Unit Trusts

limster

Need to take note that US Equity is very peak now.
I am treating this UT portfolio as an 'experiment' and learning experience. Some say all you have to do is to blindly put your money into low cost index funds every month, don't care about whether the market is 'high' or 'low', sure make money.

Theory is one thing, executing the strategy by putting your hard-earned cash into it is another, so I hope to 'learn' and 'earn' something from this. 😅

Andrew833

I am treating this UT portfolio as an 'experiment' and learning experience. Some say all you have to do is to blindly put your money into low cost index funds every month, don't care about whether the market is 'high' or 'low', sure make money.

Theory is one thing, executing the strategy by putting your hard-earned cash into it is another, so I hope to 'learn' and 'earn' something from this. 😅
By right, UT is for long term, just buy and forget but if you look at your UT performance chart, recently is very steep upward, so need to be careful as your buying price is considered high too.
UT can made money, I have done it a few times. I sold almost all as I think there will be a crash or big correction.

2021 I brought Franklin US Opportunities Fund $26.49 per unit. Now $31.55
And LionGlobal Infinity US500 stock index fund $2.8790 per unit. Now $4.415

wutawa

By right, UT is for long term, just buy and forget but if you look at your UT performance chart, recently is very steep upward, so need to be careful as your buying price is considered high too.
UT can made money, I have done it a few times. I sold almost all as I think there will be a crash or big correction.

2021 I brought Franklin US Opportunities Fund $26.49 per unit. Now $31.55
And LionGlobal Infinity US500 stock index fund $2.8790 per unit. Now $4.415
different types of ut work differently.
equity ut and etf are for long term.

wutawa

I am sure u can earn from this.
by sharing your experiment, I hope we can learn from this too, thanks.

wutawa

- line chart instead of table
- % instead of value
- added new sg div ut (-1%, orange dot)
- remove gold ut (-22%) from chart to make the other ut look nicer

aaa.jpg
- sold all gold ut (-22%)
- sold all sg div ut (1.8%)
- sold half of income fund ut
- asian growth ut capital increases to $24
- only world index ut (oa) rises

Crq8Iyb.jpg

sohguanh

I think gold rebounding, wasted to cut loss.
You must think the other way from the day cut loss the monies I put to other lobang is green color and then count from that day till today how much is used to offset the earlier loss. Gold has become like stocks liao very surprising for me.

Andrew833

You must think the other way from the day cut loss the monies I put to other lobang is green color and then count from that day till today how much is used to offset the earlier loss. Gold has become like stocks liao very surprising for me.
I prefer to average down or up.
Gold because of AI topic that's why trade like a stock.

sohguanh

I prefer to average down or up.
Gold because of AI topic that's why trade like a stock.
Ok noted on your strategy. For me I hold to this belief Never fall in love with any investment. Investment definition is broad and in this case Gold.

wutawa

- sold all gold ut (-22%)
- sold all sg div ut (1.8%)
- sold half of income fund ut
- asian growth ut capital increases to $24
- only world index ut (oa) rises

Crq8Iyb.jpg
- sold all income fund ut (-1.7%)
- all ut falling
aaa.jpg

limster

LGTCNPr.png

update 2 months later. I have upsized the position as the market continued to climb, so my average buying price has gone up and the % return has dropped a lot.

luckily the absolute $ gain has doubled from $1.6k profit to $3.6k. this can pay for my year-end holiday 💲

in order to reach FI, you need to have good % returns but you also need a large enough position size to get $ returns. :cool:

lovYmAj.png

BkB2MUN.png

September update on my Experimental Unit Trust Portfolio

Some say all you have to do is blindly buy index funds every month, sure make money. I created an experimental unit trust portfolio in April to see if it is true and I will report every 2 months.

For September, $$$ return going up, but average price is going up and percentage return going down.

marcoyeo

pbieCl1.png

I started Poems UT last year, I gradually moved from Endowus to Poems.
  • MSCI World A12S is purchased regularly using SRS funds.
  • While Prime USA is purchased during crashes period (e.g. Liberation Day).
  • CPF-OA is lump sum buy 1 to 2 times a year.

Andrew833

pbieCl1.png

I started Poems UT last year, I gradually moved from Endowus to Poems.
  • MSCI World A12S is purchased regularly using SRS funds.
  • While Prime USA is purchased during crashes period (e.g. Liberation Day).
  • CPF-OA is lump sum buy 1 to 2 times a year.
Why you move Endowus to Poems?
I have both but only use Endowus to buy UT.

Andrew833

endowus you have to pay platform fee to buy Amundi unit trust?
I didn't buy Amundi. I brought and sold Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund, Infinity U.S. 500 Stock Index Fund and Schroder ISF Greater China Fund. Only fund fee, fund fee also have cash back.

JetStorm

I meant to say have in Spore broker apps oops that time no mobile only browser internet era selling not we go outside of Spore buy.

And also US lost decade start around 2000 - 2010 so interest sure damn low like now China lost decade so many complaints cannot make monies.
Last time call... then upgrade to email. Before online trading was a thing. remember emailing my broker what I want to buy they reply me same day with confirmation.

limster

I didn't buy Amundi. I brought and sold Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund, Infinity U.S. 500 Stock Index Fund and Schroder ISF Greater China Fund. Only fund fee, fund fee also have cash back.
Marcoyeo's screenshot shows Amundi funds. if you only own Amundi funds Poems > endowus because no platform or other fees.

Andrew833

Marcoyeo's screenshot shows Amundi funds. if you only own Amundi funds Poems > endowus because no platform or other fees.
Endowus charges an all-in advisory and access fee ranging from 0.15% to 0.60% per annum depending on your portfolio type and asset size, with no separate hidden platform or wrap fees.

Endowus Fee Breakdown (Singapore)
    • Cash — Long-Term Wealth Portfolios: Tiered from 0.25% to 0.60% p.a. based on your total Cash Assets Under Advice (AUA).
    • Cash Smart (Short-Term Cash Management): Flat rate of 0.15% p.a.
    • Fund Smart (Single Fund / Multi-Fund): Single-fund portfolios cost 0.30% p.a. (or lower depending on your cash tier); multi-fund cash portfolios follow your standard cash tier (0.25%–0.60%).
    • CPF and SRS Portfolios: Flat 0.30% p.a. for single-fund/flagship OA portfolios, and 0.40% p.a. for multi-fund portfolios (CPF/SRS tiers do not combine with cash).
    I think different is advisory and access fee, not much to me.

limster

Endowus charges an all-in advisory and access fee ranging from 0.15% to 0.60% per annum depending on your portfolio type and asset size, with no separate hidden platform or wrap fees.

Endowus Fee Breakdown (Singapore)
    • Cash — Long-Term Wealth Portfolios: Tiered from 0.25% to 0.60% p.a. based on your total Cash Assets Under Advice (AUA).
    • Cash Smart (Short-Term Cash Management): Flat rate of 0.15% p.a.
    • Fund Smart (Single Fund / Multi-Fund): Single-fund portfolios cost 0.30% p.a. (or lower depending on your cash tier); multi-fund cash portfolios follow your standard cash tier (0.25%–0.60%).
    • CPF and SRS Portfolios: Flat 0.30% p.a. for single-fund/flagship OA portfolios, and 0.40% p.a. for multi-fund portfolios (CPF/SRS tiers do not combine with cash).
    • I think different is advisory and access fee, not much to me.
I currently have $100k in Amundi World, Amundi USA, and Amundi Emerging market.
According to Endowus Website I will pay 0.60% or $600 a year
Poems I pay $0 a year

If I have $500k in Amundi World, Amundi USA and Amundi US
Endowus I pay 0.5% or $2,500 a year.
Poems I pay $0

What benefits do I get from Endowus in return for paying this versus Poems? :cool:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.