Vietnam

popdod

A7074-CB6-E53-B-4-EBA-9985-27-CD43250-CD1.jpg

By the time back to HCM. Is already quite late.
Had Pho 2000 near Ben Thah market

This is the famous pho when Clinton come over.

BA00-CD1-C-ACCD-4-FC5-89-B2-F3-AAF4-FA99-F1.jpg

45-F3-A337-3-C4-D-48-A4-A2-C6-27811-D8-CBB0-C.jpg

Got US president come. Means crowded.

0-AE92-BCB-E3-E3-4-B0-F-887-E-96-C7-CD70-B7-B4.jpg

119-CFBA6-4-F24-4-CA9-8-CC1-B36-C5710-DD82.jpg

Price not too ex.
Regular bowl vnd$80k = sgd$4.80.

Jiak bah bah. Go back hotel. \o/ \o/

figo16

B5-CEB283-6853-4-C7-D-91-A6-7-CBDC3-E85-D09.jpg

After Cao Dai temple. Time for lunch.
Klook will include lunch if is a full day event. But most lunch r simple stuff. Can eat lor. But dun expect foodie standards

36-B17030-1-D31-4-AAB-8844-80-D6688-FE0-D6.jpg

After lunch. Proceed to the exciting Cu Chi Tunnels which is about
1.5 hours from Cao Dai temple
Cu chi tunnels is a must visit place.
This is the place where they fight against Americans and a lot Americans lost their lives there.

Even though Americans are bigger build & hav advanced weapons
But
They still lose to Vietchong clever Guerilla tactics

191-A6-D71-C31-E-44-C6-955-F-2-E85137290-A1.jpg

First. We must cross then underpass fo get in the entrance
Why underpass?? Cu chi tunnel mah.

4-F7180-B8-2-CCD-445-C-BAEC-CA6-FF50-B0-C77.jpg

And u come out from the other side.
All the vietchong mei mei ready to welcome u. \o/ \o/

FFBE4029-0-A53-40-FC-93-EB-5-EEA512727-C0.jpg

My Yandao local guide demonstrate this is the entrance to the tunnel back then.

Very small right? This is the tactic from Vietchong.
Coz
Ang Moh GIs r very big size. So they can’t squeeze in to look for them
Smart right. Using their vietchong small petite size as an advantage.
And they cover the top with leaves.

1-F80-A170-74-B9-4911-8290-7-B6-EE949-D89-D.jpg

Bui kia better don’t try.
Kanna stuck must call for help. :[
Don’t waste people time.

83-EDC7-B2-7-E47-484-D-8715-F7-B0558-E2409.jpg

This is how small the hole is.
San por Kia then can go in. \o/ \o/

Very exciting trip report

Henabi

i think hanoi much better than hcm. halong bay, tam coc, mui chao ,sapa aloo got nice nice scenery

mekong delta looks like a giant longkang.
A longkang which can feed 5 different countries... and a Delta which feeds the whole nation

Show some respect lah... Our sinkie leever only feed the sea

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

popdod

A longkang which can feed 5 different countries... and a Delta which feeds the whole nation

Show some respect lah... Our sinkie leever only feed the sea

I think he meant the scenic view isn’t that great as what ppl described as
I think I understand his perspective.

Which is why is important to understand the history of Mekong Delta
Why so many lives lost in that river.

Once u understand the history.
U view it differently.

So better go War Muesum to understand more.
I’m sure the trip will be fun & enriching. \o/ \o/

Hard Mekong Delta Truths.

Henabi

Different areas of Vietnam offers different scenes.

I hope I can explore the rest like Hoi An, Hue, Ha long bay, sapa

popdod

66-BC855-F-5-EE4-4-C25-8-AA6-F527238-F2-A7-E.jpg

After yesterday long day out ot HCM.
Today just wanna travel nearby. Tiring.

Morning went to the Jade Emperor Pagoda.
Actually is a small temple.

This Taoist temple built in early 1900s.
Got more than hundred years history.

79-A44-E46-F8-CE-48-A4-A296-28-DA52852-D1-F.jpg

Next is the Vietnamese History museum
Which is very near to Jade Emperor.

8-CCD86-E4-42-D0-48-E9-9-ABE-C77662-D3-A021.jpg

This big vase is made of 200,000 coconut shells. :eek:

62-CB10-C0-9725-42-C0-9-B80-2-DEC8490798-C.jpg

The museum wasn’t well maintained.
What a waste.
So many hundred of years of Vietnam history
But wasn’t presented in a nice way.
Need to improve in this area.

B93499-EB-83-C2-4-ED1-935-E-516-A6-E87-ACBC.jpg

They even have a mummified Vietnamese dated 18xx
The body is well preserved.
Respect the dead. Never take picture.

Entry fee to the museum is Vnd$30,000 = sgd1.80
One of the cheapest museum I went so far. \o/ \o/

Next to the museum is a zoo.
But reviews said the animals r kept in a poor condition
So never visit. :(

popdod

98550-C87-3-D89-4484-AD89-EF28-ABA39762.jpg

Come to HCM , of coz must go Saigon skydeck aka Bitexco tower
Entry fee is vnd$200,000 = sgd$12.

E44-FEC50-35-B3-485-A-B3-BF-1763-F6-ACB2-BB.jpg

This financial ctr design inspired by Lotus, and lotus is Vietnam National flower
Cost USD$300 million to build it.

5-F908-F57-11-D4-4910-91-BA-56499-B8979-AB.jpg

The view is nice. Really shows HCM developing.
But from what I see. It will takes another 20-40yrs
To become a developed country.

F2936721-BADE-4473-ABE5-8-B955-CA602-F4.jpg

On the left is district 1.
On the right is district 2 ( the upcoming CBD area in 15yrs time )
According to their master plan.

FACAE12-C-09-AD-48-DC-A2-DE-35-CFB1488-E78.jpg

Looking at the big space. I doubt can be done in 15yrs
Unless they can follow China.

A4-D89289-382-D-4-D4-C-B0-AF-CE16-C32-ACD64.jpg

Like msia. Some of the construction r abandoned.
Lack of funds I guess.
What a waste of precious space.

0-FCA3787-92-C2-48-B4-8723-A104794433-C0.jpg

The skydeck wasn’t crowded. One thing I noticed is
Very few ah Tiongs in this HCM.
Usually ah Tiongs will flood the tourist areas.

4-FAE65-D9-56-B7-4-B73-843-D-F61982-E2-C843.jpg

Inside the observation deck. There is a mini ao Dai exhibition

popdod

1-FCD9-EB1-35-C6-4867-AE74-6-B0-DBDAB2-EB7.jpg

See finish Liao. Go makan lunch.
This Mam Bac is very near to Bitexco tower
3 mins walk. Google it if u r visiting Bitexco

The review say Bun Cha is nice.
But I hungry. So ordered broken rice with pork. (Com tam)
Dunno why is called Broken rice. :[

0-FA5438-F-4-A49-4-C5-C-A489-072-C01-CE01-AE.jpg

The food is delicious. And the white drink is Kumquat smoothie (juice actually)

Must try!! \o/ \o/

Total vnd$150,000 = Sgd$9

788-DB4-EF-9-C14-4-DA7-AE75-6-C65-E7091-F5-E.jpg

Next go to Ben Tanh market to exchange some money
This money changer is very crowded. And rate is ok
Just changed today.
sgd$100 = VND$170,000

Then jalan jalan shops

1-E8-C9700-8-DC2-45-F9-B7-B1-D3-D4-BC076-C9-C.jpg

This is a concept shop. Level 2 is cafe.
They sell commes des garcons clothings but higher price

7-C456-E7-B-DB39-49-B8-B6-FD-5-C2-EB0-B3984-D.jpg

Next to Lu’sine is Ginkgo.
Ginkgo is a concept store. Vietnamese design.
But items kinda ex.

The 2 shops r just across the Ben Tanh market
Behind the mrt construction.

popdod

17750-F39-4-E3-A-4657-A77-F-5-E58-F387-BE6-E.jpg

Read some reviews and saw this.
Decided to try it out.

F951251-C-E68-A-4-F52-B4-DB-D35-E266419-DD.jpg

Got win awards means good. \o/ \o/

0498-DD39-1-D62-4-F3-C-B9-E9-7151-BD2-F5-DCF.jpg

This Hu Tieu Lien soup noodle is quite tasty.
Got pig liver , prawn , meat & usual raw veggies

Vnd$100,000 = sgd$6.

I think is quite expensive in local context.

Personally I quite like the taste.\o/

75-E40862-B1-A4-41-C5-A653-6854-AC8-CDD48.jpg

Jiak bah bah. Go back my hotel nearby walk walk.
At night. The lighting makes the picture different.
Looks more grand.

0-A0-B771-D-2066-4-EC5-914-E-74-EC570366-F2.jpg

They have a wkend event. They sealed the road.
No wonder no motorist horning sound. Lol.

On the left. U see a lot of cubicles shops.
Those are your cafes. If you like cafe hopping.
This building is your favourite.

F349531-E-B53-C-4-F04-A333-247606971-C61.jpg

All the cafes.
Drink until song song.

717-A10-F5-D9-BA-430-A-BD92-4143-C3-A4-DBFE.jpg

Event programme.
Not sure what event today.

Henabi

The dragon boat festival.

It's very very big in Vietnam. That event is just the start...

When I first visited HCMC 7 years ago... D2 was almost look like an endless stretch of grass field with small pockets of shop houses here and there.

Then suddenly, condos spring up everywhere. And now landmark 81.

grapewall

i think hanoi much better than hcm. halong bay, tam coc, mui chao ,sapa aloo got nice nice scenery

mekong delta looks like a giant longkang.

Is it a good time to visit Hanoi in December? Intending to go during christmas.

fortunehunter

The review say Bun Cha is nice.
But I hungry. So ordered broken rice with pork. (Com tam)
Dunno why is called Broken rice. :[

0-FA5438-F-4-A49-4-C5-C-A489-072-C01-CE01-AE.jpg

This dish is call Com Suon.
Com Tam is broken rice.

If you notice the broken rice you ate is not like our full grain of Thailand rice, is actually half or may be 2/3 of it.
When in the process of removing the husk from the rice, some rice may breaks and this call the broken rice in vietnam and si more expensive there compare to a full grain rice.

In Singapore or Thailand broken rice is consider a lower quality.

fortunehunter

0-A0-B771-D-2066-4-EC5-914-E-74-EC570366-F2.jpg

They have a wkend event. They sealed the road.
No wonder no motorist horning sound. Lol.

On the left. U see a lot of cubicles shops.
Those are your cafes. If you like cafe hopping.
This building is your favourite.

This street is call nguyen hue aka walking street.
every weekend they will seal the road for people to enjoy and take selfie.
During Tet (our CNY) or their national day they will have much more performance and events.

popdod

14783-ED5-A017-45-EA-97-C7-D06-DFF01-AAAD.jpg

This morning went to Ho chin Minh city museum
Very near to my hotel.

1-AC90051-C6-C2-4-F98-90-E2-4-AEAB850-EEA0.jpg

All these French buildings either become museums or gov buildings

8-F1-FE97-B-A693-4-C30-8-ECF-504990-E2-A231.jpg

Vietchong couple wanna take wedding photos here
Must pay Vnd$400,000 = sgd$24.

730-D48-BA-E9-B3-4-F90-B2-FE-F0-DD0535638-E.jpg

Wedding dress machiam not very nice.
Looks very 80s.
But
Couple Jin happy. \o/ \o/

A661842-F-75-D8-4151-B8-F1-0654-E3-AB4-EF1.jpg

The museum is not very big. Quite small
2 levels.
Displaying some antiques , notes , war weapons & cultural stuff
In short. Japalang all in one.
If u wanna see war stuff. Better go war museum.
Anyway. Can’t complain much.
Entry fee is only vnd$30,000 = sgd$1.80 only.

6-DCCEDAE-BB9-A-4-AB7-87-A5-71-CCFA4-DF432.jpg

Stories of uprising war against the French.
Keep raising high taxes until the vietchong cannot take it
Chiam. Singapore gonna raise tax to 9% soon. :(

EF0-AC4-F1-47-B3-44-D6-9-D80-195-E868-CC939.jpg

And also some old video of vietchong against the Americans

The museum not crowded and not well maintained.
Tiles popped out. Door frames cracking.
Guess the curator doesn’t have much budget.

Not bad to visit if u r just around the corner
A quick summary of Vietnam history.

\o/ \o/ \o/

popdod

64-B90-ED2-00-C9-42-D5-A419-F96-B83-F22-E37.jpg

Done with my museum walk.
Time to go Gai gai.

Heard Singapore gov invested a lot in Vietnam.
So gonna check it out.

Went to SC Vivocity. , 15mins bike ride from Vincom

It’s the same branding as vivocity.
And you see familiar developer like Mapletree.
They have mapletree office building as well.

7-D615-C99-E7-F9-4-B12-B2-DB-6-DD73-AAAC32-E.jpg

The malls operate like Singapore version.
Well maintained. Organized & clean.

5 storey mall. Most of the shops u can find it familiar

https://i.postimg.cc/fbfD5Ygw/1-AFBC7-**-5-BC9-4-F4-D-8522-24-A834-FB3-F1-F.jpg

The usual suspects. Breadtalk, Ya Kun , Charles & Keith and even
Swee Lee. Our local guitar shop (see top left)

657-EC187-20-DB-45-A1-8-B4-F-02-B2292-F20-FE.jpg

Walk finish go lunch.
Went to this Golden Jade Dim Sum at 1st floor.
Machiam Crystal Jade

931-ECD74-EF50-46-AF-BFB1-2-B7-D886-FE3-E5.jpg

Char siew pastry

387113-F9-798-D-45-CF-8497-4203-BFAD5-B7-E.jpg

Fried bean curd skin
+
(Ha Gao)
No need show right. ?!!

F4-CE7014-FDA6-418-D-9789-01-DF393-E72-EC.jpg

963-E6991-466-F-4543-B235-331-E726-D5988.jpg

Black Sesame ball.

Total damage vnd$300k = sgd$17.90

Jiak bah bah. Time to watch movie.
Godzilla

\o/ \o/ \o/

fortunehunter

E3879816-28-C1-44-B3-A525-8-DBAF116585-B.jpg

Anyone eat this before ?
Is it nice?

They use tomatoe broth??
Any review? :(

Yup makan before but at district 7.
The broth have a slight tomato taste with the mud crab and is nice, you can't get this type of taste in Singapore.

Is a must try.

UYGmUUOl.jpg

AfDwrcUl.jpg

xSafL5jl.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.