UniFi Setup | Dream Machine

BradenHeat

My dream is to buy a UniFi dream 😺

lol mai lai, whats stopping you from deploying it ? haha :s13::D

in all seriousness,

one UDM + at most one NanoHD via 1 single LAN cable extension to the main corridor for any 4 rm and above [ 2 levelmaisonettee ] might be even possible

lol anyone staying in landed with UDM or UDM pro with nanoHD care to share those performance :o=:p

LoneTraveller

lol mai lai, whats stopping you from deploying it ? haha :s13::D

in all seriousness,

one UDM + at most one NanoHD via 1 single LAN cable extension to the main corridor for any 4 rm and above [ 2 levelmaisonettee ] might be even possible

Bro, just 1 nanohd located outside the 3 bedroom will cover the whole of a normal 5 room bto with 5 bars liao. No need udm. Been using that in my new 5 room bto for 7 to 8 months liao. 😁😁😁

TanKianW

Ubiquiti makes good switches. But their USG and UDM......meh~~~

I know they have a lot of supporters.....their marketing is excellent. But to be honest, they are still for consumer who want all in one, some pro but non-full featured solutions. Full of promises on pro features but really still missing a lot. For more advance features, there are better solution out there like ROS, OPNsense, pfsense.

https://youtu.be/SD5Np_jXukg

spudmessy

I’m having serious consideration to get a UDM. Can it be configured for a dual Wan setup ? Singtel + MR.

BradenHeat

Bro, just 1 nanohd located outside the 3 bedroom will cover the whole of a normal 5 room bto with 5 bars liao. No need udm. Been using that in my new 5 room bto for 7 to 8 months liao. 😁😁😁

Depends lor,

Still better to have one UDM the minimum as it’s very flexible and versatile

Although what you say is correct, problem lies in the average house there’s no fix layout which we can “cookie cutter”

If just one normal router and LAN it with nano, feels wasted imho

I’ve played with mesh and LAN before , still feel that the PL is the way to go for most , if cabling is a issue or cost is a problem

Though I doubt I can afford 4 room of decent size unless I win lottery :s13:

Posted from PCWX using iPhone12,5

BradenHeat

I*********m having serious consideration to get a UDM. Can it be configured for a dual Wan setup ? Singtel + MR.

Sadly , it’s only 1 Wan

If you need dual, Asus is the way to go bruh.

Unless the fiber modem has it which I’ve limited know how sorry bout that man

xiaofan

TanKianW

I’m having serious consideration to get a UDM. Can it be configured for a dual Wan setup ? Singtel + MR.

I am running dual wan, Singtel + MR. MR at failover and load balance, Singtel at failover.

I direct default VLAN to MR, other misc VLAN (Wifi, IOT, CCTVs) to Singtel.

Z96xUsp.jpg

I am running pfsense on a custom m-itx box. You can get a mini pc from taobao and run it too. Get at least 4GB of ram. Beat most OTS routers/gateway on the market.

BradenHeat

I am running dual wan, Singtel + MR. MR at failover and load balance, Singtel at failover.

I direct default VLAN to MR, other misc VLAN (Wifi, IOT, CCTVs) to Singtel.

Z96xUsp.jpg

I am running pfsense on a custom m-itx box. You can get a mini pc from taobao and run it too. Get at least 4GB of ram. Beat most OTS routers/gateway on the market.

Nice

M-it’s from Taobao cost how much at that time ?

Just the SG and dual Wan or ?

TanKianW

Nice

M-it’s from Taobao cost how much at that time ?

Just the SG and dual Wan or ?

I am using my old LGA1155 down-clocked 2500K CPU, DDR3 RAM I use back my left over 8GB, the board cost less than $150 when i bought it 2 years back. It is an Gigabyte board.....i think it is a GA-H77N.

The board comes with dual LAN from Realtek. It is supported by pfsense but performance might not be as good as intel. Therefore I change it to an intel 4-port giga NIC I bought less $200 from taobao. If you using pfsense, get a really good intel NIC.....really worth it!

BradenHeat

I am using my old LGA1155 down-clocked 2500K CPU, DDR3 RAM I use back my left over 8GB, the board cost less than $150 when i bought it 2 years back. It is an Gigabyte board.....i think it is a GA-H77N.

The board comes with dual LAN from Realtek. It is supported by pfsense but performance might not be as good as intel. Therefore I change it to an intel 4-port giga NIC I bought less $200 from taobao. If you using pfsense, get a really good intel NIC.....really worth it!

lol, wow, thats alot of work man. Kuddos for the information bruh. intriguing:s12:

moron+genius

Just replaced existing AP wif nanohd, removed it from controller accidentally now Controller can’t Find it, how to scan and add it back? nanohd is in steady blue and devices connected to it all working fine. Appreciate any help. Thanks.

giraffey

Just replaced existing AP wif nanohd, removed it from controller accidentally now Controller can’t Find it, how to scan and add it back? nanohd is in steady blue and devices connected to it all working fine. Appreciate any help. Thanks.

I guess you would need to do a reset of the nanohd. Once reset, the device should appear as pending adoption in the controller.

BradenHeat

https://dl.ubnt.com/guides/UniFi/UAP-nanoHD_QSG.PDF

Haha I did this to my UDM before for bad beta firmware ,

There’s a strict local address to be entered and you can flush the firmware to factory from ubiquity site

But that’s for my UDM

Not sure if nanoJD is the same

mrkiasu

If you know how to telnet, you can SSH in via the SSH user name password in your controller setting page.

Go in the nanoHD and set-inform to your controller.

Or else press and hold the reset on the nanoHD for 20 seconds

These 2 ways are the easiest.

There are harder ways but not worth to try.

mrkiasu

Not for AP.

Entering the device IP only works for routers, cloud key so far.

https://dl.ubnt.com/guides/UniFi/UAP-nanoHD_QSG.PDF

Haha I did this to my UDM before for bad beta firmware ,

There’s a strict local address to be entered and you can flush the firmware to factory from ubiquity site

But that’s for my UDM

Not sure if nanoJD is the same

moron+genius

Dunno telnet n Already fixed on ceiling and May haf difficulty bring it down 2 reset... was hoping for A network scan to discover it and adopt back. Find ubiquiti kind of hassle to use. My network r switch off every nite so next day nanohd was shown as disconnected in controller so I tot I can forget it and add back easily but didn’t expect this hassle. Sighz
If you know how to telnet, you can SSH in via the SSH user name password in your controller setting page.

Go in the nanoHD and set-inform to your controller.

Or else press and hold the reset on the nanoHD for 20 seconds

These 2 ways are the easiest.

There are harder ways but not worth to try.

mrkiasu

Yes, cos when they plan their product its meant for commercial use and doesn't really switch off.

Whenever you switch off, the device heartbeat will take a while to come back to the controller.

If already fixed and hard to take down, please use telnet to adopt back to your controller. Don't need to reset your controller.

Dunno telnet n Already fixed on ceiling and May haf difficulty bring it down 2 reset... was hoping for A network scan to discover it and adopt back. Find ubiquiti kind of hassle to use. My network r switch off every nite so next day nanohd was shown as disconnected in controller so I tot I can forget it and add back easily but didn’t expect this hassle. Sighz

Vulpix

Why are you switching it off every night? You barely save anything on your utility bill.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.