Vietnam

Henabi

With kids, and not so adventurous as to seat the kids in front… the locals one bike can seat two adults two kids…
then consider to book their local taxis like Vinasun.
when I was in Danang.... if I cannot get Grab, I will just go with Vinasun taxi.
its equally easy to book a taxi using the app and it deducts from credit card or prepaid credit card

boringLife-

The local taxi in HCM damn scam leh. I took twice and go by meter, both super expensive.

Vinasun taxi by meter from bui vien to little japan cost me 280000 VND. I think their meter is adjusted to move super fast 1

Henabi

The local taxi in HCM damn scam leh. I took twice and go by meter, both super expensive.

Vinasun taxi by meter from bui vien to little japan cost me 280000 VND. I think their meter is adjusted to move super fast 1
If in big cities like hcmc and hanoi and I am traveling alone
I will just grab bike or rent a bike go around
With friends… grabcar or Mai Linh

rrr2015

planning to migrate there? or going there for work?
thanks! not migrating or for work. planning for longer stay so need to get updated for budgeting
food pricing in HCMC & Hanoi varies.... largely depends on what type of establishment you wanna eat and which district.
benchmark against pho le, pho hoa etc around D1
Talking about HCMC....
if you don't mind those local food stall further away from city center like Tan Phu, Tan Binh, Go Tap, Binh Tan, D12... a bowl of simple Pho maybe around 25-30K
closer to the city center like D10, D1... or nicer built places, in D2, D7...
local food stall maybe 50K...
restaurants and inside shopping malls maybe 70K upwards.

but of course.... if you venture into the smaller lanes, don't be surprise to find gems well hidden from the main roads.
street pho bo definitely much cheaper, taste more robust & herbs freely to take. those pho le last i visit gives little herbs, no ngo gai. but still can find ngo cai in street pho bo
Talking about Hanoi...if you are only talking about Hanoi city itself and not HANOI Province...
Then it is very different from Hcmc...
Hanoi City mainly starts from Ho Tay district (West Lake), down to Ba Dinh, Hoan Kiem (Mainly Business centers, Tourist areas) and then further down to Ha Ba Trung and Ha Dong.

40mins drive north from West Lake will be the the Hanoi Noi Bai Airport
of coz hanoi city lah:LOL: yeah been to west lake, nice peaceful district dotted with beautiful small restaurants. iirc banh tom is famous there
The rich are staying around West Lake (much like our East Coast, Bukit Timah area) and Hoan Kiem (Like our Raffles, City Hall area)

Food prices are different from HCMC imo... I am still able to find very affordable Pho Bo like 25-35K even in West lake, Ba Dinh, Hoan Kiem district but it will be the very local food stalls.

eating in restaurants and malls will be more expensive....
last i had years ago (not street local) pho bo about 50k. so i guess good to see not much had changed

rrr2015

Moderator, we should have a Vietnam sub-folder for Travel . This thread is getting too long and cluttered with all sorts of information from Hanoi to Danang to Saigon.

side note: I am sure Grab driver ghosting you is because you are starting a new Grab account with no reviews, so you get last priority for grab trip requests. Maybe can try asking hotel staff to book for you, since its flat fare, just take photo of the price and driver for safety reasons and pay cash after you arrived. Also, I think the drivers prefer cash than credit, as they need to draw the money to pay for expenses and not sure if there is credit card surcharge.
you guys need to be more active lah … we tried to request vietnam sub-folder years ago but failed:confused:

furryballs

If in big cities like hcmc and hanoi and I am traveling alone
I will just grab bike or rent a bike go around
With friends… grabcar or Mai Linh
I many years never ride bike already. My 2B return to Ubi CDC liao. Cold start ride in Vietnam shagged sia. Lol.

Henabi

If planning to stay longer, also don’t know how long you wanna stay, maybe 1 month???
then consider to live just like the locals

Do as the Romans do

rrr2015

If planning to stay longer, also don’t know how long you wanna stay, maybe 1 month???
then consider to live just like the locals

Do as the Romans do
good ideal. maybe 3~4 weeks see what i can do in hcm / hanoi

Henabi

good ideal. maybe 3~4 weeks see what i can do in hcm / hanoi
Go budget or backpacking

maybe have those cheap cheap hostel for tourist around Ben thanh and Hoan Kiem lake

if wan better amenities can consider Airbnb

Buy groceries at local wet markets etc
Rent motorbike to zip around town

travel to other provinces by futa or train
If nearby province, like hcmc to My Tho
Or Hanoi to Ha Long/ Hai Phong
then just ride motor

boringLife-

The traffic how to navigate sia? I got class 2 in singapore and through CTE to work daily but I also a bit scared to ride in HCM

Henabi

The traffic how to navigate sia? I got class 2 in singapore and through CTE to work daily but I also a bit scared to ride in HCM
Within the hcmc… cars and motor go way slower than Sinkie
Goggle maps gps also very accurate.

for cars, it is left hand drive.
rent a motorbike there and take the first hour to familiarise ur self

grapewall

That's a rip off!
Is the vinasun the white one with whole body painted vinasun, instead of the fake one with a small sticker?

rrr2015

Go budget or backpacking

maybe have those cheap cheap hostel for tourist around Ben thanh and Hoan Kiem lake

if wan better amenities can consider Airbnb
dont like airbnb. will try to stay at different districts for experiences
Buy groceries at local wet markets etc
Rent motorbike to zip around town
traffic were extremely chaotic. motorbike definitely not for me in vn cities. i like taking their bus though
travel to other provinces by futa or train
If nearby province, like hcmc to My Tho
Or Hanoi to Ha Long/ Hai Phong
then just ride motor
for now just will try to stay around cities maybe make day trips

rrr2015

u read & speak vietnamese? traffic very chaotic in HCM. cross the road also difficult :eek:

best spend few days lim kopi watch traffic before deciding if u want to motorbike there:ROFLMAO:

Henabi

u read & speak vietnamese? traffic very chaotic in HCM. cross the road also difficult :eek:

best spend few days lim kopi watch traffic before deciding if u want to motorbike there:ROFLMAO:
vietnamese signs are using alphabets with dots and commas above them, just like the chinese HYPY
I have no issues reading the google maps and looking for the road signs

if you see Lê thánh tôn on google map, the road sign will be Lê thánh tôn

Furthermore… in recent years i also realise big road signs and road boards will include English translations too

far easier compared to Thai, Myanmar

I also have no issues crossing roads in hcmc since the vehicle speed is slower than Singapore
imo, wanna cross… JUST CROSS.
The cars and motorbikes will slow down and let you cross. Won’t curse and swear, won’t really horn

Don’t one step forward, two steps back. Like ai mai ai mai…

Imo Not like traffic here in Sinkie…

rrr2015

vietnamese signs are using alphabets with dots and commas above them, just like the chinese HYPY
I have no issues reading the google maps and looking for the road signs

if you see Lê thánh tôn on google map, the road sign will be Lê thánh tôn
not exactly easy to remember for foreigners unless been living there for sometime. and plenty of small roads, quan, phuong etc. so not really recommended to those new to HCM to ride in city
Furthermore… in recent years i also realise big road signs and road boards will include English translations too

far easier compared to Thai, Myanmar
outside city not so much problem lah I'm referring to within city
I also have no issues crossing roads in hcmc since the vehicle speed is slower than Singapore
slower becoz traffic is so jammed that they really can't go faster
imo, wanna cross… JUST CROSS.
The cars and motorbikes will slow down and let you cross. Won’t curse and swear, won’t really horn
not good advice to those new to vietnam. u do have to watchout traffic, wave if necessary so they notice you
Don’t one step forward, two steps back. Like ai mai ai mai…

Imo Not like traffic here in Sinkie…
officially it's illegal to jaywalk in SG
but jaywalk is a way of life in VN
completely different culture so can't make comparison lah;)

beanstalk6

For the sake of your lives, don't ride in Vietnamese cities. If there are mishaps, the stakes are against you 1) you rented the bike, and the paperwork is probably questionable 2) you do not speak the language so you have no influence over the cops or the locals. Although bikes below 50cc do not require a license to ride, I did not think I could manage finding my way on top of the riding.

Henabi

not exactly easy to remember for foreigners unless been living there for sometime. and plenty of small roads, quan, phuong etc. so not really recommended to those new to HCM to ride in city

outside city not so much problem lah I'm referring to within city

slower becoz traffic is so jammed that they really can't go faster

not good advice to those new to vietnam. u do have to watchout traffic, wave if necessary so they notice you

officially it's illegal to jaywalk in SG
but jaywalk is a way of life in VN
completely different culture so can't make comparison lah;)
Traffic heavy and slow moving vehicles, that's why easy to cross the roads
don't just cross the road blindly XD I only start crossing when not too many cars...
Check Left, check right, when you think its ok and safe to cross.... Cross...

finding my way around, I just follow Waze, or Google Maps. and find the Signage... then turn in....

For the sake of your lives, don't ride in Vietnamese cities. If there are mishaps, the stakes are against you 1) you rented the bike, and the paperwork is probably questionable 2) you do not speak the language so you have no influence over the cops or the locals. Although bikes below 50cc do not require a license to ride, I did not think I could manage finding my way on top of the riding.
I tried 50cc bike in hcmc... quite ok ^.^ due to heavy traffic, iirc the moving speed is generally around 30km/h
and its much more convenient when biking...
wanna buy anything... just ride up to the stall front... order... pay... take and then Go off.
plus can hook the plastic bags on the bike handle or the clip.

but of course.... if don't feel safe.... just go with Taxi, Grabcar and Grab bike ^.^

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.