Vietnam

Henabi

Still need to buy insurance for Vietnam trip?
yes. Buy a Travel insurance to cover at least 10K USD medical.
iirc , by now most travel insurance offered by local insurance companies should include Covid-19 treatment in overseas clinics and hospitals, usually at least 30K SGD

rrr2015

Traffic heavy and slow moving vehicles, that's why easy to cross the roads
you go check with tourists lah sometimes see guides helping tourists to cross the road :ROFLMAO:
don't just cross the road blindly XD I only start crossing when not too many cars...
when not too many cars/motorbikes? can wait long long lo
Check Left, check right, when you think its ok and safe to cross.... Cross...

finding my way around, I just follow Waze, or Google Maps. and find the Signage... then turn in....
not safe method especially in chaotic traffic, supposed to keep eye on road & not waze/google map

maybe you already been there for many times so more familiar.

grapewall

I've been riding my way in vietnam ever since i started visiting it regularly. I ride like locals, on the pavements, against traffic and got stopped at road block. There's no fun if i cant ride. but that's just me. I like riding and touring the city.

boringLife-

Actually I think crossing road quite easy leh- just close eyes, cross and make your movement predictable. Vietnamese are very courteous unlike Singaporeans. If they can see you, they will give way to you one. But if you do surprising stunt that make them off guard then too bad la..

Sgreans study too much the brain a bit sot already. They think as long traffic rules dictate is their right of way, means they are king.

daldrome

Anyone flew to HCMC/VN via Scoot recently? How strict are they on the baggage weight and size? TIA

furryballs

Anyone flew to HCMC/VN via Scoot recently? How strict are they on the baggage weight and size? TIA
As long as your luggage is not overly big, they will not weigh one… that’s my experience with budget airline

I took SIA for most recent trip though

noobzpro

Hi all, just wanna confirm dam long since went overseas haha.

Vietnam currently no need to do any test before heading there and also coming back to sg?
Only need register the PC-Covid app and fill in the vaccination.

Any recommendations for hanoi 1 week itinerary? And also travel insurance? Thanks all!

daldrome

Vietnam currently no need to do any test before heading there and also coming back to sg?

Any recommendations for hanoi 1 week itinerary? And also travel insurance? Thanks all!
Yes, now don't need do any test to and fro. But remember to do your SG Arrival card before returning back to SG to save time at the airport. Can do 3 days before returning.

When I went to HCMC, no one checked for my PC-Covid app at all. Went to many places and no need to scan any QR code to enter too.

Can't advise on Hanoi cos never been before.
For travel insurance, if you served NS before and still keep your Mindef/MHA Aviva group insurance, you can consider SingLife as you are eligible for 30% off for travel insurance.

furryballs

Danang no need PC Covid app. I kiasi downloaded it in SG. End up never use it. I still in Danang now, quite some fatigue from traveling liaoz, cash left only 0.8M VND, maybe later go for a massage

furryballs

Err.....tot insurance no need already?

What is the arrival card thing?
When I enter that time still need travel insurance (USD10k), but they never check also. Maybe now dun need, I dunno, but you better find out closer to your travel, such things volatile

arrival card is for entering SG. To declare you dun have covid symptoms (land checkpoints dun need)

Henabi

Travel insurance… i just go with NTUC INCOME

itinerary… you go alone or with friends or with family?

Henabi

Err.....tot insurance no need already?

What is the arrival card thing?
U can try to travel without travel insurance ^.^

the arrival card is By Singapore ICA and it mandatory for everyone coming to Singapore, including sinkies

Henabi

Ok, family travel.
I see....
1) Hoan Kiem Lake and Hoan Kiem Area (AKA old Quarters)
Best to visit there over the weekends because the Police will block ALL THE ROADS and it becomes a HUGE WALKING AREA
  • - Within this area, you can walk around the lake which is already very popular with the locals for things like jogging, strolling their dogs, Pat-tor
  • - Vietnam Egg coffee (Try both hot and iced)
  • - Vietnam Sticky rice
  • - Bun Bo Nam Bo
  • - Hoan Kiem Weekend Night Market (The Biggest in Vietnam iirc)
  • - Famous Trang Tien ice cream
  • - Hanoi Opera House
  • - Beer Street

2) West Lake aka Ho Tay
3) Pottery Village (Need to travel outside of Hanoi city around 45-mins to 1 hour)
4) Lotte Building Observation Deck
5) St Joseph Cathedral
6) Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum
7) Hanoi Train street

Outside of Hanoi....
You can consider 2D1N stay Ha Long Bay
and 3D2N stay SAPA Mountains but do consider that the travel up to SAPA is around 6 to 8 hours by Car or bus or train

Pandalogic

travel to VN no need what test , no need insurance no need the PC Covid app.
They are back to normal already.
Can try bamboo airways, abit more expensive then budget but below Vietnam Air.
Have check in bags of 20kgs, inflight meals and entertainment ( via ur mobile devices )

daldrome

travel to VN no need what test , no need insurance no need the PC Covid app.
They are back to normal already.
Can try bamboo airways, abit more expensive then budget but below Vietnam Air.
Have check in bags of 20kgs, inflight meals and entertainment ( via ur mobile devices )
How was your experience with Bamboo? I was considering them cos they are only a little more ex than budget but with luggage is almost about the same.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.