Vietnam

koala2004

So cheap ah, these carriers?!?!?!?! :s22:

No VietAir cant be this cheap...I mean budget airline like Jetstar, which can get at 60-80 during promo, but don't think can get VietAir at such price. It's only 2hr nia..blink of eyes reach liao...why pay more for a full service flight.

mlam84

Try going to Hanoi rather than HCM ba for scenery and weather.

I went to Hanoi in Dec, very cool weather. Try extending to Halong Bay and Sapa. I flew by SQ cos the difference is only $300+ more than Vietair for 4pax. We went free and easy and didn't spend much on the tour. Food was cheap.

The Halong Bay 2D1N Fanteasea curise only USD85 per pax and return overnite train to Sapa is around USD75 per pax (4 beds in a "room"). Hotel less than USD40 per nite for family room.

Our small children enjoy the trip too.

Vietjet charged higher for tax. Should try Jetstar during sale period. You can take trip to Phan Thiet/Nha Trang/Da Lat from Ho Chi Minh. HCM itself is a city, nothing much.

dede1217

Vietjet charged higher for tax. Should try Jetstar during sale period. You can take trip to Phan Thiet/Nha Trang/Da Lat from Ho Chi Minh. HCM itself is a city, nothing much.

agree !!! last time checked vietjet, even with 0 fare, their taxes etc is 103sgd
more expensive than jetstar
have purchased jetstar 56 sgd two way nett in 1st club sales , fly last year ...
Fri to Sun somemore ....
would say jetsar would be a better choice
however, the hcm to sin timing for promo fare normally is the 0710 or 0855 depart, if u r flying on sun back to singapore ...

dede1217

No VietAir cant be this cheap...I mean budget airline like Jetstar, which can get at 60-80 during promo, but don't think can get VietAir at such price. It's only 2hr nia..blink of eyes reach liao...why pay more for a full service flight.

Actually is only 1hr 35 min ...
SQ promo 187 ...
jetstar tiger if promo recently is abt 80+ to 100+
checked in luggage for jetstar to hcm is kinda expensive if u wanna 25kg
bangkok only 22sgd, however their hcm flight checked in 25kg luggage is much more expensive ...

depends on what u wan ...
if u need meal and checked in luggage
HCM 100 for example, budget airline
u add on meals and checked in luggage 25kg two ways, can hit 180sgd already ... tats why there would be a number of ppl who would fly SQ :)

Ohayo!

i see ... very typical area where it's easier for them to operate. it happens in many other countries as well.

One thing abt us.. Go oversea all like to show off wealth.

See tour groups ppl inside u will now what I mean. Should just dress cheaply and not standout with branded bags etc

rrr2015

well i never with tour groups before, so i don't know
i guess everybody entitled to dress up as they please
this will make easier for pickpocket to select targets :D

See tour groups ppl inside u will now what I mean. Should just dress cheaply and not standout with branded bags etc

Gaiason

tour group realli easy to spot and target... :(:(

Thoma5

Been to Vietnam about 8 times, all HCMC except once in Dalat and once in Hanoi. Somehow I've come to realise that most Singaporeans prefer Thailand to Vietnam once they've been to both. Reasons being "shopping heaven in BKK", "friendlier locals" (more smiles), "feels safer"... Personal conclusion is that you either love or hate either place. I've always felt more 'at home' in Vietnam than in Thailand. Vietnam is not particularly safe in terms of snatch thieves and pickpockets, but every country has its risks, just gotta be vigilant.

Although not many speak English, it really is sufficient to get by through mere gesturing. Tourist traps are definitely around especially in the central Ben Thanh area, so gotta be discerning and compare prices around a few areas to prevent being cheated.

Have never joined packaged tours during all my trips there - it is sufficient to wander on your own actually. Did join a local tour in Hanoi (free street food tour!) and went around tasting food with 2 locals - really great experience. In HCMC you can try the Free Motorbike Tour with Triip.me too. Doing a free and easy tour on your own, then set aside 2-4 hours for a local tour won't disrupt your itinerary too much.

My recommendation is to go to Da Lat - cool weather, small town easy to explore on foot. Great for outdoor activities like canyoning, hiking. If you're adventurous you can do a bike tour too - did one from Di Linh (near Da Lat) down to Phan Thiet - super fun!

I prefer vn than thailand sia.

I tried crossing the road in front of ben thanh market around the roundabout, my balls shrink.

Just walk like a boss lah...Don't scare...:s13:

Vietnam
10,000 note
100,000 note
look very similar, both also green color

once took cab, think gave wrongly
cox is at nite, quite dark
instead of giving 20,000, think have given him 200,000
went back hotel count my notes, like fewer by alot lol ...

I also everytime kana this 1.Sibei suay,my eyesight no good.

Just bought to go hcm again... $84 2 way...:D

My friend said his phone got pickpocketed in JB on a public bus. Don't know if they work in teams.

He took the bus behind city square right?There very dangerous 1.Got syndicate de...

Delsamor

Was thinking is it safe to bring my Gopro there to film things while walking. I would be using my lousy 1st gen of xiaomi hp, but I'm more worried for my gopro and a PNS camera.

koala2004

dist between Hanoi and HCM is greater than distance between hcm and singapore. HCM is nearer to singapore than the capital.

maybe fewer competitors, fewer leisure travellers so chop biz travellers gao gao. hanoi is not a popular tourist destination among asians. only ang moh tourists like to go there.

Vietnam is really a very long country, south to north is about 1650km where as SG to HCMC is about 1100km.

With no major city between HCMC and Hanoi, that is why HSR is not feasible.

koala2004

Was thinking is it safe to bring my Gopro there to film things while walking. I would be using my lousy 1st gen of xiaomi hp, but I'm more worried for my gopro and a PNS camera.

Not that bad lah, I have been using Samsung S6 on the streets taking pic freely and have seen tourists carry expensive cameras and watches and taking pic on streets. Just try to avoid using phones near roads where there could be snatches from bikes...just like Msia lah or BKK, no difference....just relax and enjoy, everywhere the same. Some may find the many bikes in Vietnam an eye sore....I find it ok and interesting...at least safer than in SG with so many speeding cars!

MrTheROCK

The two money changers are Mai Van at 1A Nguyen An Ninh Street and Ha Tam at 2 Nguyen An Ninh Street. Both foreigner currency exchange shops are located next to each other, separated by a small road. And both shops are located directly in front of one of the gates (entrances) of the Ben Thanh Market. It's easy to locate them- just walk round the side of the Ben Thanh Market, towards the direction of the New World Hotel Saigon.
Found it. Tks koala2004

Sent from the rock using GAGT

dleodleo

No wor. We always dress in tshirt and bermuda and sandals or even flip flop and keep all jewellery in Singapore. We wear plastic watch when travelling.

Anyway it is very easy to spot a tourist, a tourist always carry cameras around.

Thoma5

It's safe...Don't worry.better than malaysia...

ruantingguang

Yup. Bangkok is more modern with wider roads, but HCMC has some really nice boulevards with tall trees from the French colonial days that are lacking in BKK..

One thing both have in common is the shophouses, family-run eating houses everywhere. And just like in Bkk where one can easily find places to eat in many of its famous Sois, HCMC also has the equivalent "Hem", where truly authentic Southern Vietnamese cuisine can be found.

One thing about HCMC or Saigon is that Pho is not the go-to dish for the locals, but rather it's Com Tam /kum-tum/ (broken rice) and Hu Tieu /hu-teow/ (rice noodle soup) - a must-try for anyone travelling to Saigon.

Popular Com Tam places:
Com Tam Ba Ha - 389 Hưng Phú, District 8
Com Tam Tu Map - 812 Sư Vạn Hạnh Ward 12, District 10
Com Tam Kieu Van - 150/7B Nguyễn Trãi, Bến Thành ward, District 1

Popular Hu Tieu places:
Hu Tieu Quoc Ky - 52 Ngô Đức Kế, Bến Nghé Ward, D1
Hu Tieu quang Ky - 117 Triệu Quang Phục, D5
Hu Tieu Hong Phat - 389-391 Võ Văn Tần, ward 5, D3

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.