Vietnam

100Yen

Nothing for inbound flight to Vietnam. On the return flight, they will check vaccination cert (I use notorise.gov.sg online copy) before they issue boarding pass to Singapore.

Then in Singapore, go 1 corner fill in some arrival form before scanning passport.
You mean travelling to Vietnam now is no different from past?

paladin

Thanks - planning to go to Hue too - how did you get guide? from Klook?
Now Klook doesn't have day tour for Danang to Hue, only private tour group, so it's private car with guide. I do not like it, more expensive and less places. Will drop the idea of visiting Hue till next visit and instead stay one night in Hue to that I can cover all the places I want. Note Danang to Hue is 3hrs, so day trip, you spend 6 hrs on the road. If you visit Hue, suggest spending a night there.

Andrew20

Now Klook doesn't have day tour for Danang to Hue, only private tour group, so it's private car with guide. I do not like it, more expensive and less places. Will drop the idea of visiting Hue till next visit and instead stay one night in Hue to that I can cover all the places I want. Note Danang to Hue is 3hrs, so day trip, you spend 6 hrs on the road. If you visit Hue, suggest spending a night there.

makes sense, guess just need to maximize our Da Nang trip next week. Thanks for the tip

furryballs

makes sense, guess just need to maximize our Da Nang trip next week. Thanks for the tip
In Da Nang now.

can’t find money changer and SIM card sellers at da Nang airport. Luckily I changed at Arcade singapore. Outside the arrival hall Vinaphone was running some free tourist SIM promotion. Good for 2Gb, so I took the free SIM to use.

luckily changed money in SG sia. Hoi An is NOT like HCMC where you can find gold shops to change money easily.

And I had to register a new Grab account for the payment using CC to work. No problem with new Grab account since I got Viet number

Andrew20

In Da Nang now.

can’t find money changer and SIM card sellers at da Nang airport. Luckily I changed at Arcade singapore. Outside the arrival hall Vinaphone was running some free tourist SIM promotion. Good for 2Gb, so I took the free SIM to use.

luckily changed money in SG sia. Hoi An is NOT like HCMC where you can find gold shops to change money easily.

And I had to register a new Grab account for the payment using CC to work. No problem with new Grab account since I got Viet number
oh thanks for the info! are you going to Ba Na Hills and Marble Mountains? How's the crowd? If you go to the market and change money - let me know if rate is better else I will just exchange here in SG.

Planning to have a nice local seafood dinner as well, would appreciate a recommendation :)

Is it better to use Revolut card for Grab in Vietnam?

xsoldix

Going to HCMC.

Anyone know how to get Viettel data SIM? Or better to get at SGN airport?

I see shopee most sells HK number but viettel service provider. Not sure if it's good coverage for such SIM. Any idea?

Thanks!

boringLife-

Going to HCMC.

Anyone know how to get Viettel data SIM? Or better to get at SGN airport?

I see shopee most sells HK number but viettel service provider. Not sure if it's good coverage for such SIM. Any idea?

Thanks!
You walk out the arrival hall straight away will have 1 girl ask you to buy from her booth liao. 300k VND for unlimited data from Viettel. But I am quite sure I ran out of data in 1 of my days when I used like 15GB browsing douyin app- so you might want to check on the limit because it is not truly unlimited. Next day it will reset.

xsoldix

You walk out the arrival hall straight away will have 1 girl ask you to buy from her booth liao. 300k VND for unlimited data from Viettel. But I am quite sure I ran out of data in 1 of my days when I used like 15GB browsing douyin app- so you might want to check on the limit because it is not truly unlimited. Next day it will reset.

Ok nice. Thanks for info.

furryballs

Why not use cash for grab transport?
Want to avoid transacting in cash becoz of the small amounts, getting change will be a hassle. Also, if pair with YouTrip then the exchange is close to spot rate.
(Edit: my charge on 31 May is converted at 1sdg:16940vnd, I quite sure money changer cannot do better)

I also doing grab food here in hoi an…

furryballs

oh thanks for the info! are you going to Ba Na Hills and Marble Mountains? How's the crowd? If you go to the market and change money - let me know if rate is better else I will just exchange here in SG.

Planning to have a nice local seafood dinner as well, would appreciate a recommendation :)

Is it better to use Revolut card for Grab in Vietnam?
1) I am at Hoi An, next few days then going da Nang. Can’t help much on your itinerary yet. One thing noticed is that there are quite some hidden food gems that have very few google reviews, while the google reviewed ones have English menu. Just be more adventurous and eat where you see the locals eat bah.

2) I use YouTrip for MC transactions, and brought Revolut along just in case need ATM cash out. I really did not spot any money changer in Hoi An. I suggest you just change in SG bah. I was at change alley and the rates are not bad actually.

furryballs

Guys it’s quite common for Grab drivers to reject your booking in Hoi An. Either they tell you some story of traffic jam hoping you cancel, or they simply ghost you but dun travel towards you.
I guess they dun find it worthwhile to travel all the way, to fetch you short distances and earn your S$2 (and Grab probably takes $0.5 of that $2).

still, I will take grab.

Henabi

try renting a bike and ride around hoi an lor.
More freedom and no need to be bothered with grab cancelling

furryballs

try renting a bike and ride around hoi an lor.
More freedom and no need to be bothered with grab cancelling
With kids, and not so adventurous as to seat the kids in front… the locals one bike can seat two adults two kids…

paladin

Moderator, we should have a Vietnam sub-folder for Travel . This thread is getting too long and cluttered with all sorts of information from Hanoi to Danang to Saigon.

side note: I am sure Grab driver ghosting you is because you are starting a new Grab account with no reviews, so you get last priority for grab trip requests. Maybe can try asking hotel staff to book for you, since its flat fare, just take photo of the price and driver for safety reasons and pay cash after you arrived. Also, I think the drivers prefer cash than credit, as they need to draw the money to pay for expenses and not sure if there is credit card surcharge.

rrr2015

what's the cost of living in HCMC & Hanoi nowadays? can share price for pho bo now?

Henabi

what's the cost of living in HCMC & Hanoi nowadays? can share price for pho bo now?
planning to migrate there? or going there for work?

food pricing in HCMC & Hanoi varies.... largely depends on what type of establishment you wanna eat and which district.

Talking about HCMC....
if you don't mind those local food stall further away from city center like Tan Phu, Tan Binh, Go Tap, Binh Tan, D12... a bowl of simple Pho maybe around 25-30K
closer to the city center like D10, D1... or nicer built places, in D2, D7...
local food stall maybe 50K...
restaurants and inside shopping malls maybe 70K upwards.

but of course.... if you venture into the smaller lanes, don't be surprise to find gems well hidden from the main roads.

Talking about Hanoi...if you are only talking about Hanoi city itself and not HANOI Province...
Then it is very different from Hcmc...
Hanoi City mainly starts from Ho Tay district (West Lake), down to Ba Dinh, Hoan Kiem (Mainly Business centers, Tourist areas) and then further down to Ha Ba Trung and Ha Dong.

40mins drive north from West Lake will be the the Hanoi Noi Bai Airport

The rich are staying around West Lake (much like our East Coast, Bukit Timah area) and Hoan Kiem (Like our Raffles, City Hall area)

Food prices are different from HCMC imo... I am still able to find very affordable Pho Bo like 25-35K even in West lake, Ba Dinh, Hoan Kiem district but it will be the very local food stalls.

eating in restaurants and malls will be more expensive....

Henabi

Moderator, we should have a Vietnam sub-folder for Travel . This thread is getting too long and cluttered with all sorts of information from Hanoi to Danang to Saigon.

side note: I am sure Grab driver ghosting you is because you are starting a new Grab account with no reviews, so you get last priority for grab trip requests. Maybe can try asking hotel staff to book for you, since its flat fare, just take photo of the price and driver for safety reasons and pay cash after you arrived. Also, I think the drivers prefer cash than credit, as they need to draw the money to pay for expenses and not sure if there is credit card surcharge.
Good idea

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.