Hi bros and sisters,
As this is my 1st time to HCMC, will need some advice from you.
1) Which hotel to recommend?
2) Is it convenient to get from HCMC to Hanoi? What mode is recommended and how long is the journey?
Appreciate your kind advice, thank you in advance.
Guys, read through the whole of 176 pages, gathered some info and now some questions to ask.
1. I'm planning to visit HCMC at end July 10. Not really a good period to visit is it? Raining season?
Will be going total of 4pax, thus, taking cab around should be much easier. Heading for a 4D3N stay in HCMC.
2. I have 2 timing option and not sure which one is better. Also planning to visit 1/2 places like Cu Chi Tunnel, Vung Tau.
1. Reach HCMC @ around 9am. leave HCMC @ 1730hrs.
D1 - Arrival + Vung Tau
D2 - HCM
D3 - HCMC - CUCHI or MEKONG
D4 - HCMC
or
D1 - Arrival HCMC
D2 - HCM - VUNG TAU - HCM
D3 - HCMC - CUCHI or MEKONG
D4 - HCMC
3. How far away is Mekong Delta from HCMC?
4. Will be on a budget trip thus, will look for places to stay in the backpackers area when arrive. Anything to take note when looking for places?
5. Other than Jolly spa, any places good for massage?
Thanks for any replies!
Changed the option and see if you prefer them, there really isnt much to see in Vung Tau and just a morning and afternoon trip is more or less enough.
For backpacking lodges in HCM City, you can opt to look no further than the ones at Pham Ngu Lau street in District 1.
Jolly Spas are cheap and clean. there are many other spas around, but they are smaller and some are even really expensive![]()
Hi Techadd,
Thanks for the reply.
I have changed to 5D4N.
Wanted to visit Dalat but afraid that it might take up too much of a time since the travelling time can really take long.
I see that going to Mui Ne takes a shorter period of time (4hrs?) and looks pretty nice there too.
Also, where are the places that have the coffee plantation etc?

Hi techdad, thanks for your reply. did not notice your replies till i log in. Don't know when no notifications to my email.
Ya if i were to book any budget hotels in district 1, how to reach there from the airport? I will be reaching night time around 9pm.![]()
hi blackcube, thanks for advise. Will try to look out for the taxis.
was considering to stay Hong Han Hotel that Jokerpoker ever recommended. Anyone here stayed before? or any hotels/guesthouses you guys had good experiences with? Quite excited about this coming trip... hope to gain more information before i go... for i know nothing much abt HCMC...thus abit worried too... hahaha..
This is what I got from the forum. Should be useful for you.
NEVER and NEVER take the taxi named AIRPORT TAXI. They always try to deal with you instead of use Meter. Just try to go outside, ignore all of the invitations and you can choose YellowTaxi ( Tel: 8111111) or MAILINH taxi and force them to turn on the meter. Normally from Tan Son Nhat Airport to Central prepare around 8 to 10 SGD ( there are no surcharge or anything else in HCMC).
For peace of mind, take yellow taxi (which is called Vinataxi, tel 8111111) or taxi with tel 8272727.
it's guesthse, not a hotel....sure you got the right one hor?
no worries lah...hcmc v easy to navigate by ownself.....
but i nt say the same abt hanoi...coz ppl almost dun speak a word of english even in some restaurants.....maybe except hotel staff etc....it's lucky fren knew vietnamese....
This is what I got from the forum. Should be useful for you.
NEVER and NEVER take the taxi named AIRPORT TAXI. They always try to deal with you instead of use Meter. Just try to go outside, ignore all of the invitations and you can choose YellowTaxi ( Tel: 8111111) or MAILINH taxi and force them to turn on the meter. Normally from Tan Son Nhat Airport to Central prepare around 8 to 10 SGD ( there are no surcharge or anything else in HCMC).
For peace of mind, take yellow taxi (which is called Vinataxi, tel 8111111) or taxi with tel 8272727.
you probably have to walk all the way to the domestic airport to take a malinh taxi as the international airport in HCM is monopolized by the airport taxi.
and the old trick of taking a lift up to the departure floor to grab a cab from the drop off zone does not work anymore, cabs that drop off passengers in the drop off area are not allowed to take customers anymore..
Hi there,
Would be in Vietnam from 10 Aug to 14 Aug, any recommendation for Bus tickets to travel from HCMC to Dalat? Thanks!
you probably have to walk all the way to the domestic airport to take a malinh taxi as the international airport in HCM is monopolized by the airport taxi.
and the old trick of taking a lift up to the departure floor to grab a cab from the drop off zone does not work anymore, cabs that drop off passengers in the drop off area are not allowed to take customers anymore..
The old trick is still there.
Go to the departure hall, facing the road, turn right n move towards the end of the hall, there is a Vinasun guy holding a walkie talkie, tell him u need a taxi and if there is a taxi parking there, u can take it. If not, he will radio 1 Vinasun for u.
ah.. i do not wish to get chop by the taxis..
am gng there end july..
shld i just take up the hotel's offer which is 14USD for 2 pax 1 way?