US help.

care5bear

Hey guys, what airlines you took? anyone tried China Eastern Airlines ? the tickets seems to be running cheap in the websites.

The last time i was in SF, took SIA but claim company. this time round i'm thinking of doing a trip in Dec to NY, Rochester but yet to decide which airlines to take.

Anyone can advise?

Think i might need to buy a travel book soon... :p

Erwinlow

Basically what you pay for lor, you pay so cheap, don't expect that much.

I took China Airlines the other time. Can't complain much since I paid 1.3k return.

Think Tripadvisor has a website dedicated to airline reviews...check that out.

care5bear

Basically what you pay for lor, you pay so cheap, don't expect that much.

I took China Airlines the other time. Can't complain much since I paid 1.3k return.

Think Tripadvisor has a website dedicated to airline reviews...check that out.

Thanks dude.. i've been checking online for its review, some say good some say not good.. dont know which one to trust.

how's the seats? i understand that if i pay peanuts i get peanuts. I am ok with no in-flight entertainment & stuffs but worried about the leg room part. Afterall its a long haul, trying to make myself comfortable as much as i can afford...

genie47

Long haul flights usually have in-flight entertainment with a few exceptions. There was an American on my return flight via ANA. He was surprised with the food and the entertainment. I think he usually few AA or United which have none or have to pay for the food served to you. At the end, he says AA and United sucks compared to ANA. :s13: I think most Asian airlines even China Eastern are miles ahead of AA or United.

BTW, if you are taking internal flights in the US, check out Virgin America. Friend said when boarding he was surprised because the plane was more like disco. :D

derazor

Bros,

First trip to US - West Coast. Pls advise if the following is do-able or am I too adventurous. What should the sequence to be like? Planning to take up open jaw ticket if it's slightly expensive. Cheers.

Summary

San Francisco (4 days)
- Alcatraz
- Fisherman’s Wharf
- Pier 39
- Chinatown
- Union Square
- Palace of Fine Arts
- Lombard Street
- Golden Gate Bridge
- Legion of Honor
- Domaine Carneros Winery @ Napa Valley
- Gilroy
- Yosemite (prob skip)

Vegas (4 days)
- Hoover Dam
- Grand Canyon (South Rim?)
- Horseshoe Bend (is it near Grand Canyon?)
- Antelope Canyon (Too far?)
- Desert Hills Premium Outlet (on the way from Grand Canyon?)
- The Strip: Bellagio fountains, MGM, Atomic Testing museum, Treasure Island show etc. Need to check what performance/shows to watch

Los Angeles (5 days)
- Hollywood
- Kodak Theatre
- Griffith Observatory (best place to see Hollywood sign? Anything else to do there? Skip or go?)
- Universal Studios (1 day)
- Disneyland (2 days)
- Sea World (1 day)

From San Francisco, should we drive to Las Vegas or Los Angeles? We have not booked our tickets, thinking of flying back from LA if there’s promotion for open jaw tickets. If not, will take domestic flight from LA/LV back to SF for return flight to SG.

Plan is to go 13-15 days, buffering traveling time. We’re thinking of driving where possible. Pls advise on above itinerary and best possible driving routes between the states.

alexljy

Derazor - Based on your itinerary:

SF -
-4 days is abit short to do all that you said.
-Yosemite is a 4 hours drive from SF and back, probably even need to stay 1 night to see much stuff
-Napa valley is usually a day trip - I did it from 9am - about 6pm with about 4 vineyards with a car
-If you are driving, Gilroy can be done together on your trip down to LA, but if you are already visiting Desert Hills, I suggest you just skip it all together, not worth, desert hills is enough.
-From my visit a few weeks ago, it's possible to do Pier 39/Fisherman's etc etc, all in 1day, provided you don't spend too much time shopping in fisherman's wharf

Las Vegas
- Hoover dam + whatever rim of Grand Canyon can be done together. West rim is about 4hrs, south rim longer a drive, so depends on how early you intend to set off. I left vegas at 8am, reached back at about 9 (Remember sunset is around 8.30 in the summer, so depends on when you are coming + grand canyon is actually 1 hr behind vegas due to it being in arizona, so can gain some extra viewing time)
- Horseshoe bend and Antelope canyon are rather far from the South Rim and Hoover, so if you want, you need another day to do that

Desert Hills
- The premium outlet is not near vegas at all. There's a Las Vegas north outlet
- It's actually nearer to Los Angeles, since it's near palm springs around 1.5hrs drive
- I have been to 4 outlets since I was here, this is the nicest and with the most things

Los Angeles
- Hollywood + griffinth is doable in half a day if you are fast, or maybe 1 full day if you want to do beverly hills as well
- The themeparks looks nice time wise, but do note that Seaworld is actually in San Diego - a good 2 hrs drive from LA, so you may consider staying a night there. What I suggest is staying in Anaheim for the Seaworld day, or even San Diego if it's cheaper. San Diego has some pretty nice mexican and italian food.

Some general stuff about driving:
-Driving from SF - LA is about 6hours by I-5(boring route) or 8 hours by 1/101 (Scenic route). If you think of doing I-5, I suggest you just fly, since it's much more worth it.
-Driving from LV - LA is about 4 hours provided you get no traffic jams, if not about 6 hours
- You don't really need to drive in San Francisco, it's actually a hassle to drive in the city for both LA and SF + parking is insane
- If you intend to book cars from City A to City B, use priceline/breezenet and get cars from National or Alamo, they dun charge drop fees, which can be 200-300 dollars
- If you are renting a car for more then 5 days, and need GPS, just buy one, it's alot cheaper. Amazon has some refurbished sets for like 40USD. I tried driving without GPS before, can be done, but prepared to get lost.

genie47

Bros,

First trip to US - West Coast. Pls advise if the following is do-able or am I too adventurous. What should the sequence to be like? Planning to take up open jaw ticket if it's slightly expensive. Cheers.

Summary

San Francisco (4 days)
- Alcatraz

Take the night tour. Book from www.alcatrazcruises.com
- Fisherman’s Wharf
- Pier 39

Combine this into one but food at Fishermans Wharf is the pits. Better food elsewhere. Go there ssrr is best. Don't buy souvenirs from there. Better from Walgreens. Usually cheaper.
- Chinatown
- Union Square

Very near to each other. If you are strong, fit and the kids are not with you, you can walk Chinatown and Union Sq in one day. Heck I walk from Pier 33 (Embarcadero) to Union Sq.

- Palace of Fine Arts
Unless you are arty farty, give this place a miss but if you are, great treat.

- Lombard Street
Just a small street. Take the Cable Car Powell/Hyde Line up to the top and then walk down to the bottom and then take Cable Car Powell/Mason Line back to Union Sq or continue to the end and shop at the Cost Plus World Market.

- Golden Gate Bridge

This one the options to see it are plenty. You can walk on the Golden Gate Bridge. But the best vantage point is on the other side. If you drive the road is usually opened. The time I went the road was closed! :( This is Hendrik Point.Else there is an overlook called Vista Point. View is not very good.

Else there is the Marine Dr where you can get access to Fort Point. Yes, you can walk to where Fort Point is but after 5pm they will close the gate to Fort Point.

- Legion of Honor
Didn't go to the Legion of Honor but Napa can be boring. Check out the restaurants at Yountville. I went to Bottega but the one next door is even more satki and kilat! Forgot the name but Yountville is nothing but restaurants!

In short, since Napa Valley is up north and you will have to take the Golden Gate Bridge to go over. Combine this excursion but you may have to leave Legion of Honor out. Rent a car just for a day and return it the same night or next day. As for the photo opportunities, sun rise or sun set is up to you. Sun rise for GG will be foggy. Sunset will be nice with the lights.

- Gilroy
- Yosemite (prob skip)

No time for Yosemite. Better skip.
Vegas (4 days)
- Hoover Dam
- The Strip: Bellagio fountains, MGM, Atomic Testing museum, Treasure Island show etc. Need to check what performance/shows to watch

Hoover dam is not nice to visit actually. Security is very tight but if you want a great view of the dam, see it at night. Yes, see it at night. If your camera can take it, the view of the dam looks very scifi at night.

South Rim is very far from Vegas. If you are going in summer I recommend North Rim but that will mean you have to book accommodations out of Vegas. Either Kanab or Mt Carmel. The drive from Kanab which is the nearest to the North Rim will take 2.5hrs. North rim will close in Oct onwards.

Horseshoe Bend can be reached easier than the North Rim provided you stay in Kanab. If you stay in Page, even better. As my other thread has revealed, the morning with its rising sun is best to take the pictures of this river feature.

Antelope Canyon is freaking expensive. It is on Indian land. It is holy to them and you pay very high price to just go there and max out your camera's abilities. Good place to stay is Page, AZ to be there. Tours are very limited as well.

Los Angeles (5 days)
- Hollywood
- Kodak Theatre
- Griffith Observatory (best place to see Hollywood sign? Anything else to do there? Skip or go?)
- Disneyland (2 days)
- Sea World (1 day)

From San Francisco, should we drive to Las Vegas or Los Angeles? We have not booked our tickets, thinking of flying back from LA if there’s promotion for open jaw tickets. If not, will take domestic flight from LA/LV back to SF for return flight to SG.

Plan is to go 13-15 days, buffering traveling time. We’re thinking of driving where possible. Pls advise on above itinerary and best possible driving routes between the states.

Why not take multi-city flight?

What airline you intend to take? ANA allows me to book multicity and I think United as well.

Land SF. You can fly to LV using a domestic flight. Rather cheap. I flew with Southwest but a great experience can be gotten with Virgin America. :D

Then from LV, fly to LA. Then finally using the original carrier you have flown in to SF to fly back to SG from LA.

Leave the hard touring of UT and AZ. I think easier to drive and not so boring with the scenery.

Erwinlow

derazor: Think you wont be able to cover all those in SF. Gilroy is about 2+hours drive from SF city. I stayed a night there. Shopping was good there. Nothing else but shopping and food. In n Out Burger and Applebees there too.

xtwis7

Bros,

Summary

San Francisco (4 days)
- Alcatraz
- Fisherman’s Wharf
- Pier 39
- Chinatown
- Union Square
- Palace of Fine Arts
- Lombard Street
- Golden Gate Bridge
- Legion of Honor
- Gilroy
- Yosemite (prob skip)

Vegas (4 days)
- Hoover Dam

Los Angeles (5 days)
- Hollywood
- Kodak Theatre
- Disneyland (2 days)
- Sea World (1 day)

SF: Basically you can see whole of SF within 2 days excluding Gilroy and Napa Valley.

Vegas: My friends and I drove from LV to South Rim which can be a long drive especially at night when directions are out of sight within the Canyon Village. I think you'll get a magnificent view from the North Rim as well. The outlet in the North of LV is pretty decent actually and I must say it's not the outlet but the season that you're going. I was in Woodsbury yet they didn't have as much stuff as LV outlet. I suppose it's all sightseeing and no gambling? Check out Cirque du Soleil's 'O' - a water-themed show. No regrets. 4 days in Vegas + Canyon is definitely very tight. I would suggest cut down stay in LA and stay longer in LV.

stormcontrol

1) just how long is the drive from LV to Grand Canyon National Park (South Rim). Research seems to indicate a 6 hr journey (!), just seeking confirmation from forummers who have driven this journey.

If really that long... abit sayang but i may consider dropping GC from my LV itinerary... don't want my wife and parents to die inside the car...

2) Anybody visited Napa Valley towards the end of November round Thanksgiving? Got anything to see/do considering it's late fall and (seemingly) past harvest season?

genie47

1) just how long is the drive from LV to Grand Canyon National Park (South Rim). Research seems to indicate a 6 hr journey (!), just seeking confirmation from forummers who have driven this journey.

That is why I went to the North Rim. Provided you are there from Jun to late Sep. It is nearer and you still need to setup base at one of the towns preferably Kanab or Mt Carmel Junction.
If really that long... abit sayang but i may consider dropping GC from my LV itinerary... don't want my wife and parents to die inside the car...

Take helicopter? :D Maybe a propeller plane flight over the GC?

2) Anybody visited Napa Valley towards the end of November round Thanksgiving? Got anything to see/do considering it's late fall and (seemingly) past harvest season?

Can't help you here.

googol

Any suggestions on how to carry cash for a US trip? Convert and carry from here itself or carry sing $ and convert in US?

is it better to carry or just use citibank atm card to withdraw cash in US

proletarian

Any suggestions on how to carry cash for a US trip? Convert and carry from here itself or carry sing $ and convert in US?

is it better to carry or just use citibank atm card to withdraw cash in US

i wld go for the citibank atm way if you don't want to carry much cash with you or pay the credit card surcharges; i was told the exchange rate will be displayed on the atm screen before you agree to withdraw your cash.

xtwis7

i wld go for the citibank atm way if you don't want to carry much cash with you or pay the credit card surcharges; i was told the exchange rate will be displayed on the atm screen before you agree to withdraw your cash.

No, not for citibank. But if you do have a citibank account, withdrawal is free overseas so you save on the withdrawal fee. But still citibank atms don't show you the exchange rate at point of withdrawal.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.