Vietnam

Dan_Bo

does anyone know of trekking guides in hcmc? i'm interested in hang son doong

dede1217

I will be going hanoi in 3 weeks .. anything to look out for? Money change there? They speak english right?

hcm seldom ppl speak english
even for 3 stars hotel lol ...
stayed at 4 stars hotel, they oni understand basic english
heard from friend hanoi is more jialat than hcm ...

Change in singapore is better ...
have changed before at vietnam banks, they short give us ...

cspyse8

Booking for Sapa and Halong

hi, sorry to ask this again, has difficulty to read thru past posts.

Want the contact for Sapa 3d4n tour and Halong 2d1n cruise ?
Where do u book and roughly the cost ?
Hotel booking at hanoi can be booked directly in hotel website or go via agoda, booking.com, expedia ? Which is better ?

Going in mid Dec with family 2 adult and 2 kids.
Thank you very much.

liftstrong

hi, sorry to ask this again, has difficulty to read thru past posts.

Want the contact for Sapa 3d4n tour and Halong 2d1n cruise ?
Where do u book and roughly the cost ?
Hotel booking at hanoi can be booked directly in hotel website or go via agoda, booking.com, expedia ? Which is better ?

Going in mid Dec with family 2 adult and 2 kids.
Thank you very much.

For my Halpong Bay Cruise, I checked out Sinh Tourist and it cost 80USD per pax for 2D1N. There are MANY imposter shops there so you might want to ensure you head to the right shop. Also, if you book online, it might be more expensive.

For the Sapa trip, I booked it through the hostel I was staying at,Central Backpackers Hostel. It cost 135 USD per pax. This includes the tranport there and back, 1N hotel stay, 2N homestay.

The ones I went on are pretty budget although I enjoyed the experience very much. There were also kids on the boat I was on, but if you have a higher budget, you can ask for 'better' and more luxurious boats.

With regards to hotel booking, you'll be better off comparing prices as some might charge a higher booking fee.

If you need more info on Halong Bay and Sapa, you can check out my article on it!

http://strongertmr.com/2015/09/28/backpacking-vietnam-part-2-beautiful-halong-bay-and-majestic-sapa/

invisible999

Arriving at Da Nang and staying at Hoi An

Subj, does it worth to exchange Singapore dollar either at Da Nang airport and/or Hoi Ann or better to do it in Singapore?

Also, ho much car ride from Da Nang's airport to hoi Ann would cost?

koala2004

hcm seldom ppl speak english
even for 3 stars hotel lol ...
stayed at 4 stars hotel, they oni understand basic english
heard from friend hanoi is more jialat than hcm ...

Change in singapore is better ...
have changed before at vietnam banks, they short give us ...

SG rate sucks! Better to change in viet. Why you go bank? In hcm, we always change at the BT gold shops...everyone knows.

invisible999

Ya agree. BT goldsmith give best rate. Morning better than evening hor as I said long time ago.

Well, my flight is coming in one month. But I won't be able to go to the city - I have just 3.5h connection at SGN until I continue to Haiphong. I have time to get out, exchange money, get SIM card (thinking about VietTel, unless people are telling that others are better) and come back.

So which money changes at the airport would people recommend?

invisible999

Found following message at tripadvisor forums:

I read recently about currency exchange warnings re the counters at Tan Son Nhat airport n yet today, i became another victim. The trick used on me was different from Ross, I would like to share with readers.

I exchange money at a counter on the right from exit, about the 3rd/4th counter(next door on the right is the counter with Exim bank sign).

She quoted the best rate(15900 VND to SGD1, she punched in the rate 15901 on the calculator n showed me the amount that i should received in VND. Having been forewarned about possibility of being short changed,my partner n i carefully calculated the amount to the figure flashed on the calculator. It was correct. Only when i was in the taxi, on my way out of the airport, i did my sum on my phone calculator that i realised that i have been tricked. There was a shortfall in the total amount calculated and displayed. There were 2 of us n we both saw her punch in the numbers. The only tell tale sign was 1VND more in the rate than she told us. Either the calculator was 'rigged'or the last digit 1 triggered a program to calculate a lower amount. Also there wasnt any receipt, which we used to get at other exchanges. I was short changed of 250k VND.

I hope this serves as a warning to others so that more of us continue to enjoy HCMC n not fall prey to these lousy scammers!

koala2004

放开那auntie;97301816 said:
I just changed 16500 at BT goldsmith last week

Really? That was good considering the weak sgd in fx last week. Wonder why you get such high rate. My viet FIL change there only managed 16k there. So you sure? Which one? Mai Van or Ha Tam? There's only these 2 famous gold shops next to BT mkt.

koala2004

Found following message at tripadvisor forums:

One should turn left and go to the only bank to change. We only change in TSN if desperate. Usually I will keep few millions VND for next trip (at least cab fare) till reach BT area (D1).

Also, blame the stupidity of the persons lah...such simple calculations also dunno...my god. How can wrong if you did your own sums? Some more 250K. LOL.

finale1

放开那auntie;97301816 said:
I just changed 16500 at BT goldsmith last week

Wah u sure not? Highest interbank rate on Reuters is 16200. U got it at 16,500?!

invisible999

Money changers at Hanoi Airport

Well due to the my ordeal with Jetstar I had to book new flight arriving at Hanoi instead.

I have three questions:

1. Does it make any sense to exchange money at Hanoi airport and if yes - where?

2. Is there VietTel shop at arrivals?

3. What are options to travel from Hanoi (airport) to Haiphong/Do Son and how much would it cost?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.