tigerwoods

Samsung 840 EVO 120GB still working in my spare pc bought $120 many yrs ago

Now 1TB is less than $100 🥴

cybertech

Scary thing about SSD is can died without warning unlike mechanical disk at least will show some symptom like when got bad sectors the performance in read/write is obviously slow down. And worst part is difficult to do data recovery for SSD.
Not sure coincidence or not, I got 2 SSD that died and not able to recover data and both Transcend brand from my customers PCs past 1 year. Last year one was a 3 years old 256GB SSD and this year one was a one year old 512GB SSD. Both can do warranty claim at Convergent but users lost all their data stored in the SSD.

I bought 4x transcend ssd back in 2016, all still running fine.
I still have a decade old intel 320s 80gb, those mlc drive last forever 🤣
I too still have a decade old plextor m5 pro 128gb just that the size is too small to use nowadays...

tigerwoods

I bought 4x transcend ssd back in 2016, all still running fine.

I too still have a decade old plextor m5 pro 128gb just that the size is too small to use nowadays...
My Samsung 840 EVO 120GB is still good for Win10 and msoffice in my spare pc.

Viper0402

OMG send in on 20th, Memory World will send back to Taiwan for replacement to wait 4 weeks!

watzup_ken

OMG send in on 20th, Memory World will send back to Taiwan for replacement to wait 4 weeks!
I have a sense that Memory World parallel import their Transcend SSDs because as far as I am aware, Memory World is a shop, and not exactly a distributor.

In any case, it is normal to wait for repairs if there are no immediate stock to do an exchange. 4 weeks sounds pretty standard. I've ever waited 2 months to RMA a GPU that got sent back to Taiwan for repair. That's because after repairing, I am not sure if they tested before sending back. Tested at the distributors' site and it was not working, so got to send it back again. So ended up 4 + 4 weeks wait.

watzup_ken

My Intel X25 G2 160GB is still at 98% health after more than a decade. This drive was heavily used for more than 5 years as my OS and game installation drive. And yet people were very concerned about the longevity of SSDs at that point in time. :ROFLMAO:

Steyr69

Really heng suay one....my first SSD was Kingston A400 240GB. Bought from Shoppee via China seller.
3 months kaput. Already got signs when PC just hang and boot up got problem.
I thought is my PSU.

Kenna spook by this experience. I bought cheaper Aigo 128GB from TaoBao and use as boot drive nia.
Important data I store online or secondary HDD.
I don't play games so no need big SSD.
Now coming up to 1 year, Aigo drive still working. Unknown brand not really lousy.
Good reputable brand can also be lousy.
Depends on your luck one.

watzup_ken

Really heng suay one....my first SSD was Kingston A400 240GB. Bought from Shoppee via China seller.
3 months kaput. Already got signs when PC just hang and boot up got problem.
I thought is my PSU.

Kenna spook by this experience. I bought cheaper Aigo 128GB from TaoBao and use as boot drive nia.
Important data I store online or secondary HDD.
I don't play games so no need big SSD.
Now coming up to 1 year, Aigo drive still working. Unknown brand not really lousy.
Good reputable brand can also be lousy.
Depends on your luck one.
I would recommend avoiding brands like Kingston because they tend to multi source their SSD components. So assuming you buy 2 same drives at different times, they may not be the same.
In any case, electronic failure is not uncommon. So one should not conclude due to a single bad experience. From my experience, I observed a much higher failure rate on mechanical drives than SSDs. That single Intel SSD that I got more than 10 years ago outlasted all the mechanical drives I bought over the years. And this is not an edge case because my other drives may be 5 years or more as well. But the nature of NAND means that drives may experience sudden death.

cybertech

Whether Mechanical or SSD drives is always recommended to do a periodically full backup. For me I do full disk backup not just the data coz after all those weeks and months of fine tunning the applications settings running swee swee liao if one day the drive died and non recoverable, install back Windows and restore data from cloud backup not a big problem but to recall back all my pass application settings will be a big headache and time consuming.

Viper0402

I have a sense that Memory World parallel import their Transcend SSDs because as far as I am aware, Memory World is a shop, and not exactly a distributor.

In any case, it is normal to wait for repairs if there are no immediate stock to do an exchange. 4 weeks sounds pretty standard. I've ever waited 2 months to RMA a GPU that got sent back to Taiwan for repair. That's because after repairing, I am not sure if they tested before sending back. Tested at the distributors' site and it was not working, so got to send it back again. So ended up 4 + 4 weeks wait.
Link below, 2 distributors LISTED:
https://us.transcend-info.com/support/buyConvergent and Memory World

uncle_josh

bad-ctx-2.jpg

my intel 320 series ssd kena the bad_ctx issue.
but I manage to revive it.
now working great on my laptop

BlackWing1977

weird.. i tot usually ssd ppl go for brands like samsung, wd, kingston , adata. never ever heard of anyone using transcend lol
What about the common brand like Corsair, Crucial or even T-Group... (Which I saw they have some patented graphene sticker heat spreader.. though not sure how effective it is.. )

BlackWing1977

My Samsung 840 EVO 120GB is still good for Win10 and msoffice in my spare pc.
But even just OS only and some common software.. I keep running out of space also leh... dunno is it the space take up by browser cache.. everytime ccleaner would prompt me to clear quite a few GB...

BlackWing1977

Samsung 840 EVO 120GB still working in my spare pc bought $120 many yrs ago

Now 1TB is less than $100 🥴
Yeah Nvme Gen 3 can be around that price... Sata also have... but do we really want to run sata if we have Nvme slots...:sick:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.