Vietnam

Obscurity

Hi Guys anyone can recommend a private driver for vietnam?

I have a group if 4 adults and 1 child

another 2 more adults and 1 baby is pending.

I want to go shopping and tailor clothes

Alpaca

First night in Vietnam and I would like to share my experience with you guys. When we reached the airport, we took a look around at the many money changers available and decided to change at a place that offered the best rate (16,345). Each of us proceeded to change $300. However after receiving the money, we calculated that individually we were short of 212,000 vnd. So we went back to the money changer who made a snide remark by saying that the stated rate was for a minimum amount of $1000. Super pissed off but as the transaction was already done,we couldn't do anything about it. All was well, Ben Thanh Market was superb (day and night), war remnants was great and saddening too (spent 3.5hrs there) and the pub that we went to was superb. After our (clean) massage, we decided to give grabcar a try. To our surprise, the driver was furious at us for having 4 passengers and showed his displeasure by maintaining a speed of 20km/hr. It got even worst when he refused to let us out at our destination and demanded us to surrender our phone so that he could rate himself 5 stars. As we were all tired, we reluctantly seceded to his demand. One thing that I'm not pleased about is that whenever they see tourists, they'll try their best to earn as much money from you (much more expensive road side meal, insisting we pay in dollars when we're in a vinasun cab etc). Also almost everyone I meet on the street is unfriendly and would ignore you whenever you strike a conversation with them. Very dissapointed. Hopefully tmr will be a better day. Sighhh

Zul99z

I can only say you are very unlucky :( you should have sign up for private tour offer by university student :) maybe they will give you a better image of hcm

rayban

I can only say you are very unlucky :( you should have sign up for private tour offer by university student :) maybe they will give you a better image of hcm

then he can strike conversation with them liao hihihi

Stuffed

Either SGD or VND.
USD will do you no good in Vietnam.

Do you see anyone using USD at anywhere in Singapore? The answer is NO.
Same as in Vietnam.

But the airport transfers and private transportations in vietnam are quoted and transacted in USD?

caytruc

In Hanoi, the price tag is also stated in US$.
But the airport transfers and private transportations in vietnam are quoted and transacted in USD?
Wrong. All transactions in Vietnam must be done totally in local currency (VND), just like Singapore. This is by law. USD transactions are illegal and will be subjected to prosecuted, and your money may be confiscated.

Prices may be quoted in USD for reference purposes, but all transactions must still be done in VND. There are no exceptions.

If you see anyone using USD in Vietnam, or asking you to pay in USD, you SHOULD report them to the police.

Can you imagine anyone using USD in Singapore? This will be quite bizarre.

caytruc

It got even worst when he refused to let us out at our destination and demanded us to surrender our phone so that he could rate himself 5 stars. As we were all tired, we reluctantly seceded to his demand.
There's a "report" function in the Grab app. You should report the instance to the management.
Or you can call their hotline in Vietnam: (08)-7108-7108 or +84-8-7108-7108

ruantingguang

Perhaps u should communicate w the youngsters, they are more friendly

Anyways don't expect them to converse well in English. It's very easy to pick up Vietnamese though cos 70% of the vocab is from chinese. A lot of them sound like hokkien

First night in Vietnam and I would like to share my experience with you guys. When we reached the airport, we took a look around at the many money changers available and decided to change at a place that offered the best rate (16,345). Each of us proceeded to change $300. However after receiving the money, we calculated that individually we were short of 212,000 vnd. So we went back to the money changer who made a snide remark by saying that the stated rate was for a minimum amount of $1000. Super pissed off but as the transaction was already done,we couldn't do anything about it. All was well, Ben Thanh Market was superb (day and night), war remnants was great and saddening too (spent 3.5hrs there) and the pub that we went to was superb. After our (clean) massage, we decided to give grabcar a try. To our surprise, the driver was furious at us for having 4 passengers and showed his displeasure by maintaining a speed of 20km/hr. It got even worst when he refused to let us out at our destination and demanded us to surrender our phone so that he could rate himself 5 stars. As we were all tired, we reluctantly seceded to his demand. One thing that I'm not pleased about is that whenever they see tourists, they'll try their best to earn as much money from you (much more expensive road side meal, insisting we pay in dollars when we're in a vinasun cab etc). Also almost everyone I meet on the street is unfriendly and would ignore you whenever you strike a conversation with them. Very dissapointed. Hopefully tmr will be a better day. Sighhh

Zul99z

jemtxy

"ca phe da" is simply vietnamese iced coffee

trung nguyen & highlands are well known producer of vietnamese coffee. i think you can't go wrong with these.

there are so many kinds of coffee sold at ben thanh, so which type of coffee blends you looking for?

"ca phe da" is simply vietnamese iced coffee

trung nguyen & highlands are well known producer of vietnamese coffee. i think you can't go wrong with these.

there are so many kinds of coffee sold at ben thanh, so which type of coffee blends you looking for?

holy, i finally found the coffee i want! hahahaha. its actually maccoffee "CAFE PHO, ca phe den da"
picture would be as attached, http://www.ffa.com.vn/vn/chi-tiet-tin/xu-phat-20-cong-ty-vi-pham-an-toan-thuc-pham.html . would there be any vissan mart nearby caravelle? jus nice a colleague is goin there next week, will ask to help buy ;D but jus need to know if theres any mart nearby caravelle so she can purchase it easily for the work trip. thanksss!!

rayban

quote in USD , can choose to pay in dongs...... i never buy things from airport since is so OVERPRICED......

rayban

Perhaps u should communicate w the youngsters, they are more friendly

Anyways don't expect them to converse well in English. It's very easy to pick up Vietnamese though cos 70% of the vocab is from chinese. A lot of them sound like hokkien

pick up is easy, say in a sentence and communicate, that another thing already

rayban

holy, i finally found the coffee i want! hahahaha. its actually maccoffee "CAFE PHO, ca phe den da"
picture would be as attached, http://www.ffa.com.vn/vn/chi-tiet-tin/xu-phat-20-cong-ty-vi-pham-an-toan-thuc-pham.html . would there be any vissan mart nearby caravelle? jus nice a colleague is goin there next week, will ask to help buy ;D but jus need to know if theres any mart nearby caravelle so she can purchase it easily for the work trip. thanksss!!

lol that one ya..... i buy a lot.... quite nice.... coffee very gao gao buy from big c 40000 dong

caytruc

quote in USD , can choose to pay in dongs......
quoted in USD is okay, but you must pay in VND, there is no "choice"
if you pay in USD, you violate the law
if they ask you to pay in USD, they violate the law (you should report them to police)

figo16

Zul99z

I think they unfriendly cause they don't know how to speak english.

just stick to vinasun and mai linh in vietnam so you can complain to company if anything goes wrong. the taxi fare there already very cheap so i sometimes i can't even tell if i kena scam.:s13:

Stuffed

First night in Vietnam and I would like to share my experience with you guys. When we reached the airport, we took a look around at the many money changers available and decided to change at a place that offered the best rate (16,345). Each of us proceeded to change $300. However after receiving the money, we calculated that individually we were short of 212,000 vnd. So we went back to the money changer who made a snide remark by saying that the stated rate was for a minimum amount of $1000.

Hmm... was planning to change at HCM airport as well while on an overnight transit. Maybe I should just change in SG then.

Stuffed

quoted in USD is okay, but you must pay in VND, there is no "choice"
if you pay in USD, you violate the law
if they ask you to pay in USD, they violate the law (you should report them to police)

Yea, but usually as tourists, you will just close one eye. Getting the cops in will take up precious time.

rayban

Hmm... was planning to change at HCM airport as well while on an overnight transit. Maybe I should just change in SG then.

normally ya..... if need transport money i change 50 at airport, then rest change at gold smith shop

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.