Vietnam

koala2004

I always eat and drink at places with price tag. So far no problem. I actually find Vietnamese ppl very kind.

Totally agreed! They are very warm people, I like mix with them (my wifes side people), so warm and friendly and sincere...sinkie so fake now...don't feel much genuine relationship...esp in times of need. VN people really standby each other in good and bad times, I am very touched indeed which I have encountered personally.

koala2004

no lah is like their note got so many 0 and at night,my eyesight is jin poor. example 50k,i will take out 500k to pay and there will always ** people that is very dishonest over there. It like i will kana almost 1 times if i pay on my own. So i will always pass it to my vn friend to help me pay....:o

True with their many notes and large figures...I pass to my wife to pay, she very fast....:D

koala2004

Hi guys. Been wanting to go Hanoi for sometimes. Any recommendation? Heard that the food are really bad or rather not suitable for us. Is it true?

Not true lah, generally their food ok for us. Same like in china, also many local stuff we don't dare touch but still lots of food similar to ours.

figo16

Totally agreed! They are very warm people, I like mix with them (my wifes side people), so warm and friendly and sincere...sinkie so fake now...don't feel much genuine relationship...esp in times of need. VN people really standby each other in good and bad times, I am very touched indeed which I have encountered personally.

my vietnamese guide told me it is very hard to die of hunger in vietnam cause friends and relatives usually help each other even though they are poor.

It is different from amdk culture where they don't care about family values.

figo16

What is a reasonable price to fly to HCM?

Vietnam airlines cheapest fare is $240plus and cannot be changed or cancelled.

Jetstar about $200 inclusive of baggage, cc surcharge.

koala2004

my vietnamese guide told me it is very hard to die of hunger in vietnam cause friends and relatives usually help each other even though they are poor.

It is different from amdk culture where they don't care about family values.

Agreed which I have come to know. My ILs side all relatives very close, help each other though they may not be rich, really impressed.

koala2004

What is a reasonable price to fly to HCM?

Vietnam airlines cheapest fare is $240plus and cannot be changed or cancelled.

Jetstar about $200 inclusive of baggage, cc surcharge.

Jetstar and only fly if all-in fare is below $120, include 20kg baggage.

rayban

But with vn gf and frenz....wont get con lah...like me, with my vn wife...she handles all things in viet, include bargaining....:D

of course ma you say with VIET wife and frend le, how to con you,

But i think there still different, when i was at nha trang, this girl i went with is from danang, to them they still consider her as tourist, things are slightly more expensive....

Then when at dalat buy the food at road side near dalat market, got this like you choose the food they fried for you, that time got a lot amdks, they were overcharge they dont know. So the seller say in tieng viet, if i wasnt with a vietnamese, she charge me more lol

rayban

intro some viets mei mei to us? haha

rayban

True with their many notes and large figures...I pass to my wife to pay, she very fast....:D

last month bring parent to da lat, told my dad pass money to me, i handle the paying, scare he give wrong haha

rayban

Agreed which I have come to know. My ILs side all relatives very close, help each other though they may not be rich, really impressed.

since you have viet wife you should understand the culture more

let us take a look at a new uni grad there, work as waitress , one month only 2 millon dong? and if the person not live with the family rent a place, so her pay have to give to rent.... still have to eat n buy thing etc? if the food is not cheap in Vietnam sure alot gone case liao......
With so little pay they still can go out and clubbing every month, really dont know how they save money

koala2004

of course ma you say with VIET wife and frend le, how to con you,

But i think there still different, when i was at nha trang, this girl i went with is from danang, to them they still consider her as tourist, things are slightly more expensive....

Then when at dalat buy the food at road side near dalat market, got this like you choose the food they fried for you, that time got a lot amdks, they were overcharge they dont know. So the seller say in tieng viet, if i wasnt with a vietnamese, she charge me more lol

This is very true...esp so for north and south viets. They don't seem to like each other. If people from hcmc went to Hanoi, the Hanoi will treat them like tourists or foreigners and charge more. They can tell thru their accent.

koala2004

since you have viet wife you should understand the culture more

let us take a look at a new uni grad there, work as waitress , one month only 2 millon dong? and if the person not live with the family rent a place, so her pay have to give to rent.... still have to eat n buy thing etc? if the food is not cheap in Vietnam sure alot gone case liao......
With so little pay they still can go out and clubbing every month, really dont know how they save money

Ya amazing how they survive, with just 2 to 5m kind of pay. My wife then was hotel mgr, earning about 8-10m per mth, then can still enjoy life and help her family. Their wage really low but that's good for tourists, can enjoy cheap and nice goods, services and food there. We there live like King. I give my ILs allowance about 5m a mth, even bought them a new 2-storey house, fridge, washing machine and aircon.

ruantingguang

The cultural difference is too big. Sometimes they don't even understand what the other is saying like duck and chicken talking.
Many ppl ask me where they should go in Vietnam. I say if u like China then go Hanoi, if u like thailand then go hcm :)

This is very true...esp so for north and south viets. They don't seem to like each other. If people from hcmc went to Hanoi, the Hanoi will treat them like tourists or foreigners and charge more. They can tell thru their accent.

rayban

The cultural difference is too big. Sometimes they don't even understand what the other is saying like duck and chicken talking.
Many ppl ask me where they should go in Vietnam. I say if u like China then go Hanoi, if u like thailand then go hcm :)

Theni want best of both world? Haha

rayban

Ya amazing how they survive, with just 2 to 5m kind of pay. My wife then was hotel mgr, earning about 8-10m per mth, then can still enjoy life and help her family. Their wage really low but that's good for tourists, can enjoy cheap and nice goods, services and food there. We there live like King. I give my ILs allowance about 5m a mth, even bought them a new 2-storey house, fridge, washing machine and aircon.

You lor spoilt market buy them home and land ..... Haha
I notice those married Vietnamese will always buy land n build house for in laws one....., one thing good/bad at the same time is viet girls tend to more to their own family. For example if need money for anything sure suck money back one. I mean most case sure have better case one

MrTheROCK

went to the city museum before, don't really recommend it unless you want to treat it as morning walk like what i did. iirc is only 2 storey and they were renovating some of the exhibition hall when i was there :o the museum beside the zoo is much better
What about turtle lake and thien hau pagoda?

Anybody else has what to recommend? Besides the day cuchi/Mekong tours, Church, post office, opera hse, committee hall, war museum, reunification palace, ben than and cholon, bitexco, dong khoi street, puppet show.

Zoo? Botanic Garden? ANy Museums? Jade Emperor Temple? worth going?
Sent from the rock using GAGT

koala2004

You lor spoilt market buy them home and land ..... Haha
I notice those married Vietnamese will always buy land n build house for in laws one....., one thing good/bad at the same time is viet girls tend to more to their own family. For example if need money for anything sure suck money back one. I mean most case sure have better case one

I willing one, my wife didn't really demand all these things. I want my ILs good life too and my wife can not so worry about them back in vn. The house not expensive lah, not buy land and build, its part of development and I bought a unit. Her dad went around scouted for good location and deal and within my budget, so settle it lor. Their old house damn log...I cant tahan too and is far.

rayban

What about turtle lake and thien hau pagoda?

Anybody else has what to recommend? Besides the day cuchi/Mekong tours, Church, post office, opera hse, committee hall, war museum, reunification palace, ben than and cholon, bitexco, dong khoi street, puppet show.

Zoo? Botanic Garden? ANy Museums? Jade Emperor Temple? worth going?
Sent from the rock using GAGT

I think got some theme park at hcmc at night go starlight bridge at D7. Can go their vivocity see see look look

figo16

The surprising thing is that those hotel and service staff pay so low but attitude still very good. that is why i give them tips if service is good.

i go australia and the amdk service staff there treat me like i owe them a living when their pay is so high.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.