Sorry if I hijacked this thread..
We have decided to go Vietnam (Hanoi) since I can't find a Hanoi thread in here. So I just post in this thread.
We have plan to go to halong bay via cruise. But when we tried google that. We have got ourselves lots of choices. We nearly faint.
Was thinking if someone can share with me those cruises which u all have experience before? We are looking at some mid range cruise.![]()
Thanks.![]()
Do sg passport need apply visa?
Sinh Cafe was famous many years ago till a lot of competitors using almost the same nameI always use them for VN tour.

Hi all,
Would like to check on Ho Chi Minh City traffic condition.
Would like to book a flight to HCMC in the morning at around 850. Would it be easy to get a cab? Or would I have to ask the hotel conceirge to help me ?
Also is the traffic bad in the city? How long does it take to get to the airport?
I recall it took me almost an hour and half just to get to Nong Bai Airport in Hanoi...when I leave just before peak hours.
THanks for your advice
must dress decently before climbing up , if not waste effortcan go up the jesus statue in vung tau. quite cool
Sinh Cafe was famous many years ago till a lot of competitors using almost the same nameI always use them for VN tour.
no need visa .Do sg passport need apply visa?
True also. Course they are the most popular in vietnam and hanoi also. First time to vietnam nearly kena from a fake one. Luckily 1 of my friends point it out.
I think if taking cab in Vietnam also same. There are fake mai linh taxi also.
Geezzz...
hcmc traffic condition is terrible . but usually the jams are more towards the evening time around 4 to 6 pmHi all,
Would like to check on Ho Chi Minh City traffic condition.
Would like to book a flight to HCMC in the morning at around 850. Would it be easy to get a cab? Or would I have to ask the hotel conceirge to help me ?
Also is the traffic bad in the city? How long does it take to get to the airport?
I recall it took me almost an hour and half just to get to Nong Bai Airport in Hanoi...when I leave just before peak hours.
THanks for your advice
There are plenty of cab once u exited tan soon nhat airport. Dun get picked up by the freelance taxi driver offering their taxi after u walked out of airport. Turn left and walk to the end, u find a taxi queue. Cab from city to airport should take you about 40 min in peak hour.

hcmc traffic condition is terrible . but usually the jams are more towards the evening time around 4 to 6 pm
its very easy to get cab from airport , so far no shortage whenever im there.
do check with ur hotel concerige if they have free pickup service for u
usually takes ard 30 to 45 mins to airport . fastest i ever been was around 20-25 mins
10 to 25USD at pham ngu lao/ bui vien st.Thanks... btw which is a good hotel location? is ben thanh market region good?
what is the typical rate for a decent hotel in hcmc?
THanks
Dear All,
We (5 girls) have booked our tickets for Hanoi (6D5N).. need some help here:
1) Accommodation: We intend to stay in one room / connecting room and are looking at these 3 hotels, any reviews that you guys can share:-
- Golden Sun Suites Hotel [Connecting Rooms]
- Essence Hanoi Hotel [Connected, Family Room]
- Golden Sun Palace Hotel [Family Suite]
2) Understand is more worth to book tours at there instead, but would it be too rush to book the tour for the next day on our the day of our arrival?
Our itinerary:-
Day 1 (Wed): Reach Hanoi @ Noon, check in hotel @ Old Quarter and explore around that premises
Day 2 - 3 (Thurs): Set off for Halong Bay 2D1N
Are there big differences betwenn 3D2N tours & 2D1N?
Day 4 (Sat): Explore Old Quarters, Night Markets, Puppet Show
Day 5 (Sun): Tam Coc Tour / F&E walk around Hanoi town
Day 6: Check out & return to SG
Couldn't do Sapa coz one of our friends just did leg op, so can only focus on Halong Bay & Hanoi itself.
Greatly appreciate all help, thanks!
Dear All,
We (5 girls) have booked our tickets for Hanoi (6D5N).. need some help here:
1) Accommodation: We intend to stay in one room / connecting room and are looking at these 3 hotels, any reviews that you guys can share:-
- Golden Sun Suites Hotel [Connecting Rooms]
- Essence Hanoi Hotel [Connected, Family Room]
- Golden Sun Palace Hotel [Family Suite]
2) Understand is more worth to book tours at there instead, but would it be too rush to book the tour for the next day on our the day of our arrival?
Our itinerary:-
Day 1 (Wed): Reach Hanoi @ Noon, check in hotel @ Old Quarter and explore around that premises
Day 2 - 3 (Thurs): Set off for Halong Bay 2D1N
Are there big differences betwenn 3D2N tours & 2D1N?
Day 4 (Sat): Explore Old Quarters, Night Markets, Puppet Show
Day 5 (Sun): Tam Coc Tour / F&E walk around Hanoi town
Day 6: Check out & return to SG
Couldn't do Sapa coz one of our friends just did leg op, so can only focus on Halong Bay & Hanoi itself.
Greatly appreciate all help, thanks!