US help.

devilish_me

What type clothing is suitable in new York on middle nov?

usually temperature around that time would be between 40-50F (shouldn't be snowing yet till dec)....so you gauge for yourself how much you need to put on since different people have different tolerance for cold. for me, usually just jeans and maybe 2 t-shirts underneath+fleece hoodie would suffice. but say if you are out in the water in a ferry...then a windbreaker would come in handy. easiest will be to layer....if too hot, then remove your layers....and bring an extra layer in your bag to put on if too cold. always good to have a windbreaker with hood or a raincoat in your bag. i like sweaters with warm deep pockets to put my hands in if they are cold. i don't like gloves 'cos i keep losing them and i don't function well when wearing them. if you don't have a hoodie sweater...you might wanna get a warm hat. a scarf too if your sweater don't cover your neck.

sumsum80

Just to check, my 2 days of stay at LA is near to Disneyland, hence I will use 1 day to play at Disneyland. However, the next day, I am free. Any recommendation to spend the next day which is near my hotel area? I am not driving.

Telur17

Can I go there stay with u?:(

must travel quite far to reach Manhatten wor. time wasted might not be worth it for u. Oso, I don't have a spare bed leh. haven't got around to buying an airbed yet.

aiyoh, do it over PM leh..
ppl in big apple cam be beri lich leh.. 200-400K a yr income maybe he can even pay for your hotel!

:( I wish I've such an income. Then I can stay in Manhatten itself. Have to travel an hour just to get to work everyday leh. oso, childcare costs are so high. can take big chunk out of our income. :(

still slowly reading this thread to get tips as I'm noob to USA :(

patryn33

:( I wish I've such an income. Then I can stay in Manhatten itself. Have to travel an hour just to get to work everyday leh. oso, childcare costs are so high. can take big chunk out of our income. :(

still slowly reading this thread to get tips as I'm noob to USA :(

U stay in USA still a noob? how long U been there? always working hard?

childcare cost is high, how many kids do u have?
depending how much 1 makes, sending 2-3 kids to childcare = 1 parent staying at home should 1 only makes ~$50K a yr. u only gain freedom.

if u like some ang mo, send kids to private school and the childcare u burn $$$ super fast.

Telur17

U stay in USA still a noob? how long U been there? always working hard?

childcare cost is high, how many kids do u have?
depending how much 1 makes, sending 2-3 kids to childcare = 1 parent staying at home should 1 only makes ~$50K a yr. u only gain freedom.

if u like some ang mo, send kids to private school and the childcare u burn $$$ super fast.

I just moved here leh. Not even here for 1 month yet so qualify as noob? :o

ya, just checked with daycare associated with my company. Infantcare is almost $1700 per month n toddlercare is almost $1600 per month :eek: like this, tink 1 person stay at home better! :crazy:

patryn33

I just moved here leh. Not even here for 1 month yet so qualify as noob? :o

ya, just checked with daycare associated with my company. Infantcare is almost $1700 per month n toddlercare is almost $1600 per month :eek: like this, tink 1 person stay at home better! :crazy:

that really cost a bomb if it is USD, SGD that still normal by US standards! can put a max of 3K aside and that is tax deducible, but with that also not worth it. mu friends in Baltimore only pay ~US$200 a week, of course he got to provide diapers and wet tissue.

depending how much U make, more than 2 kids 1 person stay at home is the best. Daycare feed the kids cheapo food, some exercise no control and U have to remind them do that or do that constantly like every week!

Telur17

that really cost a bomb if it is USD, SGD that still normal by US standards! can put a max of 3K aside and that is tax deducible, but with that also not worth it. mu friends in Baltimore only pay ~US$200 a week, of course he got to provide diapers and wet tissue.

depending how much U make, more than 2 kids 1 person stay at home is the best. Daycare feed the kids cheapo food, some exercise no control and U have to remind them do that or do that constantly like every week!

everything in USD. :crazy: But donno if good for hubby to stay home too long oso. Maybe should look for a nanny... anyway, u want, we chat in pm bah. A bit OT le. :o

dennissinned

anyone interested in a garmin nuvi 205W gps with preloaded usa maps? if so do pm me for more information!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.