UOB one card

Trazora

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
23,331
Reaction score
1,205
I paid my income tax via Cardup last week, and uob confirmed that MCC was 7399 thus not eligible. They told me all 7399 transactions are now excluded.

That dun make sense since the exclusion is not in the TnC. Please do yourself a favor and log a dispute with MAS.
 

highsulphur

Greater Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
77,910
Reaction score
40,410
That dun make sense since the exclusion is not in the TnC. Please do yourself a favor and log a dispute with MAS.

I just called regarding my ipaymy tax payment made yesterday. CSO said not excluded according to the list.
 

maumu

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2000
Messages
11,749
Reaction score
2,741
I paid my income tax via Cardup last week, and uob confirmed that MCC was 7399 thus not eligible. They told me all 7399 transactions are now excluded.

that's very wrong for the CSO to say. there's no new TnC released (no email, no SMS, nothing) and the current one did not include 7399 as being excluded.

did you get black and white? or just verbal?
 

fone

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2002
Messages
5,183
Reaction score
19
MCC 7399 is now excluded from earning UOB ONE CARD cash rebate. Checked with 2 different CSOs and was told the same answer. Cardup transactions under 7399 also not eligible. Anyone aware of this?

Quite lucky of you to get 2 different CSOs to tell you the same thing, on something that is not published in the T&Cs. Or were you so lucky to get the same CSO, twice in a row?

“Yes we are in the mist to update the T&C on our public website”
Replied by one of the CSOs when being questioned that such clause not stated in the latest TnC.

I paid my income tax via Cardup last week, and uob confirmed that MCC was 7399 thus not eligible. They told me all 7399 transactions are now excluded.

The last time I challenged their T&C, they updated the T&C to explicitly exclude my case, almost immediately (after giving me benefit of the doubt for that 1 case). How can they be so slow to update T&C, if 7399 are supposedly NOW excluded, at least 1 week ago.
 

gocy06

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
that's very wrong for the CSO to say. there's no new TnC released (no email, no SMS, nothing) and the current one did not include 7399 as being excluded.

did you get black and white? or just verbal?

I used live chat and saved the screenshots
 

gocy06

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Quite lucky of you to get 2 different CSOs to tell you the same thing, on something that is not published in the T&Cs. Or were you so lucky to get the same CSO, twice in a row?





The last time I challenged their T&C, they updated the T&C to explicitly exclude my case, almost immediately (after giving me benefit of the doubt for that 1 case). How can they be so slow to update T&C, if 7399 are supposedly NOW excluded, at least 1 week ago.

Different name according to UOB live chat, and different communication style. First CSO said 7399 has been excluded since May, while second could not answer when 7399 was excluded.
 

highsulphur

Greater Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
77,910
Reaction score
40,410
Of course not! They told me that my cardup transaction together with 2 grabpay top-ups are all under 7399, and all 3 transactions are excluded.

Ok now we see what's the problem!

Grab topup is excluded no matter what's the merchant code.

What did you use cardup for?
 

Trazora

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
23,331
Reaction score
1,205
Different name according to UOB live chat, and different communication style. First CSO said 7399 has been excluded since May, while second could not answer when 7399 was excluded.

Think the two CSO are just misinformed. They cannot say a mcc is excluded if it is not stated so in the TnC.
 

highsulphur

Greater Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
77,910
Reaction score
40,410
Think the two CSO are just misinformed. They cannot say a mcc is excluded if it is not stated so in the TnC.

Is it possible for income tax under ipaymy to be included while income tax under cardup is excluded?
 

fone

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2002
Messages
5,183
Reaction score
19
Different name according to UOB live chat, and different communication style. First CSO said 7399 has been excluded since May, while second could not answer when 7399 was excluded.

Edited:
Just tried the chat service and asked where this particular CSO is located. In Kuala Lumpur. Not sure how trustworthy are the chat agents, on these info. I've gotten bad experience from Amazon.sg chat/call center, based in India, cannot perform a simple task and dare to argue with me against the facts (with black and white proof).

This CSO also claims all cardup is excluded. After challenging CSO with T&C, CSO came back, saying MCC 7399 is not within their "eligible list". Claims this is a "top-up". No answer when pushed with which specific clause CSO is referring to, within the terms and conditions. Or if they can send me this "eligible list", and if this list is published, vs published terms and conditions (ie, which one is more legal). Just say will refer to product manager and get back to me.

Seems like poorly trained overseas CSOs to me, just repeating some generic credit card term, instead of product specific terms. (Like SQ call center, even if overseas, I always try to get the SIN call center, I don't trust their India call center or even US-based ones). Nothing cause for concern for MCC 7399 to me, since terms and conditions have nothing against this MCC or other "top-ups" other than grab top up.
 
Last edited:

maumu

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2000
Messages
11,749
Reaction score
2,741
My ipaymy payment to IRAS last month was under 7399 as well, but it did count towards eligible spend.

fyi, you can only see the eligible spend amount for May in the June statement which will only be shown in July...

silly but that's how they do it.
 

gocy06

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
fyi, you can only see the eligible spend amount for May in the June statement which will only be shown in July...

silly but that's how they do it.

No need to wait, just call them in June and they can tell the eligible spend amount for May.
 

maumu

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2000
Messages
11,749
Reaction score
2,741
Edited:
Just tried the chat service and asked where this particular CSO is located. In Kuala Lumpur. Not sure how trustworthy are the chat agents, on these info. I've gotten bad experience from Amazon.sg chat/call center, based in India, cannot perform a simple task and dare to argue with me against the facts (with black and white proof).

This CSO also claims all cardup is excluded. After challenging CSO with T&C, CSO came back, saying MCC 7399 is not within their "eligible list". Claims this is a "top-up". No answer when pushed with which specific clause CSO is referring to, within the terms and conditions. Or if they can send me this "eligible list", and if this list is published, vs published terms and conditions (ie, which one is more legal). Just say will refer to product manager and get back to me.

Seems like poorly trained overseas CSOs to me, just repeating some generic credit card term, instead of product specific terms. (Like SQ call center, even if overseas, I always try to get the SIN call center, I don't trust their India call center or even US-based ones). Nothing cause for concern for MCC 7399 to me, since terms and conditions have nothing against this MCC or other "top-ups" other than grab top up.

just had a chat with CSO over the phone (should be Singaporean by her accent). she said that they are still in the process of updating the code / exclusion list but indeed since mid-May, there's been some changes. she seems aware about this cardup thingy and said she will get back to me again...

idk why the bank is making it so difficult to be transparent. while checking with her i accidentally discovered another transaction (in May) ended up not eligible because of change in classification back in September 2019 and ended up in the exclusion list. if i didn't call in, i might not know until i get my June statement next month (to see May's eligible spend).

it's getting really messy. will be a challenge to keep to the 'rules' if they keep changing goal post. hope to hear some positive news from her when she calls back.
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.
Top