Vietnam

Techadd

if you want to look for old watches, go to Ben Thanh Market first. Opposite Ben Thanh Market, there is a bus station, behind that station, there is a street. There are a lot of sellers selling old/damaged/new watches along the pavement of that street. You can also find watches at the next street parallel to that street.

Beware of fake watches when you buy there.

Hope that helps.

99% of them are fakes..:s22:

Techadd

i am staying in elios hotel now...

may i know where i can get to the nearest pho24? preferred to be within walking dist...

btw i tried Quan an non...good, but not to say fantastic...but it was indeed very crowded with both locals and tourists..

you can try food inside the ben thanh market...better taste than quan ngon.. just that make sure the stall is hygiene before you try...

Techadd

hi everyone,
i on leave from 22 dec to 4 jan, and i like to go to HCM to meet a vietnamese friend that i meet online. may i know is this the good time to go there?

christmas eve is nice in saigon...make sure you meet up your friend early and get a place on a al fresco cafe in downtown to watch the 'invasion of motorbikes' episode.. :D:D

ahkwan

guys, i jus bought 3 sunglasses for 300,000 dong... is it quite ex??? felt like kena scam... sold by the hawkers walking around de tham street...

techadd, u think the sunglasses we bought are expensive???

Sweettrips

Re:Travel and Accommodation

Saving on accommodation? what's your budget? I don't know if you are looking for backpacker accommodation in a dorm, or can spring for economy hotel, or....? But again, around Christmas in NYC, hotel space (of any kind) will be at a premium.

Unless you really like theme parks, I think I would go to Miami Beach instead of Orlando!

skilled

confirm exp.

you must talk vietnamese i felt.
my wife already bargain for me like siao, if not happy price, just walk.

got my suit made @ Dung Tailor. lots of exp customers and even sg coporate customers.

ahkwan

btw, i also looking for cheap and good tailor made blazers and pants... any idea which shop at de tham street, pham ngu lao or cu lao street??? excuse me for the spelling of the streets name...

:s13::s13::s13:

duntellmi

Our school sent a group of students to Vietnam for Humanities Project, we just came back on 18th November....All of us didn't want to come back haha. I think we went to the War Remnants Museum, 1 more museum, Mekong Delta place and Cu Chi Tunnels....Orange Agent too. Vietnam is nice lah, Bao new? Rair Heng di! I think I spell wrong lol.

Techadd

btw, i also looking for cheap and good tailor made blazers and pants... any idea which shop at de tham street, pham ngu lao or cu lao street??? excuse me for the spelling of the streets name...

:s13::s13::s13:

it depends on the materials u choose i guess..most are still within reasonable price.

onionhead

confirm exp.

you must talk vietnamese i felt.
my wife already bargain for me like siao, if not happy price, just walk.

got my suit made @ Dung Tailor. lots of exp customers and even sg coporate customers.

where is the Dung tailor? near ben thanh market?

onionhead

bro, if you read the last 10 pages of this tread, u will find all the ans needed

damsen water park u can take bus abt 45mins.
but since its a grp as well take taxi but i dont know cost how much

safe or not.. i think viet is safer than JB.. hahah..
but again even in sg if u cross road also may kena bang rite?

do u knw what bus to the park from ben thanh market?

watchlooker

you can try food inside the ben thanh market...better taste than quan ngon.. just that make sure the stall is hygiene before you try...

Will of course try foods at the market....... thanks for the headup and skip quan ngon. =:p

ahkwan

where to change vnd in sg good rates?

changing in vietnam airport is good enough... there are several money changers in the airport... take your time to compare the rate... jus ignore them when they keep on asking u to exchange with them... usually the one with highest rates will have queue...

:s12::s12::s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.