Understanding NS liability for PRs

Asphodeli

As i've said before this. I am asking the question to understand the liabilities. It is not my intention to renege/default on my liabilities.

If, as someone else has said here, age 16 is the maximum age before which you can give up PR without the NS liability then, it would NOT be illegal and fraudulent to have renounced PR before this age.

Hmm with border security getting more and more high-tech, I won't be surprised if they are able to pull up a person's historical naturalisation records based on thumbprint, retina scan, facial recognition, etc.

BTW, tons of other 2nd-gen PRs have served, what makes you so special to even consider for your son to not take up arms for the country he's indebted to?

firezero10

As i've said before this. I am asking the question to understand the liabilities. It is not my intention to renege/default on my liabilities.

If, as someone else has said here, age 16 is the maximum age before which you can give up PR without the NS liability then, it would NOT be illegal and fraudulent to have renounced PR before this age.

I like your thinking and if I am in your shoes, I would do the same. However, I am not in your shoes(Yes, I am jealous) so please go and **** yourself.

clementiboy

oh lookie here we have a foreigner who is trying to get his son to siam NS by kay siao kay siao ask about NS liabilities.

talk about leeches. TSK

Vitus213

Its really sad to see all these FT asking for such absurd request on the forum. I am enlisting next year after my tertiary education and knowing the fact i am serving my country whole-heartedly to protect people like these is just heart wrenching. KNN

Belle69

Free loader should be kicked out.

Its an insult to all who done NS.

johnlzr

I am weighing the pros and cons of the option of accepting. I do not KNOW if we will renounce PR. I only want to see the whole picture before deciding. No need to make assumptions.

Since you came here for advice. I will try to be neutral. Let me put on my Jobs for FT, NS for Stinkie thinking hat and give you advice.

My advice for you is to renounce your PR for your whole family. If you want to continue working in Singapore, please do so as an EP holder. This way you don't have to feel guilty about taking benefits without contributing to the country and still enjoy the safety and security provided by Singaporeans who sweat, bled and even died for this country.

TLDR: Best approach is to renounce PR for the ENTIRE FAMILY. If you want to continue working here, please do so as an EP holder.

Belle69

This is the wrong forum to ask. Try the Singapore expat forum

Correct. That rabid website they give all types of slimy excuses why they are not "Quitters".

And how they "make a good place better".

Bugger off! we are already No.1 before you came here!.

xiaowhois

send ur son go do sex operation lo~ become daughter than dont need worry about NS/PR

lip_84

Looks like TS is a troll with the words in Caps. We are not talking about legality and crime here, we are talking about morals + ethics. Whatever benefits you will be getting as a PR is coming out of taxpayers :s22:

Sofero

BTW, tons of other 2nd-gen PRs have served, what makes you so special to even consider for your son to not take up arms for the country he's indebted to?

he waiting for angry ang moh to scold him in the train ma.

Belle69

Oh I see, you want my precious son to defend your off-spring during conflict.

You think Singaporeans are stupid?

firezero10

Plot twist: TS ish actually opposition IB inciting hatred towards FTs.

Some-one

Looks like TS is a troll with the words in Caps. We are not talking about legality and crime here, we are talking about morals + ethics. Whatever benefits you will be getting as a PR is coming out of taxpayers :s22:
In SG where got such things call moral and ethic? Whatever you do must follow law, then it is not wrong liao...:s13:

oration37

Free loader should be kicked out.

Its an insult to all who done NS.

Too bad, these are the kind of "talents" our country accepted in the past 10 years.

During my NS, my sergeant is also son of a PR. His dad set up a business successfully in Singapore and got his son to serve NS so as to show gratitude.

I know Dr Lap Chan (http://epd.sutd.edu.sg/faculty/lap-chan/) who strongly encouraged his son to serve NS as well, and his son made it to OCS. Dr Chan is an american citizen and has worked in Chartered Semicon for nearly 20 years.

My good friend from Uni also served NS but somehow didn't convert his PR-ship to citizenship. His dad shifted base from Malaysia to Sg and my friend grew up in Singapore.

These are the real talents, joined Singapore in the '80s and '90s, and they understand what is gratitude.

Crooni

the legal way is, your child must keep own country citizenship all the way.
inform ica and mindef your kid is renouncing pr by 11. so immigration may switch to dependent pass, or deny living in sg. yes got ppl kid live in johor but everyday go sg study.
technically 13 is the cutoff age, but you must not collect any benefits (i.e. school/healthcare/etc subsidies) from 11.
renounce liao then go apply study pass or work permit when kid grow up and want to hang around sg.

the not-so-legal way is, keep pr all the way, but when kid kanna ns, make noise about immigrating and renouncing citizenship. not so good chance of getting released (though i saw a couple of cases ppl serve 2-3 months then immigrated out). not good chances getting any sg work visa in the future, but can return for holiday.

the illegal way, is keep pr all the way. send kid to overseas uni at 16. ns letter come act blur ignore. can also forget about coming back sg for anything, unless you're a pianist or something.

learn from expatforums one. they got all sort of story there.

wait... why are you getting pr in the 1st place if you don't want pr in the 1st place? :s22:

Litmuss

Pls stop giving advice to this prick who only knows how to take from Singapore but not give back to Singapore.

Ohayo!

why blame TS?

our current PAP govt is the one who allowed loopholes

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.