Vietnam

dede1217

What is the smallest note that money changer will give?

Usually they would give you all 200k notes ...
if you are lucky perhaps, 100k notes
the remaining, they would give you small notes...

the 100k and 10k are in green color ...
during night time, open eyes big big lol ...

Henabi

If we are talking about money changer in VN, exclude airport changers...
So far from my experience, They will give usually small notes if you change like 100 or 200 SGD.

The 500K notes, they try to reserve for people who change big sum

I still remember The first time I change 500 USD at HT, the fellow gave me a stack of 200K

The next time I went there, I change like 1000 USD and they gave me a stack of 500k

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

ZergRush

deciding between data only sim or with call mins sim.

Does grab booking in ho chi minh need calling mins?

Can data only sim receive free incoming calls?

Henabi

deciding between data only sim or with call mins sim.

Does grab booking in ho chi minh need calling mins?

Can data only sim receive free incoming calls?
Yes need calling mins.

If you are not a heavy data user, get viettel. You get a nice balance of 1.5/2GB data and around 90min call time

If you are heavy user, get vinaphone and add 50K for call time

leobox1

thanks all.

a few qns after doing my own research...

1)I notice the prices in supermarkets , cafe when converted are someone SG price.. someone once told me Vietnam in general cheaper than BKK :s22: am I right to assume it will be more expensive than BKK then?

2)Shopping malls seem to be scattered around. No "orchard road" equivalent?

3)May stay beside Lotte mall at Daewoo hotel. the location there ok ma?

4) no need visa for SG hor?

appreciate.

Henabi

thanks all.

a few qns after doing my own research...

1)I notice the prices in supermarkets , cafe when converted are someone SG price.. someone once told me Vietnam in general cheaper than BKK :s22: am I right to assume it will be more expensive than BKK then?

2)Shopping malls seem to be scattered around. No "orchard road" equivalent?

3)May stay beside Lotte mall at Daewoo hotel. the location there ok ma?

4) no need visa for SG hor?

appreciate.
Talking about Hanoi I suppose

It depends on what type of supermarket.
Co op Mart, Lotte Mart and other local vn shops are generally cheaper.

Cafes.... Don't go to Legend G7. Their coffee pricing are a rip off.

Local coffeeshop only sell Vietnam iced coffee for like 10K to 20K

There's no orchard road area.

Lotte World is considered the PRIME area

leobox1

yah Hanoi .. is there a better place to stay in? mine is family trip. couple + toddler. thank u

hence over all the makan is cheaper or more expensive than BKK? ( sorry I only have that to compare cause I remember the prices .. )

Henabi

yah Hanoi .. is there a better place to stay in? mine is family trip. couple + toddler. thank u

hence over all the makan is cheaper or more expensive than BKK? ( sorry I only have that to compare cause I remember the prices .. )
Ahhhhh if that's the case then it better to stay in a good hotel.

And have 24/7 medical staff

Well... General food shop prices around 40K - 50K (3.5 sgd)

Some 80K with better ingredients

Otherwise, get a local tour guide to brig you around. If you want try really affordable and authentic local vn seafood

Since travelling with family, better not try roadside coffee stalls. Especially if have weak stomach.

Always remember to wipe all utensils, bowls, plates cups before eating

abc-xyz

How do you /what is the best way to transfer large amount of cash $50k SGD< worth in vietnam dong to Singapore?

leobox1

Ahhhhh if that's the case then it better to stay in a good hotel.

And have 24/7 medical staff

Well... General food shop prices around 40K - 50K (3.5 sgd)

Some 80K with better ingredients

Otherwise, get a local tour guide to brig you around. If you want try really affordable and authentic local vn seafood

Since travelling with family, better not try roadside coffee stalls. Especially if have weak stomach.

Always remember to wipe all utensils, bowls, plates cups before eating

Thank u so much for advice

sellbuyboy

Vinaphone 5Gb/30days.

bought for 100k at airport on 2/Nov/18.

Anyone going?

Think i use couples of 100mb only.

Want to let it go @ $5. self collection.

dede1217

btw the Changi wifi only $5 a day leh.. why no one use?

Need to loan the router .
if lost then gg ...
plus have to stay together ... not feasible ...

throughout the trips, everyone would sure walk their own or in small groups.
if u using the router, then everyone have to walk together side by side lol ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.