Vietnam

grapewall

I went to Danang and Hoi An a few months ago.

Danang
Ba Na hills -- fun cable car and scenery
marble mountain-- fun climbing but some parts really need to dirty myself during the climbing
Beach resort-- stayed there for 3 nights

Hoi An
Laid back, tranquil town in the day with nice places to visit
Transform into a beautiful charming town at night with the lanterns. :s12:

Really love Hoi An. I don't mind retiring there. ;)

Will plan to go back Hoi An next month just to enoy the quiet village life. But will also go to Hue to visit the tombs and citadel.

Last year Dec i went to Hue. Wanted to visit ancient tomas but all those within vicinity are under rebuilding. Cant see any.

Henabi

I fly Vietnam often due to work actually

Nowadays for domestic flights, even Vietnam air also have delays.

Afaik.... Bamboo air has very good review among the locals despite being budget

Give it a try

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

Valien

Planning to go Da Nang during next year CNY period.

Would like to know is it a good time to go there ?

Will it be raining during that period of time ?

This will be my first time visiting Vietnam, thanks.

Vietnamese people celebrate CNY just like the Chinese people. There could be traffic congestions, local and foreign tourists, lack of foods and inflated prices.

I only know raining season in Saigon is between May to July.

1xtreme

The bus 152 is safe but it could be crowded. It depends whether how many pieces of luggage you have and are you able to manage it alone? Beware of snatch thiefs and pickpockets.

Why don't you take the taxi Vinasun? It only costs S$10 to S$20 to the city itself.

Furthermore, Grab and GO-Jek are available in Saigon (HCMC).

Initially wanted to take bus109 to enjoy the view.....

my friend also advised me to take the taxi Vinasun. He said this taxi more reliable & wont anyhow chop carrot price.

Valien

my friend also advised me to take the taxi Vinasun. He said this taxi more reliable & wont anyhow chop carrot price.

It's up to you. The choice is yours.

If I were you, I will travel with a small pouch/bag hanging in front and a medium sized shoulder backpack. I would take the bus too.

Beware of your surroundings, especially your wallet and mobile phone. Usually those theft, pickpockets and scams won't fall on Asian people who look like them, but still beware. Usually targeted at Ang Mo people. If you're looking at your mobile phone whether you're walking, standing or riding on a private hired motorcycle, hold it properly, other motorist may snatch it from your hand.

Just go and have fun. Don't worry too much.

Henabi

Whether take Vinasun or Mai Linh, both are perfectly fine.
They are like the Comfort and Citycab in Singapore.

Snatch thieves on motorbikes in Vietnam can happen to anyone, even the locals.

Henabi

Vietnamese people celebrate CNY just like the Chinese people. There could be traffic congestions, local and foreign tourists, lack of foods and inflated prices.

Ho chi Minh rainy season or Monsoon season is May to October

May is the start, usually rain not so bad. Rain continuously for 2-3 days and then stop a few days.... You will also experience sharp drop and spikes in temperatures between the rain.

Temperature will fluctuate...
In the day-time between 32 to 38 (rain n no rain)
In the night time between 24 to 30 (rain n no rain)

June will be the start of long rainy days. It will hit the height around Sept & October, whereby you will experience very random heavy downpour throughout hcmc, at random timing throughout the day, as it coincides with the traditional Typhoon period along the entire Asia Pacific Region (Phil, Japan, HK, Taiwan, China coastal areas, Vietnam mainly North & Central)

In the past 2-3 years i have kena typhoon warning in hcmc in the first two weeks of Nov.

The end of monsoon will carry forward to the 1st two weeks of Nov and slowly die down

So the temperature in hcmc starting from June onwards till November will start to cool down and it is very windy

Sometimes it is possible to experience 26-27 degrees in the day time during these rainy months.

Junken

I flew vietjet once.. decided to avoid it ever since. I think jetstar and scoot better la.. from personal exp :s12:

i guess most ppl will say that. chances of vietjet having delay much higher than most airlines. they already have a bad rep for that.

Junken

Went to North, Central and South Vietnam liao, personally my fav is Danang/Hoian combo, followed by Hoian, and then HCMC. HCMC is more for those who like big city and nightlife ba. Went to Hue to but it's more for those who likes historical stuff.

Would like to go Ninh Binh, Da Lat etc, those should be good :)

Da Lat is like Malaysia's Cameron Highlands.

Cooling weather, slightly mountainous areas, they also have strawberry farms. it was a rather enjoying experience. took sleeper bus from hcm there. damn shiok to eat hotpot also cos cold weather.

grapewall

Whether take Vinasun or Mai Linh, both are perfectly fine.
They are like the Comfort and Citycab in Singapore.

Snatch thieves on motorbikes in Vietnam can happen to anyone, even the locals.

Vinasun or Mai Linh, both are much more reliable than the rest. But, having said that, there are still a few black sheeps among them. You still have to be alert. There was once i took vinasun from outside the TSN airport, and after 100m he stopped by the roadside , spoke in vietnamese and tried to switch me to another car. I smelt a rat, so faster get out and refused to take the his taxi. Probably he's trying to scam my money.

Junken

Planning to go Da Nang during next year CNY period.

Would like to know is it a good time to go there ?

Will it be raining during that period of time ?

This will be my first time visiting Vietnam, thanks.

from what i know, june will be a good time to visit.

be prepared to pay more for CNY period... most vietnamese are flying during this time (from varying provinces cos going back their hometown), and many of them have annual leave + public holidays summing up to around 2 weeks. so any time during the CNY period also will be expensive.

if i were u i would avoid this period ba.

grapewall

Da Lat is like Malaysia's Cameron Highlands.

Cooling weather, slightly mountainous areas, they also have strawberry farms. it was a rather enjoying experience. took sleeper bus from hcm there. damn shiok to eat hotpot also cos cold weather.

Yes, agreed. I went there from HCM with a local friend. Took sleeping bus too. Keep wanting to pee cause of cold weather. I rode around the city, visited the nearby waterfalls and local markets. I remember there was a music event there where they honour hip hop music. Quite many youngsters into these kind of music.

Junken

if u going for first time... imo don't be too geh kiang and take bus. i here 1 year plus already also never take bus.

u can enjoy view in taxi also, no need bus. only reason to take bus if you are overly thrifty which is unnecessary.

grab is cheaper than taxi, and u can indicate the pillar u are at for the grab to pick u up easily.

Junken

It's up to you. The choice is yours.

If I were you, I will travel with a small pouch/bag hanging in front and a medium sized shoulder backpack. I would take the bus too.

Beware of your surroundings, especially your wallet and mobile phone. Usually those theft, pickpockets and scams won't fall on Asian people who look like them, but still beware. Usually targeted at Ang Mo people. If you're looking at your mobile phone whether you're walking, standing or riding on a private hired motorcycle, hold it properly, other motorist may snatch it from your hand.

Just go and have fun. Don't worry too much.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=232773361033391&id=100029021856032&sfnsn=mo&d=n&vh=e

see this video for bus pickpocketing

Junken

Ho chi Minh rainy season or Monsoon season is May to October

May is the start, usually rain not so bad. Rain continuously for 2-3 days and then stop a few days.... You will also experience sharp drop and spikes in temperatures between the rain.

Temperature will fluctuate...
In the day-time between 32 to 38 (rain n no rain)
In the night time between 24 to 30 (rain n no rain)

June will be the start of long rainy days. It will hit the height around Sept & October, whereby you will experience very random heavy downpour throughout hcmc, at random timing throughout the day, as it coincides with the traditional Typhoon period along the entire Asia Pacific Region (Phil, Japan, HK, Taiwan, China coastal areas, Vietnam mainly North & Central)

In the past 2-3 years i have kena typhoon warning in hcmc in the first two weeks of Nov.

The end of monsoon will carry forward to the 1st two weeks of Nov and slowly die down

So the temperature in hcmc starting from June onwards till November will start to cool down and it is very windy

Sometimes it is possible to experience 26-27 degrees in the day time during these rainy months.

weather forecast report from our Henabi korkor :s13:

Junken

Vinasun or Mai Linh, both are much more reliable than the rest. But, having said that, there are still a few black sheeps among them. You still have to be alert. There was once i took vinasun from outside the TSN airport, and after 100m he stopped by the roadside , spoke in vietnamese and tried to switch me to another car. I smelt a rat, so faster get out and refused to take the his taxi. Probably he's trying to scam my money.

haha i kena before just 1 time from vinasun. that time enter the taxi after not being able to get a cab for a long time, driver straight up try to ask me for 500k for a short distance. then i ask him use meter. he then tried to bargain down to 300k. i just say no and alight.

well but i end up waiting even longer but no cab in sight. :(

Jeremy1

from what i know, june will be a good time to visit.

be prepared to pay more for CNY period... most vietnamese are flying during this time (from varying provinces cos going back their hometown), and many of them have annual leave + public holidays summing up to around 2 weeks. so any time during the CNY period also will be expensive.

if i were u i would avoid this period ba.

Thanks, I was thinking of taking advantage of the Chinese New Year PH and ALs to go there but look like need to go somewhere else liao.

Junken

Yes, agreed. I went there from HCM with a local friend. Took sleeping bus too. Keep wanting to pee cause of cold weather. I rode around the city, visited the nearby waterfalls and local markets. I remember there was a music event there where they honour hip hop music. Quite many youngsters into these kind of music.

i think it's a psychological thing, cos the bus ride around 6.5 hours, u will sure scared if need to pee haha. they do stop one time. if u go with night bus, just try to sleep then won't feel the need to pee le. also sure don't dare to drink much water...hahah

I'mpossible

no worries taking local bus at all, just be wary of where your belongings are, your pockets etc and you'll be fine! VN is one of the safest compared to the other SEA countries

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.