Vietnam

Techadd

i would like to know where do i get cheap and good french food. i saw someone mention augustine restaurant in this thread but i tried to google it to no avail. techadd would you mind recommending me? if possible spas as well. heh.

wats your budget? :D

Techadd

Augustin is at 10 Nguyen Thiep, near Dong Quai. Food is not bad. Cost us less than S$40 for 2 mains and 2 glasses of wine.

We saw quite a few regular french customers there so the food should be relatively authentic. One of them even had his own bottle of wine waiting for him.

Well, Augustin is a budgeted french restaurant. food is not bad for the price. but if u are looking for a Real gastronomy experience.. with reasonable price (still cheaper than Singapore), look no further than Au Manor De Khai - http://www.aumanoirdekhai.com

For good decent spa - try Jollybeans Spa at Mac Dinh Chi street (females) i dunno about males, but i do see foreigners going in there..

hope the baove helps :D

squan123

wondering if i should visit vietnam in august. just saw the weather forecast and it looks bad. 20+cm of rainfall! and the weather is around the same as singapore. was hoping that vietnam would be much cooler

Telur17

Well, Augustin is a budgeted french restaurant. food is not bad for the price. but if u are looking for a Real gastronomy experience.. with reasonable price (still cheaper than Singapore), look no further than Au Manor De Khai - http://www.aumanoirdekhai.com

For good decent spa - try Jollybeans Spa at Mac Dinh Chi street (females) i dunno about males, but i do see foreigners going in there..

hope the baove helps :D
ohh. the manor looks good. Didn't know Augustin is a budgeted french restaurant. Several people recommended it to me. :)

Techadd

ohh. the manor looks good. Didn't know Augustin is a budgeted french restaurant. Several people recommended it to me. :)

Ehehe.. that gives you one of the few reasons to visit saigon again :p the restaurant is run by the khailsilk corporation that is famous for manaing high end deluxe restaurants in vietnam both western and vietnamese cuisine. Au Manor itself stock quite a range of wine as well.

Augustin is alright for price of french food and caters to both expartriates and locals as well. but you could try manor next time as you can see, the price is pretty reasonable...at least for now..:s13:

Techadd

wondering if i should visit vietnam in august. just saw the weather forecast and it looks bad. 20+cm of rainfall! and the weather is around the same as singapore. was hoping that vietnam would be much cooler

well yea..its rainy season still in august.. the weather is slightly cooler in the evening than singapore...but the forcast can change.. u know with all this global warming...
:s22::s22:

Enormous

lol.. price of the beer is the last thing you would worry in there since you will be tempted to open a 'color' since every table you see in there has at least 2-3 bottles..

vietnamese are high spenders when it comes to drinks and showing off.. :D DUN PLAY PLAY HAR..
wow... u mean the vietnamese are that rich now? :eek: I heard from reliable source that an average vietnamese earn about $100+ SGD A MONTH!! :s31: how can they affort such a lifestyle when a bottle of beer goes for $8 - $9 USD? :s22:

Techadd

wow... u mean the vietnamese are that rich now? :eek: I heard from reliable source that an average vietnamese earn about $100+ SGD A MONTH!! :s31: how can they affort such a lifestyle when a bottle of beer goes for $8 - $9 USD? :s22:

The rich are super rich actually.... seen couple of them driving bentleys....bmw 5 series...sport merz.. audi sportz.. dun play play..:s13:

the average Vietnamese usually go drink 333 or Saigon beer...

hanabi0364

Bia Hoi or home brewed beer can cost as low as 30cents per litre. Beer Saigon is about $1.20 a bottle. The average vietnamese earn maybe more than that lah....

Enormous

The rich are super rich actually.... seen couple of them driving bentleys....bmw 5 series...sport merz.. audi sportz.. dun play play..:s13:

the average Vietnamese usually go drink 333 or Saigon beer...
orghh.. super rich... yap, I've seen them with Lamborgine in youtube videos... aiya, just go there open a bottle of martell lor.. :s22::D

saigonblack

Who's interested in all these? I am :D

dsc02173vp8.jpg

Johnlaw2010

All banks would have to follow the banking regulations of the Vietnamese body. However each and every bank also have their small policy regarding opening accounts. Employment card, investors cards, etc are only there to safeguard against illegal money laundering.

Take it for example, it probably be the same for foreigners opening an account in Singapore?

Bringing money in is easy in Vietnam, bringing out its another matter as long as you are not bringing out the above limit.

Interest rate is about 10%? for Vietnam Dong if i recall correctly :D

ANZ offering 12.5% per annum. Other banks offers as high as 15%

Enormous

I got a few more questions to ask...

is it true that SGD to VND exchange rate is better over in vietnam as compared to singapore?

if so, are there any places where I can do currency exchange near Liberty 4 hotel?

is it safe to exchange 1K SGD at 1 go? will kana half way tio rob boh?

is 1K SGD enough for a week if I'm not planning to shop or get anything back home? (just mainly visit attractions, food, transport and nightlife.. and maybe.. a little "night activity" if u know wat I mean :D)

YelloGorilla

Hi

Happen to change more that 1k at HCMC airport, count until like siao! Anyway, the rate is better than local money xchange. According to some bros here, you can actually chg at those goldsmith shops in town, however got to take note of fake thou. Ever encounter once when shopping at local supermarket and the cashier refuse to accept one of the notes.

Will be going end of this week! :s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.