Vietnam

Junken

Went to Dalat on last Friday... Took the 8pm bus. Starting point is Phuong Trang (Futa Bus) at 272 De Tham, D1. Saw this at the bus station and really a bit scared.
G9hj5zb.jpg

At D1, gotta take a short bus (normal bus) ride to d2, where you then switch bus to the limousine bus. I don't know if you guys can tell from picture, but actually the seat was very narrow. if bbfa may have difficulty. my height is around 1.75m and my leg just nice reach almost the end, so taller people may have to fold your legs a little.
NNLrqNT.jpg

overall experience: 6/10, price around 500k 2-way.
it's ok i guess but i feel like the seats are not very comfortable and like over-reclined but not flat. otw back then i realise can recline lesser than default which i would have preferred. recommend to bring your own pillow or neck cushion, would be more comfortable than the leather seat.

plus point is that the bus is extremely clean. everyone gotta take off their shoes before entering the bus and they give u a plastic bag to put your shoes in it. one bottle of water is provided. tv doesn't work, light works, have several usb charging ports. there are also curtains u can close for your privacy. the ride was scheduled to be around 8 hours but i reach in around 6.5h. there is also free shuttle (16-seater) to your hotel when you reach the destination.

Junken

cool, i probably want to try the razor shave (a bit scared tho)

got hot toc not barber to gai siao? just wan pretty mm to do facial and wash hair

sorry leh bo. if i go i think my gf will dulan hahaha. but there's so many of those hot toc places around. i think u can find easily.

that time i try the dig ear one, thought it would be a cool idea and shiok. but didn't really enjoy it. it wasn't really pain, just a bit but the feeling was damn annoying.

Junken

ya i should have been more clear, i am referring to these tour kind of tipping, like tipping boat man / tour guide, less so for other misc cos i makan at road side kind...

so how much is generous leh? 50k ok mai?

have to see the duration of the service provided also mah. if u tip boat man (just 30min-1h boat ride) then 50k is considered generous.

but if tour guide, bring u around whole day, should be more generous than 50k ba.. but then again this is just my own opinion, i can't represent everyone.

ZacharyA

sorry leh bo. if i go i think my gf will dulan hahaha. but there's so many of those hot toc places around. i think u can find easily.

that time i try the dig ear one, thought it would be a cool idea and shiok. but didn't really enjoy it. it wasn't really pain, just a bit but the feeling was damn annoying.

hahaha, i don't want kana carrot head ma, and esp lap sup one later add until my bill explode...

i want go clean one just to enjoy the experience... cut cucumber put on my face lols

Junken

hahaha, i don't want kana carrot head ma, and esp lap sup one later add until my bill explode...

i want go clean one just to enjoy the experience... cut cucumber put on my face lols

actually the barber one.. guy will cut your hair but wash hair and facial wash is girl ba. not pretty though all just look normal.

if guy wash your face a bit weird right..? LOL

grapewall

You can go to Vinh Vien area. Got many hot toc and decent hair salons there.
Else you can go to Hồ Bá Kiện. There's a whole street full of hot toc to choose.

ZacharyA

actually the barber one.. guy will cut your hair but wash hair and facial wash is girl ba. not pretty though all just look normal.

if guy wash your face a bit weird right..? LOL

exactly... if i'm getting a haircut by guy ok ma...

if i want to wash face, a bit weird leh... let guy wash hair i can accept, let guy wash face i abit :s12::s12:

Henabi

Went to Dalat on last Friday... Took the 8pm bus. Starting point is Phuong Trang (Futa Bus) at 272 De Tham, D1. Saw this at the bus station and really a bit scared.
G9hj5zb.jpg

At D1, gotta take a short bus (normal bus) ride to d2, where you then switch bus to the limousine bus. I don't know if you guys can tell from picture, but actually the seat was very narrow. if bbfa may have difficulty. my height is around 1.75m and my leg just nice reach almost the end, so taller people may have to fold your legs a little.
NNLrqNT.jpg

overall experience: 6/10, price around 500k 2-way.
it's ok i guess but i feel like the seats are not very comfortable and like over-reclined but not flat. otw back then i realise can recline lesser than default which i would have preferred. recommend to bring your own pillow or neck cushion, would be more comfortable than the leather seat.

plus point is that the bus is extremely clean. everyone gotta take off their shoes before entering the bus and they give u a plastic bag to put your shoes in it. one bottle of water is provided. tv doesn't work, light works, have several usb charging ports. there are also curtains u can close for your privacy. the ride was scheduled to be around 8 hours but i reach in around 6.5h. there is also free shuttle (16-seater) to your hotel when you reach the destination.

as I am tall, ard 1.85m, always need to bend my legs.

these new "limo" bus already got many complaints from the locals but nothing changes ;)

Henabi

have to see the duration of the service provided also mah. if u tip boat man (just 30min-1h boat ride) then 50k is considered generous.

but if tour guide, bring u around whole day, should be more generous than 50k ba.. but then again this is just my own opinion, i can't represent everyone.

imo... it all depends on individual. if you think the service is great. then tip more.
if not, then don't tip at all.

For grabcar & grabbike, if the ride experience was good, I will give additional 20K tip in the app

ZacharyA

imo... it all depends on individual. if you think the service is great. then tip more.

For grabcar & grabbike, if the ride experience was good, I will give additional 20K tip in the app

cool, honestly i've not sat on a bike for so many years... last sat was on a regular's kup kia during NS days... he gave me a lift out of the ulu camp site once or twice a week (depending he ride / drive)

regular jin hiong siu...

i only rmb, if they tilt and turn, you must follow and cannot "fight" against it, otherwise balance off... i guess my last day i'll take grabcar to airport ba... aside from that, mainly will go for motorbike / public bus (if google maps doesn't fail me) / walk.

btw, i need to check out by 12 noon... between 11am to 3pm boarding, anything to gai siao? cos bring luggage a bit diff to go crowded places

Junken

as I am tall, ard 1.85m, always need to bend my legs.

these new "limo" bus already got many complaints from the locals but nothing changes ;)

woah you tall sia. if you sleep on the upper bunk u will also find difficulty ba.

what kind of new bus and what kind of complaints are u referring to?

Junken

ya i agree completely. but for those touristy things, like boat ride, you are typically "expected" to tip. last time i went hanoi, can't remember how much i tip, but tip already got one auntie still look disappointed. meaning generally people tip more than what i tipped. esp angmoh people mah.. see them row your boat until so shag, old auntie somemore.

ZacharyA

ya i agree completely. but for those touristy things, like boat ride, you are typically "expected" to tip. last time i went hanoi, can't remember how much i tip, but tip already got one auntie still look disappointed. meaning generally people tip more than what i tipped. esp angmoh people mah.. see them row your boat until so shag, old auntie somemore.

mekong delta is mainly the motorised boat, only a small stretch is the sampan that's hand rowed lah...

not that stingy or what, but the tour itself also paid for already ma, then + tipping, it all adds up... not say cannot tip la, but agar agar lor... i'm comfortable between 30-50k lah, anything more is pretty generous liow...

saffronsatire

My tour guide recommend tipping 100k per boat staff for halong bay tour on the junk boat.

Junken

cool, honestly i've not sat on a bike for so many years... last sat was on a regular's kup kia during NS days... he gave me a lift out of the ulu camp site once or twice a week (depending he ride / drive)

regular jin hiong siu...

i only rmb, if they tilt and turn, you must follow and cannot "fight" against it, otherwise balance off... i guess my last day i'll take grabcar to airport ba... aside from that, mainly will go for motorbike / public bus (if google maps doesn't fail me) / walk.

btw, i need to check out by 12 noon... between 11am to 3pm boarding, anything to gai siao? cos bring luggage a bit diff to go crowded places

one thing to note as pillion rider who never ride on motorbike before. cos i had experience with my 2 friends who came to visit me on separate occasions. for the normal small motorbikes, DO NOT hop onto the motorbike, meaning 1 leg on the pillion leg rest and press on the rider's shoulder to hop onto the bike. especially if you are not even considered short. do this instead: just 1 leg on the ground and slide across your other leg to other side of bike and sit.

i think bus service not really reliable on google maps leh. i've never tried taking bus within city but took a public bus to Can Gio before.

regarding heading to airport, please go early and factor traffic time because traffic can get quite bad one. better to be early than miss your flight. if 3pm boarding means you need to be there 2pm latest so meaning by 1pm u should be in the taxi le.

Junken

mekong delta is mainly the motorised boat, only a small stretch is the sampan that's hand rowed lah...

not that stingy or what, but the tour itself also paid for already ma, then + tipping, it all adds up... not say cannot tip la, but agar agar lor... i'm comfortable between 30-50k lah, anything more is pretty generous liow...

like bro Henabi say lor, depends on the effort. motorized boat, heck, ofc no need to tip so much. if those sampan auntie row for you... then agar give more a bit lor. halong bay or ninh binh (in hanoi) are usually those old auntie row sampan.

ZacharyA

one thing to note as pillion rider who never ride on motorbike before. cos i had experience with my 2 friends who came to visit me on separate occasions. for the normal small motorbikes, DO NOT hop onto the motorbike, meaning 1 leg on the pillion leg rest and press on the rider's shoulder to hop onto the bike. especially if you are not even considered short. do this instead: just 1 leg on the ground and slide across your other leg to other side of bike and sit.

i think bus service not really reliable on google maps leh. i've never tried taking bus within city but took a public bus to Can Gio before.

regarding heading to airport, please go early and factor traffic time because traffic can get quite bad one. better to be early than miss your flight. if 3pm boarding means you need to be there 2pm latest so meaning by 1pm u should be in the taxi le.

5.20pm flight, i buffer to leave by 3-3.30pm (self check-in for scoot right?)

cos I don't want to reach airport zobolan and beat aeroplane.... but yeah, 3pm should be a good time to start leaving D1.

11am to 3pm dunno do what with a luggage + backpack

ZacharyA

i remembered sitting on my regular's kup kia before, cos he got a sibei dua leng kong box behind for helmet, I had to "climb" using the pillion rest + shoulder method... if behind no box then easy to "slide over" lor...

i'm around 170++, bbfa

Junken

5.20pm flight, i buffer to leave by 3-3.30pm (self check-in for scoot right?)

cos I don't want to reach airport zobolan and beat aeroplane.... but yeah, 3pm should be a good time to start leaving D1.

11am to 3pm dunno do what with a luggage + backpack

i think no self check-in for scoot at vietnam airport yet. i didn't see the last time i went back singapore few months back. they have self check-in for domestic flights. if 5:20pm, then around 2:45pm should start find taxi. cos it's nearer to rush hour. better to be safe than sorry lor..

few pages back got people ask what to do near airport. if you want you can go earlier to check in so you don't have luggage to lug around and you can go those places other bros suggested. if your luggage carry-on then too bad lah haha.

ZacharyA

i think no self check-in for scoot at vietnam airport yet. i didn't see the last time i went back singapore few months back. they have self check-in for domestic flights. if 5:20pm, then around 2:45pm should start find taxi. cos it's nearer to rush hour. better to be safe than sorry lor..

few pages back got people ask what to do near airport. if you want you can go earlier to check in so you don't have luggage to lug around and you can go those places other bros suggested. if your luggage carry-on then too bad lah haha.

I'm bringing a duffle bag, carry-on. I didn't opt for checked in luggage. My cabin sized luggage a bit too odd and small the size for me to put stuff. Esp shoes

GG simida liow... 11am to 3pm pcc along roadside....

i'm thinking to fill it up with lunch + hot toc / massage lor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.