Using E-gate MegaThread

Edwin85

I have used egates for the past 2 trips to Msia, however I went in JB via motorcycle yesterday. The MY counter guy when I entered was looking for chops for my previous trips and asked if I used egate. So if there's entry record on their system, and they don't see the stamp, what does it mean?

beanstalk6

I have used egates for the past 2 trips to Msia, however I went in JB via motorcycle yesterday. The MY counter guy when I entered was looking for chops for my previous trips and asked if I used egate. So if there's entry record on their system, and they don't see the stamp, what does it mean?
It means Imigresen is satisfied. You entered Malaysia successfully, no?

BTO_Brah

Upcoming trip Sunday having enrolled last month.

Let's see if the autogates work!

Edwin85

Yeah entered successfully. But just find it strange that they were looking for the previous entry chop. Those who had only one chop are even more at risk to be questioned.

It means Imigresen is satisfied. You entered Malaysia successfully, no?

BTO_Brah

Upcoming trip Sunday having enrolled last month.

Let's see if the autogates work!
Report:
Saturday checked the MDAC site and massive red

xrQ7N9C.png

notice in response to my passport # and already-booked trip dates. Pui! However, I am well-versed in the ways of MY and know that actually nothing means anything that side. Try lah!

Sunday:
10:10 AM Take CW6 out of Boon Lay and smoothly cross Tuas and the bridge. Land at MY arrival side about 10:41. MASSIVE queues of allied South Asian nationals who are the spice in the S'pore mix stacked up and twisting in more than 4 rows until spilling out of the doors because only 2 manual counters open and even more buses arriving besides! SGDS if this thing doesn't work I am feezarkked for at least 1.5 hrs.

First try the regular M'sian autogate. Scans! My passport #, name all there. But..."Go to counter" on screen. SSGDS.

Go up to the counter: "Maaf tuan. Kali terakhir saya datang saya enrol di MDAC, tapi saya hanya mencuba pintu tak jadi."

Bored looking agent: "Di sana encik", points at where the old MACS 1.0 gates used to be.

"Ohhh di sana, maaf maaf"

Go over to the right and concealed from my view by the piles of angry and suspiciously staring BELOVED FRIENDLY PEOPLE were the shiny new autogates which actually looked even better than the MY citizen ones on the left.

Scan passport, beep-boop, gate opens smoothly! Huat Ah! I am sure the queue behind was very happy for me.

Today:
Buddy came in by car and joined me for lunch. Obviously since I am unstamped for coming in, I better not go out with him and get stamped, causing innumerable problems forever on future trips, so I asked him to give me a lift until here on the highway:

nu0uBmE.jpg

Jumped down and 跑路 on the LHS until the security checkpoint for the buses. Cannot walk past that point on foot, but MALAYSIA BOLEH so the next bus which was stopped at the checkpoint happily let me on, with no bribes required for either the polis or the driver (I have seen many, many ppl chut this pattern before).

200m more and the bus drops me at the immigration, this time don't act blur and go straight right to the autogate, opens no issue. Jumped back on the CW6 and made restaurant to Jurong West in less than an hour.

Summary: MDAC confirmed working 2nd link side. Go far right for the autogates!

Jaydenlsz

Enrolled for egate usage as per instructed however i wasnt eligible to use the egate.
Turns out the reason for that was because i converted my citizenship from malaysia to singapore.
Anyone experienced the same thing? and is there any way to get this sorted out? People at the immigration seems to be saying that nothing can be done about it and i just have to stick to manual counters.

hwsstx

Enrolled for egate usage as per instructed however i wasnt eligible to use the egate.
Turns out the reason for that was because i converted my citizenship from malaysia to singapore.
Anyone experienced the same thing? and is there any way to get this sorted out? People at the immigration seems to be saying that nothing can be done about it and i just have to stick to manual counters.
You are not the only one given that reason but I've successfully registered anyway & there were no issues on my subsequent entries & exits - I'm sure others were in similar situations.

At which part were you rejected/unsuccessful in registration - on the spot by the Officer when you first applied or trying to use E-Gate?

I was told by the Officer on the day I applied that my application may not be successful due to the same reason but since then I have been using E-Gate for many months already. He didn't reject me on the spot, but just told me the possibility of rejection, & proceeded to submit my application (I assume).

If the Officer accepted your MDAC application for the day & took your finger prints, without any rejection, then try using the E-Gate the next time (but make sure you submit MDAC prior).

Also sometimes the E-Gate isn't very efficient & may reject you. As long as your passport info appears (or don't appear) on the screen when you scan your passport, & if you get rejected by the machine, then try other machines. I suggest those at the right side of the Immigration Hall.

All the best.

Jaydenlsz

Hello thanks for the reply!

Glad to hear that I'm not the only one who experienced this.

When I registered/enrolled/verified at the manual counter, there was no issues. No rejects, no notice of the need to register again etc. I did it with a bunch of friends who all have no issue. To add on, after the immigration officer chop my passport, he wrote down a string of numbers. After entering JB, i checked with my friends and some of them did have the same string of numbers written beside the stamp too.

Unlike your situation whereby the officer told you about the possibility of getting rejected, I was not told that I'm unsuccessful. During my next visit, I attempted to use the e-gate, assuming that I've registered and enrolled for it, but the screen just kept indication verification error. I was told to try at the other set of e-gates(on the left), but to no avail and was redirected to the counter instead. That was where I was told that I've been blacklisted in the system.

Any idea on what could be the issue and what should I do to ensure a successful registration the in the next attempt to enroll?

Much thanks in advance.

hwsstx

Hello thanks for the reply!

Glad to hear that I'm not the only one who experienced this.

When I registered/enrolled/verified at the manual counter, there was no issues. No rejects, no notice of the need to register again etc. I did it with a bunch of friends who all have no issue. To add on, after the immigration officer chop my passport, he wrote down a string of numbers. After entering JB, i checked with my friends and some of them did have the same string of numbers written beside the stamp too.

Unlike your situation whereby the officer told you about the possibility of getting rejected, I was not told that I'm unsuccessful. During my next visit, I attempted to use the e-gate, assuming that I've registered and enrolled for it, but the screen just kept indication verification error. I was told to try at the other set of e-gates(on the left), but to no avail and was redirected to the counter instead. That was where I was told that I've been blacklisted in the system.

Any idea on what could be the issue and what should I do to ensure a successful registration the in the next attempt to enroll?

Much thanks in advance.
Just to be clear, did you submit MDAC, within 3 days of arrival, before your 1st attempt at the E-Gate? If you did not, then this may be the reason for the Verification Error. You must submit MDAC, within 3 days of arrival even if you have successfully registered/enrolled (at the manual counter) for MACS v02. Every time you want to use E-Gate MDAC must be submitted 3 days prior to arrival.

Being blacklisted is a different thing than being converted to SG from MY. Blacklisted depends what MY has info on the person with the same name as yours. One person shared that he had the same name as a felon on a wanted list.

Jaydenlsz

Just to be clear, did you submit MDAC, within 3 days of arrival, before your 1st attempt at the E-Gate? If you did not, then this may be the reason for the Verification Error. You must submit MDAC, within 3 days of arrival even if you have successfully registered/enrolled (at the manual counter) for MACS v02. Every time you want to use E-Gate MDAC must be submitted 3 days prior to arrival.

Being blacklisted is a different thing than being converted to SG from MY. Blacklisted depends what MY has info on the person with the same name as yours. One person shared that he had the same name as a felon on a wanted list.
Hi yes I did submit my MDAC for both visits within 3 days of arrival. Maybe blacklisted was a bit too strong of a word to use, but was simply quoting what the officer said. They mentioned the system rejected my name and I was 'blacklisted' and the reason for the rejection was because of my change in citizenship.

For now, I'm not sure what could be the real reason of the enrollment being invalid but I guess I can try again and hopefully it is successful.

hwsstx

Hi yes I did submit my MDAC for both visits within 3 days of arrival. Maybe blacklisted was a bit too strong of a word to use, but was simply quoting what the officer said. They mentioned the system rejected my name and I was 'blacklisted' and the reason for the rejection was because of my change in citizenship.

For now, I'm not sure what could be the real reason of the enrollment being invalid but I guess I can try again and hopefully it is successful.
Yes try registering again at the counter after a lapse... hopefully all will be fine this time round.

In the meantime submit MDAC & try again at E-Gate whenever you go to JB.

Good luck

yobyella

200m more and the bus drops me at the immigration, this time don't act blur and go straight right to the autogate, opens no issue. Jumped back on the CW6 and made restaurant to Jurong West in less than an hour.

Summary: MDAC confirmed working 2nd link side. Go far right for the autogates!

True. Go extreme right autogate where the sign board reads "For MACS" holders. But on the extreme left auto gate signboard reads "For Malaysian holders". Tempted to try.;)

Sauzan

Anyone encountered before - entering jb thru egates is ok but exiting gives a passport verification error?

_nivla

hello if im travelling to KL by bus can i apply for MDAC (first time) and tell the immigration that i want to register?

deepblue_82

guys... i read the faq cant reg via the train counters? coz i am taking train this friday....

thisisnotme1212

moi justs registereds for tomorrows :(
first times stills use manual gates ands tells officer moi registered?
are we supposeds to receive emails after registration?
afters goes in, when comes backs cans trys thes auto gate alreadys? :s22:

devion

Yes try registering again at the counter after a lapse... hopefully all will be fine this time round.

In the meantime submit MDAC & try again at E-Gate whenever you go to JB.

Good luck
My cousin also faced same issue, ex Malaysian & failed registration at the counter, 3x tried also failed, officer says nothing can be done as system shows rejected w/o reason. However my wife who is also an ex Malaysian had no issue at all.
Seems like this ex Malaysians being rejected to be registered for E-gate is for certain individuals, maybe during citizenship surrender process had some differences.
My wife converted much earlier than my cousin.
My cousin no choice but continue to use manual counters. Wonder if can write in to Malaysian immigration to help resolve this.

chehjin

moi justs registereds for tomorrows :(
first times stills use manual gates ands tells officer moi registered?
are we supposeds to receive emails after registration?
afters goes in, when comes backs cans trys thes auto gate alreadys? :s22:

under MDAC website check eligibility, if it change to eligible means u can use e gate le.

My status changed right after my entry but I still chop on my way out since totally no queue and I don’t have missing exit chop in my passport.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.