Vietnam

Henabi

I check the ratings and they are like 1-star. Scary. I have no idea what to expect even though I have taken Jetstar a few times. :s22:

But how is the seating? Danang to Singapore is 2hr 40 min leh. Silkair costs almost double and I am wondering whether which airlines should I take.
Budget is budget.

Plane type is Airbus A320 or A321
Seat arrangement is 3-3 from first row to the last

If you are a tall fellow like me (around 185cm). Then you will definitely have very little leg space for stretching. Or pay $30 for 1st row seats or emergency exit seats.

For vietjet, you can buy skyboss package for VIP treatment.

If you are concerned about things like
- Service quality
- seat quality
- food quality
- IFE or not
- I don't wanna sit in transfer bus
- safety etc

Then don't take budget... bite the bullet, spend that money and just hoot silkair (which is under SQ)

So that you will have complete piece of mind

imo, budget is budget. Service level and the completeness of service cannot compare with Full service airlines like SIA

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

erwinrommel

I went last year.. i think Hoi An is much more interesting than hue.

Nice.

I actually went Hoi An a few months ago with my relatives.

Such a beautiful, tranquil, laid back town that transform into a beautiful illuminated charming old town at night. the lanterns are just so beautiful! :s12:

Unfortunately, they were not willing to travel all the way to Hue so I have to go alone this time round.

erwinrommel

Budget is budget.

Plane type is Airbus A320 or A321
Seat arrangement is 3-3 from first row to the last

If you are a tall fellow like me (around 185cm). Then you will definitely have very little leg space for stretching. Or pay $30 for 1st row seats or emergency exit seats.

For vietjet, you can buy skyboss package for VIP treatment.

If you are concerned about things like
- Service quality
- seat quality
- food quality
- IFE or not
- I don't wanna sit in transfer bus
- safety etc

Then don't take budget... bite the bullet, spend that money and just hoot silkair (which is under SQ)

So that you will have complete piece of mind

imo, budget is budget. Service level and the completeness of service cannot compare with Full service airlines like SIA

Sounds like vietnam airlines as well. But then at least the ticket price includes food and checked baggage :s13:

My main concern is how long it usually delays. Flight history don't show much about the history of the delays.

Henabi

Sounds like vietnam airlines as well. But then at least the ticket price includes food and checked baggage :s13:

My main concern is how long it usually delays. Flight history don't show much about the history of the delays.
As I travel to Vietnam very often, the frequency of delay nowadays is very random especially the hcmc route.

But since you intend to fly DIRECT to danang... The frequency of flight is far and few, as compared to hcmc.

So far I have not kena any major delays for danang route, except the usual stuffs like
- last min boarding (It always happens... always got passengers arrive last min at the airport, do everything last min, ***** rush like mad to the boarding gate and then the entire plane waits for them...)
- long waiting for take-off.

erwinrommel

As I travel to Vietnam very often, the frequency of delay nowadays is very random especially the hcmc route.

But since you intend to fly DIRECT to danang... The frequency of flight is far and few, as compared to hcmc.

So far I have not kena any major delays for danang route, except the usual stuffs like
- last min boarding (It always happens... always got passengers arrive last min at the airport, do everything last min, ***** rush like mad to the boarding gate and then the entire plane waits for them...)

I see. Thanks.

Actually long waiting for take off is unavoidable since planes have to queue up to take off.

Why do you often fly to vietnam?

Junken

Hi guys

I am planning to go for a short trip from Singapore to Vietnam in December to clear my annual leave. Will be traveling alone.

Will be flying to HCMC (stay overnight), followed by flying from HCMC to Hue and stay there for 3 days, before making my way down (book a car) to Hoi An for another 3 days. Will then be taking a taxi from Hoi An to Danang airport.

I try to avoid vietjet, but the departure flight time from danang to singapore is really good and I can afford a little delay. Has anyone tried taking vietjet form danang to singapore? How's the experience with regards to delays and seat comfort?

Thanks! :s12::s12:

the last i took domestic flight from hcm to hanoi, on the day itself they email me to tell me my flight delay few hours. so technically i didn't get stuck at the airport since i was informed in advance. but still that sucks cos i had planned to meet my parents in hanoi and cos of this they have to wait for me very long. so that was kind of a bad experience. from what i know, vietjet delays way more often than other airline.

if u have time to spare and want to take the chance, go ahead. if you're strict on timing then i guess better not.

edit: sorry my bad, i checked again, delayed just 1 hour.

Junken

yes i would think domestic flights delay way more than international flights on vietjet.

domestic flight delays are horrendous. they like sui bian sui bian delay one

Junken

Nice.

I actually went Hoi An a few months ago with my relatives.

Such a beautiful, tranquil, laid back town that transform into a beautiful illuminated charming old town at night. the lanterns are just so beautiful! :s12:

Unfortunately, they were not willing to travel all the way to Hue so I have to go alone this time round.

i work in hcm but i have yet to even go central vietnam. :s13:

plan to go in mid of next year.

Junken

i just went to check my history from last year november when i flew with vietjet. my flight was supposed to be 7PM fly and 9PM land. they send me an email to tell me delay till 8PM and supposed to land 10PM but i landed about 10:30PM.

on the other hand my parents flew direct from Singapore to Hanoi and it was on time.

fortunehunter

i just went to check my history from last year november when i flew with vietjet. my flight was supposed to be 7PM fly and 9PM land. they send me an email to tell me delay till 8PM and supposed to land 10PM but i landed about 10:30PM.

on the other hand my parents flew direct from Singapore to Hanoi and it was on time.

Vietjet delay cause they not using the air bridge, once some joker late, the bus need to ferry from the terminal to the plane this cause extra waiting time.

erwinrommel

i work in hcm but i have yet to even go central vietnam. :s13:

plan to go in mid of next year.

I love central vietnam leh. Much lesser people and comparatively more UNESCO sites compared to other parts of vietnam.

I don't really like HCMC.

So many motorbikes, honking, cramped, no greenery, crowded place. :s22:

Junken

I love central vietnam leh. Much lesser people and comparatively more UNESCO sites compared to other parts of vietnam.

I don't really like HCMC.

So many motorbikes, honking, cramped, no greenery, crowded place. :s22:

but if u talk about ideal cities to live in long term, hcmc definitely better. it's more like a bustling city with many things to do. things are also more fast-paced, with a lot more investment and growth. places like hanoi or danang are more for tourists or people who looking to retire in a serene/relaxing environment.

erwinrommel

I went to these 3 places in Dec.

Danang - Golden Bridge, city tour.
Hoi An - old town, night markets, Marble Mountain, My Son Sanctuary. Under the Marble Mountain, lots of shops selling crystals, carvings and feng shui stuff.
Hue - ancient city, palace, ancient tombs, temples

I went to Danang and Hoi An a few months ago.

Danang
Ba Na hills -- fun cable car and scenery
marble mountain-- fun climbing but some parts really need to dirty myself during the climbing
Beach resort-- stayed there for 3 nights

Hoi An
Laid back, tranquil town in the day with nice places to visit
Transform into a beautiful charming town at night with the lanterns. :s12:

Really love Hoi An. I don't mind retiring there. ;)

Will plan to go back Hoi An next month just to enoy the quiet village life. But will also go to Hue to visit the tombs and citadel.

I'mpossible

Went to North, Central and South Vietnam liao, personally my fav is Danang/Hoian combo, followed by Hoian, and then HCMC. HCMC is more for those who like big city and nightlife ba. Went to Hue to but it's more for those who likes historical stuff.

Would like to go Ninh Binh, Da Lat etc, those should be good :)

1xtreme

Will be going hcm for the 1st time at early Dec. Is the bus from the airport safe for a lone traveller? My friend advised me against taking the bus as it is not really safe.....

Valien

Will be going hcm for the 1st time at early Dec. Is the bus from the airport safe for a lone traveller? My friend advised me against taking the bus as it is not really safe.....

The bus 152 is safe but it could be crowded. It depends whether how many pieces of luggage you have and are you able to manage it alone? Beware of snatch thiefs and pickpockets.

Why don't you take the taxi Vinasun? It only costs S$10 to S$20 to the city itself.

Furthermore, Grab and GO-Jek are available in Saigon (HCMC).

Jeremy1

Planning to go Da Nang during next year CNY period.

Would like to know is it a good time to go there ?

Will it be raining during that period of time ?

This will be my first time visiting Vietnam, thanks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.