, an SSD upgrade is super expensive, and is way out of my budget. ( 500gb SSD is going to set me back 500 bucks )

colonel701

Lol.. the googoo company so expensive ah? i think sim lim way cheaper leh

Yea, but sim lim doesn't help me physically assemble and no delivery. Also, if my computer breaks down or BSOD,idk what to do. I'm willing to pay extra $200 or so for their services.

FlyingNuggets

Well its up to you thou! $200 can get a nice kb or mouse.. If computer spoil ownself research lor.. at least can educate yourself and you can know more about pc.. Branded PC all ******** one afterservice so bad then the specs give you is pangsai specs...

colonel701

Aren't branded PCs super expensive with shitty specs?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.