Vietnam

prodikeyz

Hanoi is not affected... Good weather now....

good to hear hanoi not affected. how about sapa and halong bay? anyone there can provide update? me going in mid oct..

just now news mentioned another typhoon will descend in phillipines on thurday.. :(

jokerpoker81

Location, go for these 2 hotels... but whether are they good, I dunno. :D Near sinh cafe.
If u google for them, they are in Hoan Kiem which a lot of shopping n tourists.

i read the worst / lowest rating reviews of theirs on the site, and even tht is already quite gd remarks.....

near sinh cafe then gd, want to arrange tours also easy, if dun wan the hotel's....

natas, can help me again? summarise the places to visit / food to try, massage places, clubbing places etc... in hanoi / sapa / halong bay area, in your opinion......

i am googling nw also, but thot tht words / recommendations / introductions from a local will never be wrong! keke...thx again.....

natas

natas, can help me again? summarise the places to visit / food to try, massage places, clubbing places etc... in hanoi / sapa / halong bay area, in your opinion......

i am googling nw also, but thot tht words / recommendations / introductions from a local will never be wrong! keke...thx again.....

Do u stay in HCMC??? :s8: Currently I'm in HCMC.

Dun say "help", I just providing info. Errr r u traveling with family or friends or alone, also whether u looking for places with xyz...... :D PM me if too R rated.

Halong, normally u will spend days n night on the junk/boat...
Sapa, u r there for scenic... but as for Hanoi, I need to know the above :D

Anyway, if you are in Hanoi, just contact me, I will try to assist you. Just buy me a meal or drinks.

paypal

now i am staying in hcm, near to sinh cafe, anyone need help or want more information just sms to my hp or pm here,, cheer

Clovis

i am planning to go Hanoi on Nov. i am going with a grp of friends, was thinking of free and easy instead of booking the tours.
will like to go to Hanoi-->Sapa-->Halong Bay, it will be a 5D4N trips.

which place of interest will u suggest to go for these areas?

jokerpoker81

i am planning to go Hanoi on Nov. i am going with a grp of friends, was thinking of free and easy instead of booking the tours.

http://sinhcafevn.com/Tour.asp?TypeTour=52

i am going end nov / dec, and i think sinhcafe site should save a lot of headaches....haha....

i find tht if in hanoi, free and easy still ok....but to go outside.....for convenience sake n save time ( most impt ), get the tour will be easier......

jokerpoker81

Do u stay in HCMC??? :s8: Currently I'm in HCMC.

Dun say "help", I just providing info. Errr r u traveling with family or friends or alone, also whether u looking for places with xyz...... :D PM me if too R rated.

Halong, normally u will spend days n night on the junk/boat...
Sapa, u r there for scenic... but as for Hanoi, I need to know the above :D

Anyway, if you are in Hanoi, just contact me, I will try to assist you. Just buy me a meal or drinks.

with frens...no R rated thingy lah....

so, any info you can provide for places to eat, visit etc, besides those listed on sinhcafe site? thx

natas

To travel f&e will be a headache for u esp outside the cities. Going with tour agent will be safer while spending another few bucks. I doubt 5D4N will be enough. It will be very rush for each location.

so, any info you can provide for places to eat, visit etc, besides those listed on sinhcafe site? thx

In Halong or Sapa, simply just view what natural brought to u. As for Hanoi, the old quarter or Hoan Kiem full of shopping. Then there r a few temples listed sinh cafe website. As for makan, u can go Truc Bac. This street is full of makan. There is 1 selling frog legs in hotpot, another indian makan, quite famous, also lots of local food. GoMy Way in Ly Thai To, hundreds type of imported beer, with food. Drinking go 17 saloon or Matador. Lastly dun forget Westlake, just beside Truc Bac.

jokerpoker81

Dong Xuan market

- is it near old quarters?

- is it something like the ben thah mkt in ho chi minh? coz no point go local mkts as they dun understd eng, n thgs / food more for locals......

is there any chinatown in hanoi?

jokerpoker81

In Halong or Sapa, simply just view what natural brought to u. As for Hanoi, the old quarter or Hoan Kiem full of shopping. Then there r a few temples listed sinh cafe website. As for makan, u can go Truc Bac. This street is full of makan. There is 1 selling frog legs in hotpot, another indian makan, quite famous, also lots of local food. GoMy Way in Ly Thai To, hundreds type of imported beer, with food. Drinking go 17 saloon or Matador. Lastly dun forget Westlake, just beside Truc Bac.

Westlake and Hoan Kiem Lake, is it referring to same thg?

i read that at Old Quarters, places to look out for are St. Joseph's Cathedral, Ladder Street, Old City Gate, Lo Su Street, Huyen Thien Pagoda.....is that correct?

where to watch the Water Puppet show in Hanoi? far away from Old Quarters?

natas

Dong Xuan market

- is it near old quarters?

- is it something like the ben thah mkt in ho chi minh? coz no point go local mkts as they dun understd eng, n thgs / food more for locals......

is there any chinatown in hanoi?

Dong Xuan Market is active during the evening in the weekend. The whole street is blocked from traffic and portable stores are set up. It is near Hoan Kiem lake. Errrr guess english is not common there. But there r some who can still speak a bit english. Most of them will show u the calculator with the pricing. It is not like Ben Thanh market where most of the customers r foreigners.

Westlake and Hoan Kiem Lake, is it referring to same thg?

i read that at Old Quarters, places to look out for are St. Joseph's Cathedral, Ladder Street, Old City Gate, Lo Su Street, Huyen Thien Pagoda.....is that correct?

where to watch the Water Puppet show in Hanoi? far away from Old Quarters?

Westlake is different from Hoan Kiem lake. I guess Westlake is the biggest in Hanoi. Beautiful in the night. Ya most tourist places r in Old quarters or Hoan Kiem District. Water puppet is very near to Hoan Kiem Lake. 57b Dinh Tien Hoang Street. All the mentioned places, u can finish them within a day... near to each other.

jokerpoker81

Dong Xuan Market is active during the evening in the weekend. The whole street is blocked from traffic and portable stores are set up. It is near Hoan Kiem lake. Errrr guess english is not common there. But there r some who can still speak a bit english. Most of them will show u the calculator with the pricing. It is not like Ben Thanh market where most of the customers r foreigners.

Westlake is different from Hoan Kiem lake. I guess Westlake is the biggest in Hanoi. Beautiful in the night. Ya most tourist places r in Old quarters or Hoan Kiem District. Water puppet is very near to Hoan Kiem Lake. 57b Dinh Tien Hoang Street. All the mentioned places, u can finish them within a day... near to each other.

hi natas, thx for ans.

so Dong Xuan mkt is not a "touristy" mkt like Ben Thanh mkt, am i right? portable stalls, so i guess it is juz mainly food stalls like the 3/2 mkt in hcm? i went 3/2mkt b4, and thgs r local...ppl dun understd eng also.....so left after merely less than 1 hr tht time during last trip......

so what are the shopping places in hanoi besides old quarters area? no major shopping malls / areas like hcm? .........so what are the places of interests near west lake areas?

so many pagodas in hanoi as i googled...same like the temples / shrines in bangkok...all over the place....

natas

so Dong Xuan mkt is not a "touristy" mkt like Ben Thanh mkt, am i right? portable stalls, so i guess it is juz mainly food stalls like the 3/2 mkt in hcm?

Dong Xuan stalls dun sell food but various stuffs... U have go n experience yourself but definitely not selling food. :D

so what are the shopping places in hanoi besides old quarters area? no major shopping malls / areas like hcm? .........so what are the places of interests near west lake areas?

so many pagodas in hanoi as i googled...same like the temples / shrines in bangkok...all over the place....

In Hanoi, u can go Parkson, Big C..... hmmmm worse than HCMC, hcmc does has parkson, paragon.... :D West Lake nothing much except the lake itself. Very big n beautiful at night. Definitely u can't get that in SG. The biggest reservoir in SG cannot be compare to it.

Errrr the Pagodas nothing to shout about when comparing to other countries. Errrr can go n walk walk but dun expect it to be grand. i guess you will take about 2-3 days to finish Hanoi. Then spend the rest of your time in Sapa and Halong. I'm planning to China from Hanoi by taking the train or coach up north to Nan ning :D

Hanoi is getting cooler now. End of Oct is the best time of the year to visit Hanoi and if you love air con temp, u will like the weather in Hanoi.

jokerpoker81

Dong Xuan stalls dun sell food but various stuffs... U have go n experience yourself but definitely not selling food. :D
In Hanoi, u can go Parkson, Big C..... hmmmm worse than HCMC, hcmc does has parkson, paragon.... :D West Lake nothing much except the lake itself. Very big n beautiful at night. Definitely u can't get that in SG. The biggest reservoir in SG cannot be compare to it.

Errrr the Pagodas nothing to shout about when comparing to other countries. Errrr can go n walk walk but dun expect it to be grand. i guess you will take about 2-3 days to finish Hanoi. Then spend the rest of your time in Sapa and Halong. I'm planning to China from Hanoi by taking the train or coach up north to Nan ning :D

Hanoi is getting cooler now. End of Oct is the best time of the year to visit Hanoi and if you love air con temp, u will like the weather in Hanoi.

Hi natas, i am trying to gather the so call places of interests worth visiting in hanoi area itself......should be using agents for halong bay, sapa....

so far gathered a places to visit........what's there around west lake besides the scenery at night as you said? thx so much for replies.

summary found online

Every weekend during Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights after 7pm, the main streets of the Old Quarter area (along Dong Xuan - Hang Duong - Hang Ngang - Hang Dao streets) will have a night mkt.........

then there is the

Dong Xuan mkt, some say it's equivalent of Ben Thanh mkt?
The Museum of Ethonology - how far is this from city?
Temple of Literature
Water Puppet show
Ho Chi Minh's Mausolem - Presidential Palace - traditional stilt house of Uncle Ho -
One-Pillar pagoda, all within walking distance of each other as I read........is that correct?

natas

so far gathered a places to visit........what's there around west lake besides the scenery at night as you said? thx so much for replies.

Nothing much other than scenery.

Dong Xuan mkt, some say it's equivalent of Ben Thanh mkt?
The Museum of Ethonology - how far is this from city?
Temple of Literature
Water Puppet show
Ho Chi Minh's Mausolem - Presidential Palace - traditional stilt house of Uncle Ho -
One-Pillar pagoda, all within walking distance of each other as I read........is that correct?

Dong Xuan, Is almost the same as Ben Thanh but the stalls are on the street or center of the road.

Errr depends on how u plan your visit. Dun think it is possible to walk from HCM's Mausolem to Water Puppet show. :D

The Museum of Ethonology, I have not heard of this, maybe u can google for it n check it on the map.

jokerpoker81

Nothing much other than scenery.

Dong Xuan, Is almost the same as Ben Thanh but the stalls are on the street or center of the road.

Errr depends on how u plan your visit. Dun think it is possible to walk from HCM's Mausolem to Water Puppet show. :D

The Museum of Ethonology, I have not heard of this, maybe u can google for it n check it on the map.

The Museum of Ethnology

http://www.virtualtourist.com/trave...To_Do-Hanoi-The_Museum_of_Ethnology-BR-1.html

the address is Guyen Van Huyen Road, Cau Giay District, Hanoi.......far from city centre?

natas

jokerpoker81

This is nearer to my apartment. Definitely not walking distance from other locations u mentioned. Not far from Hoan Kiem. All mentioned locations, if take taxi, will not be more than 50k dong.

i guess i get cab for rest of the locations....thx........

Dong Xuan mkt,
The Museum of Ethonology
Temple of Literature
Water Puppet show

natas

i guess i get cab for rest of the locations....thx........

Dong Xuan mkt,
The Museum of Ethonology
Temple of Literature
Water Puppet show

Yes or no, if u know the direction. I will suggest, u neg with a taxi driver to drive u around for half a day. Else make sure, stick to Mai Linh or Hanoi Taxi.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.