Vietnam

grapewall

Or 45min flight from SGN. Tickets can be bought for like SGD $40 (no luggage). And I'd be happy to pay $30 more to avoid travel via Vietnam buses. Especially these 'sleeper buses' which every year end up in headlines with 'xx people are killed when bus got into accident'.

I have to agree with you. I was afraid of accidents as well. But then, internal flights are more dangerous because the planes are not maintained to international standards. Also, internal flights are always delayed, and the locals are quite uncivilised in the planes. Moreover, the dalat airport is quite far from the city centre. So in view of these factors, I decided to go with sleeping buses.

Bishio

Up or down dalat by bus at noon that is dangerous.

If compare flight n car accidents.
Flight is much much lesser.

Anyway to Each his own way....

audiovideo

I have to agree with you. I was afraid of accidents as well. But then, internal flights are more dangerous because the planes are not maintained to international standards. Also, internal flights are always delayed, and the locals are quite uncivilised in the planes. Moreover, the dalat airport is quite far from the city centre. So in view of these factors, I decided to go with sleeping buses.

wow uncivilized is indeed the right word. Domestic flight, stick to Vietnam air. As for maintenance standard, don't think domestic is anyhow. Must be at least a320. Rule of thumb is strictly no propeller plane for me

invisible999

$40 is one way?

Yes and it was Vietnam Airlines flight, with 20kg luggage allowance.

If you buy VietJet and find sale, you can get $30 for return flight.

My philosophy is that it makes sense to pay more to get more usable time and does not make sense to pay for more expensive hotel. In other words to get bus going from Hanoi to Saigon for $15 which goes for 14h and then get into $150/night hotel does make sense for me. I'd rather pay $100 for 2h flight and stay at $50/night hotel. But that's just me.

As I said, everyone has their own priorities. I use VN first for intra-vietnam flights and VietJet - second. Avoid Jetstar at all costs.

finale1

Why not jetstar? Any reason?

Yes and it was Vietnam Airlines flight, with 20kg luggage allowance.

If you buy VietJet and find sale, you can get $30 for return flight.

My philosophy is that it makes sense to pay more to get more usable time and does not make sense to pay for more expensive hotel. In other words to get bus going from Hanoi to Saigon for $15 which goes for 14h and then get into $150/night hotel does make sense for me. I'd rather pay $100 for 2h flight and stay at $50/night hotel. But that's just me.

As I said, everyone has their own priorities. I use VN first for intra-vietnam flights and VietJet - second. Avoid Jetstar at all costs.

Henabi

how was your vietjet experience? :s13:
any delay?
and how do you like the vietnamese passengers on the same flight
Delay.... definitely haha. My advice is give at least 2hr buffer for transit.

So far... no issues with vietnam passengers. I don't bother them at all haha

invisible999

Why not jetstar? Any reason?

For intra-Vietnam flights avoid Jetstar at all costs. Seriously.

This is the recommendation locals will give you and I have first hand experience with them and I wrote it here about 2 years ago - they moved my connecting leg flight without notifying me, I discovered it accidently. After that refused to put me back on original flight and refused to give refund as well.

In short - if your inta-Vietnam flight with Jetstar is without delay or cancellation - consider yourself extremely lucky.

finale1

For intra-Vietnam flights avoid Jetstar at all costs. Seriously.

This is the recommendation locals will give you and I have first hand experience with them and I wrote it here about 2 years ago - they moved my connecting leg flight without notifying me, I discovered it accidently. After that refused to put me back on original flight and refused to give refund as well.

In short - if your inta-Vietnam flight with Jetstar is without delay or cancellation - consider yourself extremely lucky.

Wow thats really bad.

audiovideo

Delay.... definitely haha. My advice is give at least 2hr buffer for transit.

So far... no issues with vietnam passengers. I don't bother them at all haha

problem is they bother you
If got kids behind your seat, siao liao
They parents no restrain
And the usual legs rest on you armrest ha

Vietnam air maybe better. Will verify again in 2 weeks time

dede1217

Jetstar online change schedule charge $62.
If call up to change, $106
Funtastic haaaa

there is admin fees if the staff changed for you ?

rmb last time, there is schedule change, they mentioned that if you are not happy with our suggested timing, please call our cso ...
eventually the cso changed for us without extra charges ... perhaps now changed ...

Henabi

problem is they bother you
If got kids behind your seat, siao liao
They parents no restrain
And the usual legs rest on you armrest ha

Vietnam air maybe better. Will verify again in 2 weeks time
So far.... so good haha

finale1

Last time i mistyped my name for Tiger ticket by 1 alphabet. I called in and they changed my name for free.

there is admin fees if the staff changed for you ?

rmb last time, there is schedule change, they mentioned that if you are not happy with our suggested timing, please call our cso ...
eventually the cso changed for us without extra charges ... perhaps now changed ...

Steyr69

Anyone kenna ask for kopi money by viet customs before? Or stop to ask whether u got return ticket n hotel booking?

Sent from Asus ME173X using GAGT

kitkat2

Anyone kenna ask for kopi money by viet customs before? Or stop to ask whether u got return ticket n hotel booking?

never. you kenna? any irregularities on your side? how much did they ask?

finale1

Kena asked for return ticket is very common.
Kena asked for kopi money is very rare.

dede1217

Kena asked for return ticket is very common.
Kena asked for kopi money is very rare.

Saw few people have to buy data sim card from the counter behind the immigration ...
price is about 14sgd ...
to use their data in order to show them your booking itinenary , the data was very weak or non-existence in airport immigration area, not sure why some managed to connect ... while saw few went to buy sim card ...

MrAppleCrumble

Saw few people have to buy data sim card from the counter behind the immigration ...
price is about 14sgd ...
to use their data in order to show them your booking itinenary , the data was very weak or non-existence in airport immigration area, not sure why some managed to connect ... while saw few went to buy sim card ...

their airport data is super good. faster than sg.. rule here is to always forget network than reconnect to tsn wifi than can liao..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.