Vietnam

Junken

Swee man, I got a huge soft spot for Ananas

My hunger pangs coming in already

I will go to the D4 one... my luck in D7 always kana traffic jam one... that day I go Crescent Mall jam until can cry

i talked to the boss, he say d7 one only open in afternoon (cos i always pass by and it's closed). d4 open till night and i went around 7:45pm still have but another time i went around 8pm and they were sold out. But they told us typically that time still have.

Junken

Well.... The food has been modified to suit the local Viet taste.

Example:
- no garlic paste
- no dark soya sauce
- no Ah Zhar (some have)

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

i feel dark soya sauce really have to be the damn thick and high viscosity kind, otherwise not shiok leh. a lot of their dark soya sauce is still the watery kind. is there a difference in the naming or are they both called dark soya sauce?

in vietnam supermarkets they sell the xi dau but also watery kind i think

shadow84

Just to check, i noticed in agoda that there is a mixture of hotels and agoda homes near to the market area. Is it generally safe to book those agoda homes? I presume they are similar to airbnb but unregulated? Or shld i just go for a 3-4 star hotel?

Agoda home is about $10-$30 cheaper than hotel but you have the whole house to yourself.

Henabi

i feel dark soya sauce really have to be the damn thick and high viscosity kind, otherwise not shiok leh. a lot of their dark soya sauce is still the watery kind. is there a difference in the naming or are they both called dark soya sauce?

in vietnam supermarkets they sell the xi dau but also watery kind i think
Got diff

The one we use for chicken rice is called 老抽
It's a thick, savoury dark soya sauce

Very few Vietnam cuisine use dark souls sauce.

Junken

Just to check, i noticed in agoda that there is a mixture of hotels and agoda homes near to the market area. Is it generally safe to book those agoda homes? I presume they are similar to airbnb but unregulated? Or shld i just go for a 3-4 star hotel?

Agoda home is about $10-$30 cheaper than hotel but you have the whole house to yourself.

i booked airbnb quite a few times in hcmc. they even have these homes with a receptionist because the whole building have a few rooms.

so i think u may be referring to those. and so far i never face any issue with them. they usually can speak basic english also.

rrr2015

thanks for sharing. good for homesick SG hungering for SG food
i recommend this, a lot better than the calmette one. singapore owner also. talked to him a bit and he owns 2 other stalls in d7 (near vivocity) and d5

rrr2015

i had the rice noodle baby clams at mon hue … pretty good intro to hue cuisine
Mon Hue + Pho Hung at HCMC

Menu
wvVQI9Sl.jpg

Junken

thanks for sharing. good for homesick SG hungering for SG food

ya i was quite happy to have found it. the other closest thing for homesick me before finding this chicken rice was like, just pontian wanton mee in d7 vivocity.

Ole Gunner

ya i was quite happy to have found it. the other closest thing for homesick me before finding this chicken rice was like, just pontian wanton mee in d7 vivocity.

Haha. Yucks. The Pontian wonton mee cannot make it

fortunehunter

Shiok man! I don’t quote because I don’t want to flood thread with duplicate pictures. But I love Oc!!!

Problem is I not very confident in ordering... must go with local... too many type and pattern of cooking liao

Which shop you recommend? I like oc sua in binh Thanh cos very nice and breezy but my local friends always jio me go D1 oc dao see tourist :s13:

My bxa order for me too. :s13: everytime i go over to Viet sure will go makan oc.
Btw i like how they cook their scallop with peanuts and green onion.

I usually eat inside the hcmc domestic airport lounge.

Some time not much choice so eat the big bowl right :s13:

i had the rice noodle baby clams at mon hue … pretty good intro to hue cuisine

This one is cheap i think around 25 to 35K VND less than 2 SGD

this bun bo hue ok? from my experiences with bun bo hue, stock should be much more red in color with lots more garnishing & with chunks of pineapple even. spicy & sour taste very shiok.

This one is from hotel so is quite different from the outside, i agree those authentic one is really very nice throwing in the lime and tons of cut chilli.

Me also intend to take my wife to taste the our wanton mee comapre to their in D5. it taste sucks?

rrr2015

anyone know where can i buy a book of bus tickets in HCM? it mentioned bus station but which bus station?

fortunehunter

anyone know where can i buy a book of bus tickets in HCM? it mentioned bus station but which bus station?

You can Google.
For local bus try futa or ma linh but mostly tourist are using sinh Cafe.

Advisable to take train than bus, I took a 12 hours bus journey from NHa Trang to hcm and told myself never again.

Sent from Food, Travel, Sleep And Repeat using GAGT

Henabi

That time I took bus from can tho to da lat.... OMG.
Butt open flower

rrr2015

no lah i mean i usually go around HCM using public bus (may try grab one of these days). i read i can buy booklet of prepaid bus tickets but no sure where i can get them
You can Google.
For local bus try futa or ma linh but mostly tourist are using sinh Cafe.

Advisable to take train than bus, I took a 12 hours bus journey from NHa Trang to hcm and told myself never again.

Sent from Food, Travel, Sleep And Repeat using GAGT

Junken

my vn gf really likes it though. to me just decent lah. compared to the ya kun kaya toast in vivocity..... knn i ate the laksa one time, the thick beehoon bloated until wtf. jiak until damn dulan.

Junken

Me also intend to take my wife to taste the our wanton mee comapre to their in D5. it taste sucks?

it's not too bad lah. the vietnamese will like it, in general. business is good at the pontian in d7 vivocity. usually packed.

Junken

no lah i mean i usually go around HCM using public bus (may try grab one of these days). i read i can buy booklet of prepaid bus tickets but no sure where i can get them

that time my friend just hop on bus at airport to go d7 to find me. idk how he did it, he was in hcm for the first time. told me it was cheap like 12k vnd or something. most locals here don't even take bus from airport lol...

rrr2015

there is direct bus from airport to d7. i think those are not public bus that local take, typical public bus cost 5~6k nia. i took not to cut cost but to have more travel experiences :D

i find that there are not alot of public bus serving D7. very hard to go around D7 if without own transport
that time my friend just hop on bus at airport to go d7 to find me. idk how he did it, he was in hcm for the first time. told me it was cheap like 12k vnd or something. most locals here don't even take bus from airport lol...

shadow84

Wanna ask for advice on halong bay, i noticed the main area of attractions are usually from these 2 areas. Which should be a better area to stay in?

Capture.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.