Treasure Crest

windwaver

I see. Thanks for the info. Didn't know about it. Nan Chiau not easy to get in even if within 1km.

Bro, this is only the first step to get your kid to a good school. Once you stay within 1 km, then you must go for PV (parent volunteer) or become Grassroot leader to qualify for phase 2B. If you do not stay within 1 km to the school, even you grassroot or PV, proritywill be given to those who are.

I think once you have kids then you understand la....ha..ha..

Correct. My reservist mate (within 1KM) is a volunteer for a few years already and yet he says not 100% :s13:.

ecobuyer

Correct. My reservist mate (within 1KM) is a volunteer for a few years already and yet he says not 100% :s13:.

There are several factors at play.
For eg, if it is dragon year, competition may be stiffer for not just nan chiau but also other pri schools.

Anyway, there are many other pri schs in sengkang and punggol.

Believe the govt will set up more pri schools in sengkang if there are real demand.

Anyway, there are quite a number is sites reserved for educational institutes in sengkang. See ura masterplan n you will see all the sites set aside for educational institutes in sengkang.

kelvinangsw

singapore parents damn kiasu one.

but...... nan chiau is the best in that zone... not the best in SG.
don't say until like damn noble shift house la.
and even if you rank top 20 pri school, based on public consensus, i don't think NC will be inside.

those buy bukit timah, compete in henry park, nanyang, raffles girls,
buy beyond their means... for the tiny chance to enter those tier 1 schools,
to me, those are more noble.

You will be surprised at how crazy extent some parents can go. Before the new ruling takes place, one tenant actually rented a condo unit from my sister in law for 2 years just to let their kids go to rosyth primary school. They didn't even stay there for a night! The std rent is about $3000 per month that time. So they actually spent $72k just to secure a place for their kid in rosyth! 😵😲

windwaver

You will be surprised at how crazy extent some parents can go. Before the new ruling takes place, one tenant actually rented a condo unit from my sister in law for 2 years just to let their kids go to rosyth primary school. They didn't even stay there for a night! The std rent is about $3000 per month that time. So they actually spent $72k just to secure a place for their kid in rosyth! 😵😲

Every school is a good school :s13:

sk0065

Rosyth is Gep leh.
I am sure nyps and Henry park also will have such examples.

Nan chiau is tier 2 la

derong07

NW had ard 240 eapps. Sold 20 units. Conversion abt 8%.
TC has more than 1000 eapps. If can convert 20% at ard 200 units....i tink quite good liao. Tats almost 40% sold.

kelvinangsw

Rosyth is Gep leh.

Nan chiau is tier 2 la

Nan Chiau is still considered rather popular. I am sure there will be some parents to go for TC just to let their kids to go to the school la.

sk0065

Nan Chiau is still considered rather popular. I am sure there will be some parents to go for TC just to let their kids to go to the school la.

i know.
popular school = not easy to get in
super good school = not easy to get in

but cannot anyhow equate both ma.

if i need to stay there, i also will want my kid to go to the best school in that region.

ahyuansan

Let's discuss which stack you'll choose? Put aside for the price first. Share if you will be getting 3 room, 3 room premium or 4 bedrooms. Which floor are you considering and which stack is in your list? Share your reasons as well. :)

Kokky83

Let's discuss which stack you'll choose? Put aside for the price first. Share if you will be getting 3 room, 3 room premium or 4 bedrooms. Which floor are you considering and which stack is in your list? Share your reasons as well. :)

Will definitely be looking at stacks facing inwards like 23 24 depending on price

grix17

Rosyth is Gep leh.

Nan chiau is tier 2 la

GEP school doesn't mean GE syllabus. My kids are in there but do not seem to get any additional material from the GEP. There are other advantages though.

sk0065

GEP school doesn't mean GE syllabus. My kids are in there but do not seem to get any additional material from the GEP. There are other advantages though.

i know
not whole cohort is GEP

but i think you know more than me cos your kids are there. ( i only research and asked around)

what other advantages?
mixing around with smarter kids

grix17

i know
not whole cohort is GEP

but i think you know more than me cos your kids are there. ( i only research and asked around)

what other advantages?
mixing around with smarter kids

1) better teachers (experience/expertise)
2) schooling with 'smarter' kids - may be true but hard to verify - but parents more kiasu than those from neighborhood schools is definitely true
3) better programmes which filter down from GE branch to some regular classes (the better ones)

sk0065

2) schooling with 'smarter' kids - may be true but hard to verify - but parents more kiasu than those from neighborhood schools is definitely true
3) better programmes which filter down from GE branch to some regular classes (the better ones)

thanks. Very appreciative of the information provided.
strengthen my desire to want to send my kid there.

I will try to get in ... by steal/beg/ask/donate/grassroots/buy house/PV and etc.....

lets leave it this way la.

this thread is for treasure crest and nan chiau.

windwaver

2) I was in an elite class in school but sometimes it may be detrimental. What we learn in school may very well be the opposite of how we survive in the working world.

It's especially tough for kids that grew up in an elite environment to adjust to 9 other people when you are the odd 1 out most of the time.

sk0065

2) I was in an elite class in school but sometimes it may be detrimental. What we learn in school may very well be the opposite of how we survive in the working world.

It's especially tough for kids that grew up in an elite environment to adjust to 9 other people when you are the odd 1 out most of the time.

elite class in neighbourhood school
or
elite class in elite school?

very different

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.