Vietnam

sbl2560

Sorry if I hijacked this thread.. :D

We have decided to go Vietnam (Hanoi) since I can't find a Hanoi thread in here. So I just post in this thread.

We have plan to go to halong bay via cruise. But when we tried google that. We have got ourselves lots of choices. We nearly faint.

Was thinking if someone can share with me those cruises which u all have experience before? We are looking at some mid range cruise. :)

Thanks. :)

I have sailed on Paloma Cruise, 4 star in April 13. Paid USD 255 per pax for 3D 2N superior room. All meals and transfers from Hanoi to Halong Bay inclusive. However due to bad weather on the second day, the cruise has to return to harbour. Took a night transfer back to Hanoi. Ended up paying USD 164 per pax.

Initially, I wanted to book Dragon Pearl Cruise as they have a dinner in a cave. As it was fully booked, Paloma was next choice, with bbq on a beach. Tables were set up with white table cloth. Although the bbq was normal, the ambiance was fabulous.

The best part of the cruise is in the late evening and early morning, quiet and cooler. The downside, is the four hours journey from Hanoi to Halong Bay and vice versa. I wouldn't encourage a day trip as the travelling takes up time.

blonchai

Sinh Cafe was famous many years ago till a lot of competitors using almost the same name :D I always use them for VN tour.

True also. Course they are the most popular in vietnam and hanoi also. First time to vietnam nearly kena from a fake one. Luckily 1 of my friends point it out.

I think if taking cab in Vietnam also same. There are fake mai linh taxi also.

Geezzz...

watertreader

Hi all,

Would like to check on Ho Chi Minh City traffic condition.

Would like to book a flight to HCMC in the morning at around 850. Would it be easy to get a cab? Or would I have to ask the hotel conceirge to help me ?

Also is the traffic bad in the city? How long does it take to get to the airport?

I recall it took me almost an hour and half just to get to Nong Bai Airport in Hanoi...when I leave just before peak hours.

THanks for your advice

HarmanK

Hi all,

Would like to book a flight to HCMC in the morning at around 850. Would it be easy to get a cab? Or would I have to ask the hotel conceirge to help me ?

Also is the traffic bad in the city? How long does it take to get to the airport?

I recall it took me almost an hour and half just to get to Nong Bai Airport in Hanoi...when I leave just before peak hours.

THanks for your advice

There are plenty of cab once u exited tan soon nhat airport. Dun get picked up by the freelance taxi driver offering their taxi after u walked out of airport. Turn left and walk to the end, u find a taxi queue. Cab from city to airport should take you about 40 min in peak hour.

xcalible

Sinh Cafe was famous many years ago till a lot of competitors using almost the same name :D I always use them for VN tour.

change name already
now its sinhtourist . can go their online website to check em out

xcalible

True also. Course they are the most popular in vietnam and hanoi also. First time to vietnam nearly kena from a fake one. Luckily 1 of my friends point it out.

I think if taking cab in Vietnam also same. There are fake mai linh taxi also.

Geezzz...

mai linh taxi usually the fake ones are no uniform . the taxi number also wrong ... and usually seat inside mai linh will have an announcment in english stating can feedback if service not good

xcalible

Hi all,

THanks for your advice
hcmc traffic condition is terrible . but usually the jams are more towards the evening time around 4 to 6 pm
its very easy to get cab from airport , so far no shortage whenever im there.
do check with ur hotel concerige if they have free pickup service for u

usually takes ard 30 to 45 mins to airport . fastest i ever been was around 20-25 mins

xcalible

There are plenty of cab once u exited tan soon nhat airport. Dun get picked up by the freelance taxi driver offering their taxi after u walked out of airport. Turn left and walk to the end, u find a taxi queue. Cab from city to airport should take you about 40 min in peak hour.

alternative is before exiting the airport arrival gates, there are a row of agencies/money exchange
head to the right side . there is a mai linh / vinasun booth , can pick up a taxi ticket and head to the taxi stand area. there will be mai linh / vinasun person around directing to the taxi stand. just pass them the ticket and u can grab a taxi easily.

at the taxi Q , many random taxis are there. experiences from friend that the meter are slightly faster and more expensive compared to the 2 big main companies:o

watertreader

hcmc traffic condition is terrible . but usually the jams are more towards the evening time around 4 to 6 pm
its very easy to get cab from airport , so far no shortage whenever im there.
do check with ur hotel concerige if they have free pickup service for u

usually takes ard 30 to 45 mins to airport . fastest i ever been was around 20-25 mins

Thanks... btw which is a good hotel location? is ben thanh market region good?

what is the typical rate for a decent hotel in hcmc?

THanks

charvin83

Dear All,

We (5 girls) have booked our tickets for Hanoi (6D5N).. need some help here:

1) Accommodation: We intend to stay in one room / connecting room and are looking at these 3 hotels, any reviews that you guys can share:-
- Golden Sun Suites Hotel [Connecting Rooms]
- Essence Hanoi Hotel [Connected, Family Room]
- Golden Sun Palace Hotel [Family Suite]

2) Understand is more worth to book tours at there instead, but would it be too rush to book the tour for the next day on our the day of our arrival?
Our itinerary:-

Day 1 (Wed): Reach Hanoi @ Noon, check in hotel @ Old Quarter and explore around that premises

Day 2 - 3 (Thurs): Set off for Halong Bay 2D1N
Are there big differences betwenn 3D2N tours & 2D1N?

Day 4 (Sat): Explore Old Quarters, Night Markets, Puppet Show
Day 5 (Sun): Tam Coc Tour / F&E walk around Hanoi town
Day 6: Check out & return to SG

Couldn't do Sapa coz one of our friends just did leg op, so can only focus on Halong Bay & Hanoi itself.

Greatly appreciate all help, thanks!

maxrebo

To me Halong bay one night is enough. I think it's worth to pay more for your tour...better food..better accommodation....bigger boat..

butterbarter

As another poster already pointed out, 2D1N for Halong is good enough. The main aim is to marvel at the limestone rocks rising out of the sea, and 2 days is plenty of time for that.

Make sure you bring a MP3 player, reading materials, sunblock, sunglasses and hat, because you'll be spending alot of time lying on the sun-chairs on the deck of the boat, drenched in sun light and surrounded by awesome scenery (as well as the occasional floating carpet of rubbish).

I noticed you are going to spend 1.5 days (Wed and Sat) exploring the Old Quarters. As interesting as it may sound, you don't need 1.5 days there. I would spend maybe 1 afternoon+evening around the Old Quarters and Hoan Kiem Lake area. Watch the Water Puppets at night ( better buy the tickets during the day first. The ticket office is near Hoan Kiem Lake).

That leaves you 1 extra day. Spend the remaining day going to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature, Hanoi Hilton (Hoa Lo prison), and other attractions.

Dear All,

1) Accommodation: We intend to stay in one room / connecting room and are looking at these 3 hotels, any reviews that you guys can share:-

2) Understand is more worth to book tours at there instead, but would it be too rush to book the tour for the next day on our the day of our arrival?

Day 1 (Wed): Reach Hanoi @ Noon, check in hotel @ Old Quarter and explore around that premises

Couldn't do Sapa coz one of our friends just did leg op, so can only focus on Halong Bay & Hanoi itself.

usermanual

Dear All,

You can consider splendid Star Suite.
Splendid Star Suitehotel in Hanoi, Vietnam, the Hanoi boutique hotel, splendid star hotel hanoi

Last year I stayed at this hotel too.
They have family room with 2 double beds + 1 extra bed.
You can request them to put a extra bed (need $) and ask for balcony room.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.