Vietnam

AprilRyan

natas or anyone..

i book land tours to halong bay and Hoa Lu - Tam Coc

may i know what to expect there.. and any info to maximize my experiences..

about giving tips.. is it common to give tips. Or better not to give?

Theatre_of_Dreams

hi all,

does anyone knows where can i get vietnamese accessories, clothings and products in Singapore?

Need to buy for some project.

I remember chinatown has a stall selling vietnamese stuff, but i cant remember which street it is already.

need help....

mastermember

I got caught at about 3am+ vung tau toward ba ria. 2 cong an with mp5 road block, i got no license to ride. They asked for 500,000 dong equal to SGD 40+ .. so i give them . Afterward i carry on with my riding.

Only local viet license allowed? If I have SG class 2? Allowed?

jokerpoker81

natas or anyone..

tips...no one will reject wat...haha.....it's also a show of appreciation, the guide, driver, and/or boat ppl follow ur trip whole day leh!.....

mastermember

Hi guys...

I am planning a Viet trip this Nov with a couple of other friends....

Can recommend a 4D3N itinerary at HCMC? 4D3N not enough to go to Hanoi(Halong bay) right?

Hopefully can squeeze in a visit to the beach, Cu Chi Tunnels, recommend a night life spot to go, massage and shopping.

jokerpoker81

Hi guys...

Can recommend a 4D3N itinerary at HCMC? 4D3N not enough to go to Hanoi(Halong bay) right?

Hopefully can squeeze in a visit to the beach, Cu Chi Tunnels, recommend a night life spot to go, massage and shopping.

1 is south, 1 is north....of coz not enuff lah! too few days for you to venture far out....

jokerpoker81

Yes or no, if u know the direction. I will suggest, u neg with a taxi driver to drive u around for half a day. Else make sure, stick to Mai Linh or Hanoi Taxi.

ask hotel call cab for you, no need any surcharge right? hcmc no charges i remember...

if walking dist, y need book cab....juz like in hcmc, the cathedral, post office, and others....all walking dist also......juz know how to read map, or ask the tourist security guys in dark green uniform....

does hanoi have tourist security guards too?

watertreader

hi,

just wondering...whjat is the rough guage of the budget if we are going to stay for 8D7N in Hanoi, Halong Bay and maybe Hue? excluding hotel and airfee..

thankjs

natas

natas or anyone..

Tips is optional... but sometime I will give 10 or 20k dong. Halong Bay, just enjoy the nature.

Only local viet license allowed? If I have SG class 2? Allowed?

Nope SG class 2 cannot be used in Vietnam.

Hi guys...

U have to be realistic and set your expectation right. :s13:

ask hotel call cab for you, no need any surcharge right? hcmc no charges i remember...

if walking dist, y need book cab....juz like in hcmc, the cathedral, post office, and others....all walking dist also......juz know how to read map, or ask the tourist security guys in dark green uniform....

does hanoi have tourist security guards too?

Ya no surcharge. Errr walking distance only for 1 or 2 location u mentioned. I doubt u can walk to all the locations mentioned. From Water puppet to HCM will take u hours to walk.
Have not seen tourist security guards in Hanoi :s13:

hi,

just wondering...whjat is the rough guage of the budget if we are going to stay for 8D7N in Hanoi, Halong Bay and maybe Hue? excluding hotel and airfee..

thankjs

Very difficult to say how much... depends on individual. I have friends coming to Hanoi or HCMC, spent a thousand in 3 days, shopping n eating. I myself, spent less than 100 for a week in Hanoi.

jokerpoker81

Ya no surcharge. Errr walking distance only for 1 or 2 location u mentioned. I doubt u can walk to all the locations mentioned. From Water puppet to HCM will take u hours to walk.
Have not seen tourist security guards in Hanoi :s13:

will ask the hotel ppl which are near to each other....i read comments on other sites that HCM and related places all within walking dist of each other.........

no tourist security guards in hanoi?.....aiyoh, later lost our way got no eng speaking ppl to ask for directions...keke....

therat

presently, the USA exchange rate to SIN is quite attactive.
exchange rate of 1.403.

Just wonder, should I change to USD then spent at vietnam or use SGD exchange to Dong

natas

will ask the hotel ppl which are near to each other....i read comments on other sites that HCM and related places all within walking dist of each other.........

no tourist security guards in hanoi?.....aiyoh, later lost our way got no eng speaking ppl to ask for directions...keke....

No problem... ask the hotel recept abt it. If u r able to walk pls inform me, I will try to walk too. :D My apartment is near to HCM, but I have to take taxi to Old quarter. :s13:

exchange rate of 1.403.

Just wonder, should I change to USD then spent at vietnam or use SGD exchange to Dong

Exchange Dong directly.

therat

No problem... ask the hotel recept abt it. If u r able to walk pls inform me, I will try to walk too. :D My apartment is near to HCM, but I have to take taxi to Old quarter. :s13:

Exchange Dong directly.

Thanks natas.

jokerpoker81

exchange rate of 1.403.

tours etc r quoted in usd.....can pay in dong, but i understd exchange rate wise, they "eat" you quite fair bit.....

for my hanoi trip, plan to have a little bit of usd on hand, n exchange dong at airport.......same as wat i did for hcmc trip last yr....

dong rates at sg money changers island wide sucks.....n tht is...if they even exchange it......v few changers have dong....

mastermember

Ok have decided to go to Hanoi for a 4D3N trip. Besides Halong bay and Hanoi city itself, where else is recommended?

Any must go night spots/Disco? Any nice beaches near to Hanoi?

therat

tours etc r quoted in usd.....can pay in dong, but i understd exchange rate wise, they "eat" you quite fair bit.....

for my hanoi trip, plan to have a little bit of usd on hand, n exchange dong at airport.......same as wat i did for hcmc trip last yr....

dong rates at sg money changers island wide sucks.....n tht is...if they even exchange it......v few changers have dong....

Thanks.
I will bring some USD and use dong for normal shopping.

During shopping they quote us in USD, if we tell them payment in Dong. Will the exchange rate not good?

natas

Ok have decided to go to Hanoi for a 4D3N trip. Besides Halong bay and Hanoi city itself, where else is recommended?

Any must go night spots/Disco? Any nice beaches near to Hanoi?

4 Days 3 Nights are short. 1st day you will arrive in Hanoi then go look for travel agent n a bit of shopping. 2nd day early morning, you will head towards Halong bay n stay there for a night. 3rd day you will reach Hanoi late afternoon, which you will feel tired n you can do a bit of last min shopping or go for a drink. 4th day, u preparing to go home.

You can try 17 Saloon or Halle. The first is pub the later is disco.

No beach but a lot of lakes. :D

Thanks.

During shopping they quote us in USD, if we tell them payment in Dong. Will the exchange rate not good?

Unless you always eat in high class restaurant or buy ex stuffs, else most are in dong. Book your hotel online and payment should be done, unless paid directly to the hotel then change a bit of USD. BTW normally they will add 3% if paying my credit card. I have stayed in Hanoi for about a year, I have yet to use any USD. :s13:

jokerpoker81

Thanks.

food n shopping still in dong i believe...only room rates n tours....quote in usd at times

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.