VEP RFID collection ?

Sty_123

Hi Guys, where is a good place to book to install the VEP? Thinking og going to the Angsana one. Thanks.

thomas.takeshi

Hi All,

I've collected my RFIG tag. Just to find out from you guys, the next time i drive in to JB via woodlands causeway, once i get my passport stamped at the JB immigration counter, does the gantry opens and deduct all the fees from my ewallet automatically?

Or i will still have to tap twice, one for RM 20 road charge and the RM 2.90 toll charge? :s11:

Thanks

myviowner

Hi All,

I've collected my RFIG tag. Just to find out from you guys, the next time i drive in to JB via woodlands causeway, once i get my passport stamped at the JB immigration counter, does the gantry opens and deduct all the fees from my ewallet automatically?

Or i will still have to tap twice, one for RM 20 road charge and the RM 2.90 toll charge? :s11:

Thanks

Go check out with others... i think must link with your e-wallet and must have value inside, plus that gantry is VEP ready.
Else, you still need to do the tng thingy.

iantao99

KUALA LUMPUR - Malaysia on Monday (Sept 23) announced that it would defer the enforcement of its Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) "during peak-hour traffic operation" until further notice, citing "several issues" including difficulties in obtaining appointments for the RFID tag installation.

In a statement, the Transport Ministry said that this would affect "all outbound traffic" at the Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) complexes at Bangunan Sultan Iskandar and Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar at Woodlands and Tuas Checkpoints respectively.

Replying to queries by The Straits Times, the ministry said "peak hours" referred to the following:

Monday to Thursday: 5am to 11am, 7pm to 10pm
Friday, Saturday and Sunday: 4pm to 3am, 1pm to 4pm

It added that with this deferment, it is hoped that "all foreign vehicles owners will take this opportunity to immediately register and get the RFID tag installed to avoid any difficulties to commute in and out of Malaysia in the future".

The ministry also announced that it will open an additional RFID Fitment Centre at Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar, in addition to the four centres in Johor Baru – the Gelang Patah Southbound rest stop, the Plaza Angsana Open Carpark, the Pandan rest stop and the Lima Kedai Toll Plaza.

The VEP was first announced in 2017 by then ruling government Barisan Nasional to identify the number of foreign vehicles entering Malaysia and also to prevent car theft and deter car cloning syndicates.
In April, the Malaysian government announced that it would enforce mandatory registration for foreign vehicles entering from Singapore from Oct 1.

Only VEP-registered vehicles would be allowed entry into Malaysia once the permit was implemented, it said.

On Sept 2, Malaysia's Transport Minister Anthony Loke said his ministry was still looking into how it could implement the permit at Malaysia's borders with Thailand, Indonesia and Brunei, reported Malaysia Chinese-language daily Sin Chew Daily.

MOT to consider 'appropriate response' if Malaysia applies VEP to only Singapore vehicles
He added that the authorities would first implement the VEP at Malaysia's border with Singapore and that the ministry was ready to introduce the permit.

The long-debated VEP scheme is expected to be carried out in three stages, beginning with the Causeway and Second Link, followed by the Malaysia-Thai border, and then the border between Malaysia and Brunei as well as the Malaysia border with Indonesia.

The Malaysian government did not say when the VEP would come into effect at the other borders.

The plan to implement a VEP at all Malaysian land borders has been delayed several times because the Malaysian authorities said they needed more time to fine-tune the system. It has been in the testing stage since last year.

sunsetbay

The VEP was first announced in 2017 by then ruling government Barisan Nasional to identify the number of foreign vehicles entering Malaysia and also to prevent car theft and deter car cloning syndicates.

How VEP able to prevent car theft~? The RFID can easily peel off~ :s22:

Calander

How VEP able to prevent car theft~? The RFID can easily peel off~ :s22:

actually is not about the rfid for theft. but about the ability to screen sg cars for outstanding offences that is tagged to vehicle number upon entry and exit of Msia.

also, it is more of them wanting to obtain personal info apart from engine chassis number.. because info such as COE and your address is totally not even required by Msia. they just want to make a comprehensive info so that they can show how much they know legally.

the only document that make senses other than chassis number will be road tax, as it is validated by LTA in making sure you have valid COE, insurance and all duly paid sg summons.

myviowner

Those hurry hurry go q up and paid kopi $$ on the last hour... kena played out lor..... Hopes these KS sinkaporean is not in this thread... lolx

mrnanq

Hi All,

Thanks

Would like to know too. anyone?

iantao99

Would like to know too. anyone?

Toll fees of $2.90 deduct from ewallet.
*was told VEP road charge cam b deducted from ewallet as well.

You can however use your ewallet to pay for purchases at various merchants like our various apps like paynow, grabpay, dash etc.

kurtgoh

my advise to those who already have RFID on their cars.

i notice there's multiple deductions for road charge on my account.
2 deduction done on a particular day, over a few mins.

when i wrote to them, the reply was slow and dont really understand.

of course, there's a few occasions whereby only the toll was deducted but not the road charges.
hence, i can conclude, their system is lagging and not real time. :s13:

so i rather not to use the ewallet for the time being.

SBS2716G

VEP $20, still must tap with TNG card.

The RFID is literally for toll fees only, at this point.

You can however use your ewallet to pay for purchases at various merchants like our various apps like paynow, grabpay, dash etc.

Road charge also can be deducted via wallet. But it seem like the posting is very slow

sunsetbay

*was told VEP road charge cam b deducted from ewallet as well.

i think our TnG app and Msian TnG app are different leh~ my home screen only show VEP RFID & TNG Card~ where else the msian Grab driver show me his TnG home screen was with many services, which allow them to make payment, shop etc~

phone-apps.png

kashanai

Yes the Malaysian one is like grab.

SG purely for tracking purposes and deducting for VEP

i think our TnG app and Msian TnG app are different leh~ my home screen only show VEP RFID & TNG Card~ where else the msian Grab driver show me his TnG home screen was with many services, which allow them to make payment, shop etc~

phone-apps.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.