Understanding NS liability for PRs

gnail80

I understand your viewpoint. I have two comments.

One: This question is not for me, it is for my baby. Right now he is not of an age at which he can understand that I am accepting PR for him on his behalf. Therefore I want to fully understand what liabilities I AM PLACING ON HIM.

If the SG government were to tell me, for instance, that my accepting PR would mean I have to serve NS then as an adult I can make that decision. But for my baby it would be HIS TIME AND FREEDOMS that I have forsaken. So I must ask the question. To not ask is stupid!

Two: To live in a country and pay taxes sounds fair and right to me. I have no problems doing this. However NS is one step further. It is to defend that country with your life - presumably against some foreign power. Now there are two issues here:

a. A citizen would NATURALLY WANT to defend his or her country against foreign invaders as said country would probably comprise his family, his properties, his livelihood. NS for citizens makes sense because it is a collective approach to the individual natural want. But would a PR have that same natural want? A PR may have much of his family still in his natural land. What incentive does he have to defend, with his life, a foreign land?

b. If foreign invaders were from the same country as a PR then would a PR do his best to defend his country from the foreign invader?

Your point 2 is really damn **.. Machiam your tax is really bigger than an ox cartwheel. KNN

addysim

U pay tax, we sinkies no need pay tax?
U PR, we sinkies protect you, your kids, your cpf, what have you done that sinkies can't do your job? Big Fart?
Your kids can choose NS, can we sinkies choose not?
If can, I also want be FT, enjoy yet still complaint.

Sofero

Your point 2 is really damn **.. Machiam your tax is really bigger than an ox cartwheel. KNN

At least put two cherry saved babies.
This one think his tax bigger than saving babies. :vijayadmin:

firezero10

One: This question is not for me, it is for my baby. Right now he is not of an age at which he can understand that I am accepting PR for him on his behalf. Therefore I want to fully understand what liabilities I AM PLACING ON HIM.

If the SG government were to tell me, for instance, that my accepting PR would mean I have to serve NS then as an adult I can make that decision. But for my baby it would be HIS TIME AND FREEDOMS that I have forsaken. So I must ask the question. To not ask is stupid!

Two: To live in a country and pay taxes sounds fair and right to me. I have no problems doing this. However NS is one step further. It is to defend that country with your life - presumably against some foreign power. Now there are two issues here:

a. A citizen would NATURALLY WANT to defend his or her country against foreign invaders as said country would probably comprise his family, his properties, his livelihood. NS for citizens makes sense because it is a collective approach to the individual natural want. But would a PR have that same natural want? A PR may have much of his family still in his natural land. What incentive does he have to defend, with his life, a foreign land?

b. If foreign invaders were from the same country as a PR then would a PR do his best to defend his country from the foreign invader?

I am a citizen. I don't care whether Singapore is destroyed or not. I only care about me and my loved ones well being. I have no love for the country. I am staying here just because in current status, it is the best place to be in for me and my loved ones. If war really happens in Singapore and I have the opportunity to escape with my loved ones, I would gladly do that.

Now, I just can't stand having to sacrifice MY time and effort to do NS and there's someone out there having 2 more years of opportunities regardless of merit. This is why I hate leeches like you and will try to stop these practices within my abilities(Stirring sh1t and voting wisely).

Scared-Stiff

If you don't have what it takes to fulfill your national duty, don't even take up a PR in the first place. When you took up PR, all the facts were already presented. Nobody is hiding the fact that your child will have to serve NS. Now after taking PR status, you want to renege on the deal? That is intentionally breaking the contract that you have signed and is fraudulent.

As i've said before this. I am asking the question to understand the liabilities. It is not my intention to renege/default on my liabilities.

If, as someone else has said here, age 16 is the maximum age before which you can give up PR without the NS liability then, it would NOT be illegal and fraudulent to have renounced PR before this age.

fmb108

a. No, there is no incentive. Your son will have more responsibility and less subsidy than citizen. Better go to Australia, New Zealand or USA where the benefit are almost equal.
b. Let the authority worry about it.

Vitus213

If you take on PR status, then you are already enjoying the benefits of a PR status and so will your child, who will enjoy subsidized education, hospitalization etc. The moment your child is born, he has already been enjoying the benefits of his PR status. What is fair is that he does his duties to his nation. Income tax is just one of those duties, the other one is national service. If everyone evades taxes, what will become of the country? Will we become like Greece who end up selling their islands and the public assets to Germany? Similarly, if everyone evades NS, will Singapore end up giving up our sovereignty to a foreign country?

If you don't have what it takes to fulfill your national duty, don't even take up a PR in the first place. When you took up PR, all the facts were already presented. Nobody is hiding the fact that your child will have to serve NS. Now after taking PR status, you want to renege on the deal? That is intentionally breaking the contract that you have signed and is fraudulent.

I have tried to be very patient and tactful but it seems that only the words of my literate fellows in this forum will get you to understand. If you and your family cannot fulfill your national duties, just f**k off. Email ICA, tell them that you cannot fulfill your obligations as a Singaporean PR and just go back where you came from.

Absolutely agree. These FT scums are starting to climb on top of our head. This guy is on the next level. He is thinking of enjoying all the privileges and doesn't want to serve what that is obligated. I wouldn't be this piss if he revoke his PR status now and be sent home to your scumland developing country. Know where you stand. Seriously this guy, are u that dumb to even ask that question in this forum ?

oration37

TS, your son has got to be the citizen of some country while being a PR of another right? If every country needs to serve NS, you won't be asking the questions in your first post.

That is, your fundamental intention is to evade NS for your son, and has got nothing to do with being citizen, or having your families here or where, or taking one step further to serve NS or whatsoever.

Ask yourself this, your family will be here for at least 16 more years (i.e. till your son grows up). Are you going to volunteer for NS so that you can protect this land which your family reside on?

Shion

Senior Mentor

Just fk off from this place

talk so much for what ?

if u dun want yr child to serve then fk off faster, dun waste our resources

Sofero

As i've said before this. I am asking the question to understand the liabilities. It is not my intention to renege/default on my liabilities.

If, as someone else has said here, age 16 is the maximum age before which you can give up PR without the NS liability then, it would NOT be illegal and fraudulent to have renounced PR before this age.

If ICA never give u this option when you take up PR, means dont have such option. If its not stated in b&w means dont have. Dont have jiu dont have keep asking smlj?
You think play age of empire got hidden cheat code HOYOHOYO issit???:vijayadmin:

gnail80

To see you try to justify your intention and motives really make Ppl more Tulan. **** back to your slum country!

Dixon.

for TS,

ask your kid to serve..
PR here, had no choice since young. 2nd gen.

5 more ICTs to go...

megafortress

u wanna rebut then rebut the whole post la. dont pick our just this paragraph to rebut. nothing to say against other points other people pointed out is it?

just admit it, you are just looking for a free ride for your kid until 16 years old.

Shion

Senior Mentor
My baby has got approval for his PR application. He will be obliged to do NS when the time comes.

Can anyone help answer the following:

Should he decide to give up his PR will the NS liability still remain?

That is, is there an age before which he must give up the PR in order to avoid NS liability, or is the liability enforced from birth?

I cannot seem to find any specifics on the ICA website. Also I cannot reach ICA by phone, number not working! :-/

Any help is much appreciated.

NO MORE..............

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.