Toshiba Notebook Users Thread

sadstarcul

surfers_ said:
I'm a satisfied M200-P430 user. :D

I just bought M200-P430. Overall it is good, but I feel the air coming out of ventilation port and the down left cornor of the keyboard gets hot. is my lappy a faulty one?

chenyaopeng

sadstarcul said:
I just bought M200-P430. Overall it is good, but I feel the air coming out of ventilation port and the down left cornor of the keyboard gets hot. is my lappy a faulty one?
i experience this too on my tosh laptop(not m200 though). esp when running many applications, it does tend to heat up a bit. but not so hot that it becomes unbearable. has been working fine for more then a yr. i guess this should be normal as long as it dosent affect you a lot. my ventilation port is also on the left just next to the keypad, so structurally speaking i wont be too suprised if the key are a bit warm due to the hot air passing through underneath, as it travels out from the vents..

Deceiver

chenyaopeng said:
yes no doubt tecra M5 is pretty draining on the batt especially on high performance settings. maybe you can try to adjust the settings lower when u get your new batt.

also laptop batts such as the li-ion ones used by tecra M5 have a limited life span.. theres only so far u can go with it. it'll die out one day after a long period of usage( ie. constant recharging and draining).. just a matter of time...

another way to conserve and lenghten the time span would be to take out the batt once it has been fully charge.. try not to leave it there while running on AC. can be quite damaging to the batt...

lastly it could just be that its a case of misfortunte that you've got a faulty batt. luckily you are still under warranty!

on low performance settings mine can clock abt 2 hrs plus like that..

btw where did u get yours? i got mine from the NUS notebook ownership scheme last year.
I got mine from NTU last yr..used for 9mths only.. my batt oso abt 2hrs only on low performance. find it not at all portable as batt life is low.. even at lowest settings as well as switching off all applications like cd-drive etc. 1 grouse i have is that sch laptops they always come pre-installed wif a lot of redundant software.. which slows the comp.

jhi_9319

How to recovery my Toshiba Notebook with the recovery disc?

I want know how to recovery my Toshiba Notebook with the recovery disc?
Can anyone help me please?

YuNk99

hi.. if u r using ur tecra m5, the recovery is pre-installed in your hdd... so u just need to press the on button together with 0 button and release the 0 button after you see the toshiba screen.... it will boot u thru the pre-installed recovery menu...tat s all i can help... hope it helps u..

buaysaikum

haha my m10 now the batt life quite bad...

bought it from nus 4++ years back...

right now if i run it w/o power adaptor plugged in, the batt will drop from 100% to 70% in 30mins... normal surfing only...

the batt's has got to go 1 day... sooner or later it'll be desk bound

donnyh

Bad

Look guys, if you are thinking of buying Toshiba Laptop, I can say u better pray anything that goes wrong happens before warranty ends. Because after your warranty ends, u need to pay $100 just to look at whats the problem. And I got a friend fan spoilt, spent $100 for diagnose, then they say need to change this change that total $800+. And then another friend send for repair, paid the $100, then they kept the laptop for 2 months and say no spares. Now its my turn, my keyboard spoilt, and I called the customer service hotline, havent say finish they transferred my call to their colleagues... And if I have to send it to let them "LOOK AT IT", i asked, I have to pay $100 for them to "LOOK AT IT"!!! So think again. The laptop may be good if nothing goes wrong. IF something goes wrong, after sales service is pretty bad.

chenyaopeng

donnyh said:
Look guys, if you are thinking of buying Toshiba Laptop, I can say u better pray anything that goes wrong happens before warranty ends. Because after your warranty ends, u need to pay $100 just to look at whats the problem. And I got a friend fan spoilt, spent $100 for diagnose, then they say need to change this change that total $800+. And then another friend send for repair, paid the $100, then they kept the laptop for 2 months and say no spares. Now its my turn, my keyboard spoilt, and I called the customer service hotline, havent say finish they transferred my call to their colleagues... And if I have to send it to let them "LOOK AT IT", i asked, I have to pay $100 for them to "LOOK AT IT"!!! So think again. The laptop may be good if nothing goes wrong. IF something goes wrong, after sales service is pretty bad.
oh my, that sounds bad man! u refering to toshiba data dynamics, their main service centre?

i had a problem with my motherboard before then wanted to sent it there. called up main serive centre and they told me have to wait at least 2 weeks. WTH man?! then, after some finding out, i realise that actually they have a service centre in NUS where i bought it. i think cater only to those who bought under the uni notebook ownership scheme. service was very fast and prompt. sent it in on a tuesday i remember, then they called me two days later on thurs and say can collect the next day. went to collect it without any probs on fri. was quite satisfeid i must say.

from what u've mentioned, luckily i didn't send it to the main service centre..

donnyh

Yeah, mine was from NUS too. Under warranty, u fix in NUS, service all those is all right. What's bad is after your warranty, where the com center in NUS cant help you anymore, and they have no choice but to refer you to the main hq at kallang. For my case, its just the keyboard problem and I seen ads selling at $50-$80, no way I'm paying $100 just to "LOOK AT IT" plus whatever the cost of the keyboard. Its so dumb, I'm like paying more for them to "LOOK AT IT" than for them to solve my problem.

On the other hand, my warranty lasted 3 years, and some may think 3 yrs for a lap top is so old, its about time it dies, but my tecra M2 is working almost perfectly fine except for the keyboard. I have no doubts about its performance, the product is good, its the service that's bad. I mean its ridiculous to demand $100 for diagnosis. Warranty ends in 3 years, by the time people look them up, their com would be > 3 yrs old. And those kind of laptops would worth around $300-$500? Adding the $100 diagnostic fee to the repair cost, sometimes you might be even making a loss.

eddy216

BengKia369 said:
I use a Toshiba M500 Core Duo version and my wife using a Toshiba M100 also Core Duo version. Very durable lappy as it can tehan 24 hours on!!!
How much did you pay for your M500 Core Duo?

sdayana

hey all...i am a super-satisfied user of toshiba satellite A-100..bought it at Sitex this year..no problems..yet.. :)

i got a tiny problem. need a spare ac adaptor to use at Uni. Anyone knows where to buy ? must i go to toshiba data dynamics? If anyone is selling it, please private msg me or post here?

thanks alot!

clementiboy

Hi bros, I have a Tecra 9100, bought way back in 2002 under the NUS notebook ownership scheme.

Been using it without major issues all these years, except for one time when I had to get my motherboard replaced a couple of years back at the Toshiba Service Centre in NUS.

Yesterday, the laptop started giving out whirring noises from the fan outlet area (on the top right hand corner if you look at the laptop from the top).

I shut it down immediately to let it cool down. The whirring noise is still there when I use the laptop this morning. The laptop is still functioning as per normal thought.

Can anyone tell me what the noise means? Do you think I can still bring it to the service centre in NUS to fix even though the warranty has expired (I dun mind paying)? Thanks!

donnyh

No u cant go NUS service center. I called before, after warranty, they cant order spares for you. If u wan ask them look for the problem only, that I dunno. But if can't i think go sls better.

clementiboy

ok, in this case, I better call the Toshiba Service Centre first thing tomorrow to see what they can do about it. Thank you!

thomsonlim

Just bought a M600 310 from COMEX yesterday. It was going for $1999, bundled with MS office 2007 and other freebies. Although its cheap, I'm still alittle disappointed that there's no 3rd year warranty and its not the latest CPU at T5300 and only a Vista Home Basic. Sigh....maybe i bought it on impulse but it certainly looked a good deal at that point of time. Anyways does anyone here knows how much does it cost to extend the warranty further to 3 years??

bolts

Been using a Tecra M2, then M5...Thinking of upgrading to a M9.

hayashi70

clementiboy said:
ok, in this case, I better call the Toshiba Service Centre first thing tomorrow to see what they can do about it. Thank you!
there has been a quality issue with Tecra 9100 fan. the sound u experience is from the fan itself. u will need to change the fan but its not going to be cheap lor... dun forget u still need to pay their service fee of $100.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.