Vietnam

figo16

But the airport transfers and private transportations in vietnam are quoted and transacted in USD?

yes. most are quoted in usd and they are a rip off. Those hotels will say it is better to arrange private transfer to avoid taxi scam but they are the ones ripping off tourists. USD30 for a 8km trip. you pay when check out of hotel. :s13:

That time i arranged for private airport tranfer in hanoi and it costs USD18 from airport to old qtr. they use a mercedes van. not bad for a 40mins journey.

I find hcm to be more expensive than hanoi. hotels and transportation more ex.

rayban

yes. most are quoted in usd and they are a rip off. Those hotels will say it is better to arrange private transfer to avoid taxi scam but they are the ones ripping off tourists. USD30 for a 8km trip. you pay when check out of hotel. :s13:

That time i arranged for private airport tranfer in hanoi and it costs USD18 from airport to old qtr. they use a mercedes van. not bad for a 40mins journey.

depend on district ba.... i stay guesthouse one night 200000, one big bed, wifi also have.

Stuffed

Yea.. the airport transfer from airport to town for HCM and Hanoi are really exp.
I'm getting to Hoi An though, and the transfer from Danang airport (about 29km) is 15USD, seems quite reasonable.

MrTheROCK

I took bus from hoi an to danang. Super cheap! It's the yellow public bus number 1, Only VND20k. Then i took the yellow asia cab from danang to airport, only VND45k! In Danang, yellow asia cab is cheaper than mai linh and vinasun.

Sent from the rock using GAGT

rrr2015

interesting ... your link was saying maccoffee have been fined for manufacturing malpractice for cafe pho product

another recent link dated 7 Apr 2016, no wonder you get so addictive with this coffee! careful!
http://baoventd.com/acesulfame-kali...ho-ca-phe-sua-da-nguy-hai-suc-khoe-28711.html
Acesulfame potassium sweetener MacCoffee Street café - latte stones health hazards how consumers if used exceeds a certain level?

Knowledge As previously reported, the product MacCoffee Street café - latte stone FES Vietnam Co. inappropriate technical standards / regulations for food safety, food safety has been fined 200 million Department recently not the first time, but before that, been fined MacCoffee Street café for similar violations.

The reason is the product MacCoffee Street café - latte stone with indicators of food additives Acesulfame potassium sweetener (950) inconsistent food safety regulations. So, Acesulfame Potassium (950) in MacCoffee Street café - latte stone hazardous consumer health How? It can cause disease when used in excess of the permitted safety level?

Ths Tran Trong Vu, Faculty of Food Technology, University of Saigon Technology, said: "Acesulfame Potassium is a shortened name potassium salt of 6-methyl-compound 1,2,3-oxathiazine-4 ( 3) -One-2,2-dioxide in chemistry. This is a sweetener with good solubility in water. in normal conditions, it is 150-200 times sweeter than regular sugar. in the public sector food industry, Acesulfame K is used mainly in soft drinks, sugar and candy singgum dieting; also in the pharmaceutical industry, it is commonly used in toothpaste, mouthwash ".

According to Bui Thi Huong Thao Pharmacists, Acesulfame K sweetener type, if used in large quantities can cause digestive problems flatulence, diarrhea ...

Many scientists claim: Acesulfame K contains methylene chloride - is a compound that can cause cancer and adversely affect the cardiovascular system. If prolonged exposure to methylene chloride, people prone to headaches, depression, nausea, affect the liver, kidneys, visual disturbances, and cause cancer in humans. Acid Additives asparaginic also stimulate the nervous system and eventually can be addictive. This material is recommended to restrict the use of pregnant women and young children.

However, some scientists believe that food additives Acesulfame potassium sweetener (950) Safety.
Research published by the International Expert Committee on Food Additives of the World Health Organization (ECFA) also shows, sweetener Acesulfame K has been studied about the possibility of affecting human health . Currently there is still much controversy about its toxicity.

holy, i finally found the coffee i want! hahahaha. its actually maccoffee "CAFE PHO, ca phe den da"
picture would be as attached, http://www.ffa.com.vn/vn/chi-tiet-tin/xu-phat-20-cong-ty-vi-pham-an-toan-thuc-pham.html . would there be any vissan mart nearby caravelle? jus nice a colleague is goin there next week, will ask to help buy ;D but jus need to know if theres any mart nearby caravelle so she can purchase it easily for the work trip. thanksss!!

rrr2015

corrected already, confused myself with hcmc airport to ben thanh which costs 5000.

yes, i did took bus 17 from noi bai to long bien, unique experiences as the route pass by farms, ponds, villages etc

but i read when heading to noi bai, it stops few km away from noi bai, and need to take another transport (e.g motorbike) to reach noi bai airport? i wonder why?

that's why i used viet air shuttle bus for my return to noi bai
in ha noi, the public bus fare for most urban routes is now 7000 dong. more for longer routes like the no 17 serving noi bai costs 9000 dong.

ha noi still retains some of strict communist values. unlike sai gon, you will never be asked to pay more for luggage on a public bus if your luggage doesnt occupy a seat. check the exact fare printed near the doorway when boarding.

bus no 17 takes around 1 hour 15 mins to reach long bien. it passes through some villages and small towns, picking up and dropping off passengers. highly recommended when arriving as you will get to see and experience the locals in their daily lives.

ooooooh :eek: .. thanks for update!
100k liao :( but they drop you off near to your hotel in old quarter region or even further down

kitkat2

but i read when heading to noi bai, it stops few km away from noi bai, and need to take another transport (e.g motorbike) to reach noi bai airport? i wonder why?

the service terminates at the same parking space where you first boarded.

rayban

anyone here go to any good cafe dj at hcmc? this may trip i bringing my classmate go, yet to go cafe dj before....
only go beer club and clubbing at hcm only haha

XiaoZen

anyone here go to any good cafe dj at hcmc? this may trip i bringing my classmate go, yet to go cafe dj before....
only go beer club and clubbing at hcm only haha
cafe dj quite noisy leh...

but u get to see pretty dj mm shaking their boobs.. lol

xiaojing11

Places to go:
Binh Tay Market
Thien Hau Temple
Ho Chi Minh City Museum
Bitexco Financial Tower, 50th floor cafe
Independence Palace
Cathedral of Notre Dame
Central Post Office
War Remnants Museum
Opera House
Done Khoi Street Shopping
Zoo and Botanic Garden
Museum of Traditional Vietnamese Medicine
Turtle Lake
Ben Thanh Market
Phu My Hung, Starlight Bridge
Water Puppet Show
Museum of Vietnamese History
Jade Emper Temple
Water theme park

Which of these places are at hanoi?

Thoma5

First night in Vietnam and I would like to share my experience with you guys. When we reached the airport, we took a look around at the many money changers available and decided to change at a place that offered the best rate (16,345). Each of us proceeded to change $300. However after receiving the money, we calculated that individually we were short of 212,000 vnd. So we went back to the money changer who made a snide remark by saying that the stated rate was for a minimum amount of $1000. Super pissed off but as the transaction was already done,we couldn't do anything about it. All was well, Ben Thanh Market was superb (day and night), war remnants was great and saddening too (spent 3.5hrs there) and the pub that we went to was superb. After our (clean) massage, we decided to give grabcar a try. To our surprise, the driver was furious at us for having 4 passengers and showed his displeasure by maintaining a speed of 20km/hr. It got even worst when he refused to let us out at our destination and demanded us to surrender our phone so that he could rate himself 5 stars. As we were all tired, we reluctantly seceded to his demand. One thing that I'm not pleased about is that whenever they see tourists, they'll try their best to earn as much money from you (much more expensive road side meal, insisting we pay in dollars when we're in a vinasun cab etc). Also almost everyone I meet on the street is unfriendly and would ignore you whenever you strike a conversation with them. Very dissapointed. Hopefully tmr will be a better day. Sighhh

Zul99z

Why you so suay 1?:(

strike a conversation with viet bu?

i never change money at airport one...... always change at goldsmith shop

grab taxi got such problem ya..... never take before...

I think they racist to him sia.:(
Actually i know quite a few vietnamese see skin color 1...

thunderation

Hi! would like to ask for the sinhtourist recommended by you all here:), are their tour packages good for other locations other than hcm? such as hanoi, sapa, hoi an etc or are there better deals? Thanks!

kitkat2

ok thanks! i was reading otherwise hence didn't want take the risk. will leave this as backup option :)

sounds more like some very blur tourist alighted too early 1km before the airport.

if the buses dont return to the airport, who is going pickup the passengers waiting at the airport?

figo16

apparently, some of the vietnamese in rural areas still behave like barbarians. no different from IS.

so be careful when visiting kampong areas in vietnam

kitkat2

apparently, some of the vietnamese in rural areas still behave like barbarians. no different from IS.

just obey the rules and customs, and dont steal dogs?!

just like when my foreign friends say they are scared to visit singapore, i will tell them just dont chew gum and you will be fine :)

ruantingguang

no surprise. North Vietnam directly transitioned from feudalism to communism, what to expect lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.