US help.

jackieatbtu

I have booked with grand-adventures.com for 22nd Oct. I took up the south rim. Their reviews are pretty good so i hope everything turns up well.

Currently in san fran. Weather at its best. Heading to Lake tahoe tomorrow.

I will be there from 21st till 22nd, staying overnight at Bright Angel. I booked Grand Canyon Tours though cause they have transportation only options. Going to SF on Thursday! So excited. :s13:

califonia

How much are you looking to buy? I think I might have over bought for my coming trip. Do PM me amount and rate. Btw, I will be away for this week. May not have access to internet.

If anyone has USD and wanna change to SGD can PM me...
I need some as going to US soon....

Thanks a lot .....

califonia

Yes yes!!! I will be staying a night in GC. 2 days to south rim. Where do you think I should drive to for best view in Dec.?

I see from map there is an entrance to south rim via its visitor centre. Some advised me to join the day tour???

The answer is always "south rim". The west rim is a bit of a letdown in comparison.

Shiny Things

Yes yes!!! I will be staying a night in GC. 2 days to south rim. Where do you think I should drive to for best view in Dec.?

I see from map there is an entrance to south rim via its visitor centre. Some advised me to join the day tour???

If you've got two days at the south rim, you can drive all the way along it from Grand Canyon Village to Cameron (check your map). It's a fantastic drive with lots of great stopping points. Then from Cameron, it's a quick blat back down the road to Flagstaff, and from there it's pretty quick back to Las Vegas. (Watch for snow, though - it may well get snowy in December. And if you do get snow, be prepared to pull over and stop and let it pass.)

paul02

Back from my NYC trip!

I have a T-Mobile SIM (for USA use) which I got from critical888 over here which expires on the 25th of this month.

Any takers? At my convenience of course.

Remaining 10 days of Unlimited everything in the USA on this SIM.

Any takers?

donut33

I am going to Eastern USA in December and am a little worried on the Ebola outbreak. Aren't you guys worried?

lcpteck

I am going to Eastern USA in December and am a little worried on the Ebola outbreak. Aren't you guys worried?

At least it's not as easily transmitted as SARS, cause SARS is airborne. There's only a couple of cases in Dallas, Texas due to the sick patient.

Just take the usual precautions like what you do everyday.

I maybe going to Washington DC/Maryland in mid March.

patryn33

I living here and maybe traveling to Dallas in nov, bouncy here is in dallas traveling... Hmm

Shiny Things

Heck no.

It's not that contagious in the first place. You basically have to get puked on by someone who's showing symptoms - not just incubating the virus, actually showing symptoms.

The only people who've had it in the USA are three people in Dallas - two of whom were medical professionals treating the first guy. To give you an idea of how far away that is, Dallas to NYC is pretty much exactly the same as Singapore to Hong Kong.

So basically there's nothing to worry about; come on over here and have a great time. (Just don't go to Dallas - not because of Ebola, just because it's kind of boring. Austin's a lot more fun.)

acetylcholine

If I am heading to New York in the second half of December, should I buy my winter clothing in Singapore or in the US? Not sure if winter clothing (eg, down jackets) is cheaper in the US?

I have an old set of winter clothing that will be able to last me till I get to a decent shop in New York (assuming it's more worthwhile to purchase there). Otherwise, I will just look out for upcoming sales in Singapore.

Glad for any advice. Thanks! :s22:

critical888

get something to start u off at uniqlo in singapore, innerwears(heattech), jackets, etc. Than go there lots of outlet u can grab some cheap and good clothings.. buy some heatpack to put in pocket or stick to clothes to keep warm , try daiso..

Telur17

If I am heading to New York in the second half of December, should I buy my winter clothing in Singapore or in the US? Not sure if winter clothing (eg, down jackets) is cheaper in the US?

I have an old set of winter clothing that will be able to last me till I get to a decent shop in New York (assuming it's more worthwhile to purchase there). Otherwise, I will just look out for upcoming sales in Singapore.

Glad for any advice. Thanks! :s22:

its much cheaper to get in NY. Even uniqlo is cheaper over here. variety is also much better here so you have more choice.

If you feel your current set is good enough, then I would just use that first till you reach NY and can go shopping. make sure you layer with long sleeve, sweater etc

swatchie

its much cheaper to get in NY. Even uniqlo is cheaper over here. variety is also much better here so you have more choice.

If you feel your current set is good enough, then I would just use that first till you reach NY and can go shopping. make sure you layer with long sleeve, sweater etc

Is Uniqlo really cheaper in NY? Last I looked a month ago, it was about the same price as SG iirc.

Telur17

Is Uniqlo really cheaper in NY? Last I looked a month ago, it was about the same price as SG iirc.

it is leh. normal price items in NY are cheaper than items on sale in SG the last time i compared women items.

Just checked and menswear is also cheaper here. Eg. men ultra light down is usd69.90, currently on sale at 59.90. give exchange rate of 1.3 (x 69.90), works out to be sgd90.87. Uniqlo SG shows $99.90.

If you hoot the sale items in NY, the savings is even greater. Oso SG got GST. NY no sales tax on clothing

There is no longer sales tax on clothing and footwear costing under $110. Clothing and footwear costing $110 or more per item is subject to the full 8.875 percent tax rate.
source: Sales Tax Information | City of New York

But Uniqlo SG having sales on some heattech items. Can buy some so won't freeze if suay and kena polar vortex in Dec :o

noob_boy

I will be in US for a week.. are there any sim cards with data plan that are catered to tourists?? can anyone advise? thanks!

paul02

it is leh. normal price items in NY are cheaper than items on sale in SG the last time i compared women items.

Just checked and menswear is also cheaper here. Eg. men ultra light down is usd69.90, currently on sale at 59.90. give exchange rate of 1.3 (x 69.90), works out to be sgd90.87. Uniqlo SG shows $99.90.

If you hoot the sale items in NY, the savings is even greater. Oso SG got GST. NY no sales tax on clothing

source: Sales Tax Information | City of New York

But Uniqlo SG having sales on some heattech items. Can buy some so won't freeze if suay and kena polar vortex in Dec :o

Agreed! Things in NYC are cheaper! At least for me it's generally SGD15-40 cheaper than prices you'd get in Singapore.

critical888

First time i am going to NYC this december, didn't know canada nigara fall is so far away.. still thought so near

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.