Vietnam

camotorpedo

Hi ,

Can anyone recommend a clean and value hotel walk-able to Van Hanh Mall or Big C Mien Dong. Budget about S$30-40, thinking of staying here before my flight the next day. Thank you.

Thoma5

i stay near there. on the weekends and typically at night, a lot of ppl eat there actually. i go quite often also, every time just left a few seats and have steady flow of customers. more successful than sinkieland one.

actually tried once...not bad as compare to sg 1...

Junken

Seriously i compare to pontian with their viet wan tan mee.
Pontian are crap.

mai hiam si buay pai.

after stay in vn so long, once in a while get to eat singapore style wanton mee also quite reminiscent.

and exactly that it is different from their wanton mee so they are quite intrigued by it, business is quite ok leh.

Junken

anyone been to the hello weekend market?

just went there yesterday and did tarot card reading... quite zhun :s13:

ps: they don't open every weekend. check their facebook/instagram for more info

Ole Gunner

anyone been to the hello weekend market?

just went there yesterday and did tarot card reading... quite zhun :s13:

ps: they don't open every weekend. check their facebook/instagram for more info

Sounds interesting. Got link?

Now I am in KL, it really pales in comparison to Saigon :(

Edit: Found liao :o At Pearl Plaza, so convenient for me :D

Junken

but pls don't expect much. it really pales in comparison to the ones in bangkok lol. not even close.

i just walk around half hour, bought 2 t-shirts which are really legit quality cos they come from actual shops that rent the space for pushing their sales. after that, did tarot card reading. didn't buy any food cos just finished dinner before heading there. saw there was a live band area but i went quite late so i think they finished le.

Irenicis

I previously did a DIY 3D2N in Ninh Binh.

I think there are shared minivan transport to and from Hanoi. You can also arrange for private transfer. Previously I stayed at a homestay in Ninh Binh and the host arranged the transport back to Hanoi for us. But the minivan dropped us outside the old quarter to avoid the jam and we had to take a taxi to our hotel...

Which area of ninh binh are you thinking of staying at and what are you planning to visit? Which month? Some attractions are closer to one another and within cycling distance. I've seen blogs featuring their cycling itinerary so it should be doable. Although level of fitness and the weather may be factors that affect how enjoyable your ride is. When I went previously I cycled from my homestay to Trang An on the first day and a motorbike guide took me around some other attractions on the second day.

- I stayed at An Phu homestay years ago when I visited Ninh Binh. Really cosy and clean homestay with great breakfast and tasty dinner. Just that the location isn't exactly near any attractions. The homestay is located in a residential area and there also weren't any eateries around (not that I was aware of) so we had dinner at the homestay. But it was really peaceful and I enjoyed my stay :)

Hi there,

Thanks for your detailed reply.

I'm thinking of staying at the Tam Coc area so that I can be near to the attractions instead of travelling too far from Ninh Binh City. Also because I felt like I want to have the rustic feel to staying in the homestay. However, I'm also worried about inconvenience if there aren't much shops selling food/drinks (like convenience stores) to stock up if I'm there for 3D2N.

Interesting that you brought up cycling to Trang An. I was also thinking of cycling there as well, just that on the map it looks kinda far haha. How long did you take to cycle there?

Lastly, I saw some ICC 4G sim cards on Shopee. Are these recommended or should I just buy over there?

Thanks once again!

rollbread

Can anyone recommend halong bay 2D1N cruise?

I found one call Alisa Premier Cruise, but they say need to pay full amount then can confirm my booking, but I'm not comfortable with that. Is it a common practice there?

Henabi

I feel that Weekend market or night market is not part of their Vietnam culture yet

Maybe if got REALLY interesting stores then it will pick up fast

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

mdnightinparis

Hi there,

Thanks for your detailed reply.

I'm thinking of staying at the Tam Coc area so that I can be near to the attractions instead of travelling too far from Ninh Binh City. Also because I felt like I want to have the rustic feel to staying in the homestay. However, I'm also worried about inconvenience if there aren't much shops selling food/drinks (like convenience stores) to stock up if I'm there for 3D2N.

Interesting that you brought up cycling to Trang An. I was also thinking of cycling there as well, just that on the map it looks kinda far haha. How long did you take to cycle there?

Lastly, I saw some ICC 4G sim cards on Shopee. Are these recommended or should I just buy over there?

Thanks once again!
It took around 30mins to cycle from my homestay to Trang An. But I am not sure how long will it take from Tam Coc!

Previously I bought my sim card at the airport so I can't comment on other options haha.

Irenicis

It took around 30mins to cycle from my homestay to Trang An. But I am not sure how long will it take from Tam Coc!

Previously I bought my sim card at the airport so I can't comment on other options haha.

Haha thanks!

I guess I will stay maybe somewhere in between Tam Coc and Trang An :D

Henabi

Best to get viettel if you intend to go to some ulu pandan places

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

erwinrommel

Hi guys

I am planning to go for a short trip from Singapore to Vietnam in December to clear my annual leave. Will be traveling alone.

Will be flying to HCMC (stay overnight), followed by flying from HCMC to Hue and stay there for 3 days, before making my way down (book a car) to Hoi An for another 3 days. Will then be taking a taxi from Hoi An to Danang airport.

I try to avoid vietjet, but the departure flight time from danang to singapore is really good and I can afford a little delay. Has anyone tried taking vietjet form danang to singapore? How's the experience with regards to delays and seat comfort?

Thanks! :s12::s12:

Ole Gunner

Hi guys

I am planning to go for a short trip from Singapore to Vietnam in December to clear my annual leave. Will be traveling alone.

Will be flying to HCMC (stay overnight), followed by flying from HCMC to Hue and stay there for 3 days, before making my way down (book a car) to Hoi An for another 3 days. Will then be taking a taxi from Hoi An to Danang airport.

I try to avoid vietjet, but the departure flight time from danang to singapore is really good and I can afford a little delay. Has anyone tried taking vietjet form danang to singapore? How's the experience with regards to delays and seat comfort?

Vietjet is very decent la

Thoma5

Hi guys

same as jetstar loh but always delay 1...
anyone know where to get good currency rate in hanoi? start of nex year jan 7,i will be going to hanoi and sapa...

Henabi

Hi guys

same as jetstar loh but always delay 1...
anyone know where to get good currency rate in hanoi? start of nex year jan 7,i will be going to hanoi and sapa...

Budget being budget... please do not expect them to be like full-service airlines.

But having said that, i always love to order the inflight meals whenever i take vietjet.

Cheap!

erwinrommel

I check the ratings and they are like 1-star. Scary. I have no idea what to expect even though I have taken Jetstar a few times. :s22:

But how is the seating? Danang to Singapore is 2hr 40 min leh. Silkair costs almost double and I am wondering whether which airlines should I take.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.