Vietnam

Wardyn

bro, song boh? :D any places to recommend? :D

Of course shiok....

If you like history and culture can go war museum, cu chi tunnel.
Shopping can go ben thanh market (beware this place can cut throat tourist lookout for unlicense taxis.), saigon tourist departmental store. Most market or departmental stores sells lotsa of branded and cheap stuff. But on the other hand mostly are cheong ones.
Theme park can go Dam Sen Park (can play water and got ice palace), Suoi Tien Park (got haunted house).
Cafe got many many there. Go try highland coffee, its their own local starbucks there. Free Wifi.
At night if u got the money to spend, can try the pubs there. Seen many pretty gals go Gossip. But beware the place cut throat ppl.
Food go eat the pho at pho 24 pretty decent imo. And most of the cafe there sells western vietnamese cuisine which are pretty decent. Coffee there by default is without milk, if you want milk must tell them. Ice cream can go try bach dang ice cream at night got young gals to see and serve pretty decent ice cream.

Enormous

Of course shiok....

If you like history and culture can go war museum, cu chi tunnel.
Shopping can go ben thanh market (beware this place can cut throat tourist lookout for unlicense taxis.), saigon tourist departmental store. Most market or departmental stores sells lotsa of branded and cheap stuff. But on the other hand mostly are cheong ones.
Theme park can go Dam Sen Park (can play water and got ice palace), Suoi Tien Park (got haunted house).
Cafe got many many there. Go try highland coffee, its their own local starbucks there. Free Wifi.
At night if u got the money to spend, can try the pubs there. Seen many pretty gals go Gossip. But beware the place cut throat ppl.
Food go eat the pho at pho 24 pretty decent imo. And most of the cafe there sells western vietnamese cuisine which are pretty decent. Coffee there by default is without milk, if you want milk must tell them. Ice cream can go try bach dang ice cream at night got young gals to see and serve pretty decent ice cream.
wah.. thanks for the review.. :D the bach dang ice cream isit at the 5 stories building there? hmmm...how are the drink prices like in gossip?:s11:

Wardyn

wah.. thanks for the review.. :D the bach dang ice cream isit at the 5 stories building there? hmmm...how are the drink prices like in gossip?:s11:

Not sure how many stories is bach dang ice-cream. But its directly opposit saigon center at le loi street, very nice view at night. Never step into gossip before, dun dare to.
I go in sure kena slaughtered. According to Techadd, go in is order bottle, hard liquor, around 200 usd.

Enormous

Not such how many stories is bach dang ice-cream. But its directly opposit saigon center at le loi street, very nice view at night. Never step into gossip before, dun dare to.
I go in sure kena slaughtered. According to Techadd, go in is order bottle, hard liquor, around 200 usd.
woah.. gossip is not tourist friendly at all... ok, will try out the ice cream parlour there.. it's possible to hire a local guide there or not? any idea how much the rates are? :D

Wardyn

woah.. gossip is not tourist friendly at all... ok, will try out the ice cream parlour there.. it's possible to hire a local guide there or not? any idea how much the rates are? :D

Gossip meant to target all the anh mohs and the rich business mans. Can hire local guide or join the open tour. Sinh Cafe near your hotel there got offer open tour. For local guide not sure wats the rate, maybe check with techadd.

Enormous

Gossip meant to target all the anh mohs and the rich business mans. Can hire local guide or join the open tour. Sinh Cafe near your hotel there got offer open tour. For local guide not sure wats the rate, maybe check with techadd.
lol....pai sey.. I very noob and excited, so got alot of questions to ask.. wat's worth giving attention around my hotel ah? :s13:

Wardyn

lol....pai sey.. I very noob and excited, so got alot of questions to ask.. wat's worth giving attention around my hotel ah? :s13:

np :s13: i was very exciting the night before i went. Your hotel there got highland coffee cafe and many others cafe to try out. Got pho 24 and pho 2000. Got sinh cafe doing tours.
Got cyclo bar. Never try before but looks fun and dark on the outside. Walking distance to ben thanh market. Your hotel opposite is a park at night got couples there walk walk and sit down also.

Enormous

np :s13: i was very exciting the night before i went. Your hotel there got highland coffee cafe and many others cafe to try out. Got pho 24 and pho 2000. Got sinh cafe doing tours.
Got cyclo bar. Never try before but looks fun and dark on the outside. Walking distance to ben thanh market. Your hotel opposite is a park at night got couples there walk walk and sit down also.
WOW WOW...got so many things.. kum sia for the info. :D btw, is that ice cream place near as well? Also, is there any place around my hotel that I could change money? cos I dowan to change in bank or hotel... heard the gold smith shop give best rates... they can change with SGD to Dong right? thanks :D

Wardyn

WOW WOW...got so many things.. kum sia for the info. :D btw, is that ice cream place near as well? Also, is there any place around my hotel that I could change money? cos I dowan to change in bank or hotel... heard the gold smith shop give best rates... they can change with SGD to Dong right? thanks :D

Ice cream place not very far. Walk maybe 15 mins if you know how to walk. Take cab or motor there also very cheap. Change money can change near ben thanh market. And yes gold smith jewery shop give gd rates.

SST

Water in HCM

Any bro, advise on the drinking water in HCM.

Heard must buy foreign brand (eg Evian) mineral water to drink ?

Pls advise.

msruelf

Hi guys,

NEED HELP here :)

Ive just booked tics to HCM. 5th-8th july!

super cheap. from Tiger airways :)

going there with 2 other friends. its OUR FIRST TIME.

any things to take note over there?...

-like how much should an average cab right cost.. ? as ive read the nasty experience for some who were "exploited" , in the past pages of this thread!
-oh and how much from airport to city area of HCM?

We have not booked a hotel yet. Still deciding where to stay.. any recommendations?
2girls and 1 guy. we need a pretty big rm .+clean + convenient to the places of interest! :D
not more than 60 SGD per night for the 3 of us ? or will it be more ex?

- Must go places in HCM ?? (not really keen on scenery/temples) but i keep seeing this Cu chi tunnel.><<< what is it exactly?
-more keen in shopping / amusement parks/ interesting stuff/ fun activites / cheap spa or mani padi.. :s13:

thats abt it for now.... :)
Ive been reading the past 50+ over pages of the thread!! but still not v clear of all these...

Thank you very much in advance :)

:s12:

Wardyn

Any bro, advise on the drinking water in HCM.

Heard must buy foreign brand (eg Evian) mineral water to drink ?

Pls advise.

No la. I drank a few of the other brands no problem leh. The hotel there got provide mineral water and can buy some supermarket.

Techadd

Hi guys,

NEED HELP here :)

Ive just booked tickets to HCM. 5th-8th july!

super cheap. from Tiger airways :)

going there with 2 other friends. its OUR FIRST TIME.

any things to take note over there?...

-like how much should an average cab right cost.. ? as ive read the nasty experience for some who were "exploited" , in the past pages of this thread!
-oh and how much from airport to city area of HCM?

We have not booked a hotel yet. Still deciding where to stay.. any recommendations?
2girls and 1 guy. we need a pretty big rm .+clean + convenient to the places of interest! :D
not more than 60 SGD per night for the 3 of us ? or will it be more ex?

- Must go places in HCM ?? (not really keen on scenery/temples) but i keep seeing this Cu chi tunnel.><<< what is it exactly?
-more keen in shopping / amusement parks/ interesting stuff/ fun activites / cheap spa or mani padi.. :s13:

thats abt it for now.... :)
Ive been reading the past 50+ over pages of the thread!! but still not v clear of all these...

Thank you very much in advance :)

:s12:

heya,

Can't help you much with S60 per room night for 3 people with a big room and good location :D , my rates for the recommended hotel are a little more pricier but nicer ,Deluxe Category with (01 large queen size bed for 02 ladies + 01 single bed for the gentlemen)

Cuchi Tunnel is a man made underground tunnel stretching 200km under ground and was used mostly during the Vietnam war. its located in the district of cuchi, about 70km away from ho chi minh.

Cabs from Airport to City should usually come within 100,000-150,000 range depending on the traffic and the location. it'll come higher if your hotel is located in the chinatown district.

for a cheap and decent spa in the city, jolly spa along mac dinh chi street is nice.

msruelf

Techadd : Thanks for the very Useful reply !! :)

Sorry I got more questions !

-this 2 places >> Detham / pham Ngu laos , they are so called in district 1 right? which is probably the central of Saigon? Am i right to say that? Are they convenient areas to stay at??

Are these places close to the popular places like ben thahn market / bin thay market? (walking distance or...transport needed? )

-The different districts and names... ( Will the cab drivers / cyclos understand if i tell them where to go. OR would it be better if i show them the address on paper? )

- Ive also read abt renting motorbikes to travel ard.. issit a gd idea? do they still exist? :D

- Jolly Spa (as techadd recommended) at mac dinh chi street. Issit also around central area?

- with only abt 2.5days in HCM. Here are the places My friends and I want to go : Ben than/binh tay/ pho mua sam night market / saigon square shopping centre / zen plaza / melkong delta boat trips / diamond super bowl

Any places i mention abv , TO MISS? or any must go places i missed out??

Not very interested in Cu chi tunnels /museums.

But any Interested architecturess NEAR central? As we 3 are first times there. so we dont really want to venture out too far away from our hotel haha

thanks in advance !!!!! sorry again for the long post :s22:
regards

Techadd

Techadd : Thanks for the very Useful reply !! :)

Sorry I got more questions !

-this 2 places >> Detham / pham Ngu laos , they are so called in district 1 right? which is probably the central of Saigon? Am i right to say that? Are they convenient areas to stay at?? Yes it is..

Are these places close to the popular places like ben thahn market / bin thay market? (walking distance or...transport needed? ) Ben Thanh yes, ealking distance, Binh Tay, no, need transport..because its in chinatown area..

-The different districts and names... ( Will the cab drivers / cyclos understand if i tell them where to go. OR would it be better if i show them the address on paper? ) better give them the address on the paper as the vietnamese word pronounciation is not the same as English, watch out for rogue drivers who overcharge or 'forget' to turn on their meters

- Ive also read abt renting motorbikes to travel ard.. issit a gd idea? do they still exist? :D
yes they still do, can be found in pham ngu lao and de tham street. whether you are used to riding on the saigon street is another matter :D

- Jolly Spa (as techadd recommended) at mac dinh chi street. Issit also around central area?
yes it is, pretty close to central area..

- with only abt 2.5days in HCM. Here are the places My friends and I want to go : Ben than/binh tay/ pho mua sam night market / saigon square shopping centre / zen plaza / melkong delta boat trips / diamond plazam super bowl
pho mua sam market is benh than market in the night...

Any places i mention abv , TO MISS? or any must go places i missed out??
Notre Dame Cathdral, Old Post Office, well with 2.5 days, its just the right places to go excluding the cuchi tunnels and museum..no need to go super bowl, its located in airport area..pretty far off from city..and nothing much to see there..unless you miss bowling?

Not very interested in Cu chi tunnels /museums.

But any Interested architecturess NEAR central? As we 3 are first times there. so we dont really want to venture out too far away from our hotel haha

Rex Hotel, Grand Hotel, Peoples Commitee Hall, Notre Dame, Continental Hotel, Majestic Hotel, old post office are just some of the buildings left by the french colonisation..

thanks in advance !!!!! sorry again for the long post :s22:
regards, no problem

hope it helps :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.